Get Your Free Audiobook

The Girl in the Painting

Narrated by: Casey Withoos
Length: 11 hrs and 19 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (99 ratings)

Non-member price: $31.78

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The True Story of Maddie Bright, The Woman in the Green Dress, and The Birdman's Wife comes this atmospheric and richly detailed Australian historical mystery from a best-selling Australian author.

Maitland 1913. Miss Elizabeth Quinn is something of an institution in Maitland Town. For longer than anyone could remember she and her brother, businessman Michael, have lived in the impressive two-story stone house next to the church. When she is discovered cowering in the corner of the exhibition gallery at the Technical College, the entire town knows something strange has come to pass. 

Was it the prehistoric remains or perhaps the taxidermy exhibition that had reduced the whale-boned encased pillar of society to a quivering mess? Or is there something odd about a striking painting on loan from the National Gallery? 

Mathematical savant Jane Piper is determined to find out. Deposited on the doorstep of the local orphanage as a baby, she owes her life and education to the Quinns' philanthropic ventures and Elizabeth has no one else to turn to. 

As the past and the present converge, Elizabeth's grip on reality loosens. Can Jane, with her logical brain and penchant for puzzles, unravel Elizabeth's story before it is too late? 

Ranging from the gritty reality of the Australian goldfields to the grand institutions of Sydney, the bucolic English countryside to the charm of Maitland Town, this compelling historical mystery in the company of an eccentric and original heroine is rich with atmosphere and detail.

©2019 Tea Cooper (P)2019 HarperAudio

What listeners say about The Girl in the Painting

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A disappointing book

I just couldn’t get into this story . I found it hard to listen to and the narrator was distracting ..

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully written historical fiction

Beautifully written historical fiction. The use of such detailed historical facts brought the story to life and painted a very believable picture of life on the goldfields, and of early 20th century Australia. It was so easy to conjure up a picture of each character in one’s mind. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fiction with a plot to be solved, whilst reliving early Australian settlement. This is the first book that I have read by this author, and look forward to reading more by her.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

narrato

loved the story struggled with the narrator. She sounds like she's an O2 monitor or she has a breathing prob. Hard to listen to.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sue
  • 16-02-2020

The Girl in the Painting

Storyline interesting & plausible, however, too drawn out in many areas as if just filling in.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It was ok

The performance was good. The story was ok. You guess the mystery way before it is revealed to the characters and the dying confession seemed a bit farfetched.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful story

It was a wonderful story and you could see the scenes and really enjoy the characters and their developing journeys. I found l couldn’t stop listening and was sad when the story finished. Thank you so much

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good use of history, easy reading

I agree with one of the reviews about the narrator’s breathing issues, when you become aware it’s annoying. Fairly predictable story. About genteel people, and Australian life, no great mystery but a well planned plot.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just loved this book

This is my first Tea Cooper book and I was hooked from the first sentence. Can’t wait to start another one. The narrator was truly Australian and it made listening so easy I will look for more books she has narrated.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paula Beavan
  • Paula Beavan
  • 19-12-2019

Another winner

Tea Cooper’s books just keep getting better. The reader does a remarkable job and brings the voices just right. Love, love, loved this one.