Get Your Free Audiobook

The Girl in the Painting

Narrated by: Casey Withoos
Length: 11 hrs and 19 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (19 ratings)

Non-member price: $18.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The True Story of Maddie Bright, The Woman in the Green Dress, and The Birdman's Wife comes this atmospheric and richly detailed Australian historical mystery from a best-selling Australian author.

Maitland 1913. Miss Elizabeth Quinn is something of an institution in Maitland Town. For longer than anyone could remember she and her brother, businessman Michael, have lived in the impressive two-story stone house next to the church. When she is discovered cowering in the corner of the exhibition gallery at the Technical College, the entire town knows something strange has come to pass. 

Was it the prehistoric remains or perhaps the taxidermy exhibition that had reduced the whale-boned encased pillar of society to a quivering mess? Or is there something odd about a striking painting on loan from the National Gallery? 

Mathematical savant Jane Piper is determined to find out. Deposited on the doorstep of the local orphanage as a baby, she owes her life and education to the Quinns' philanthropic ventures and Elizabeth has no one else to turn to. 

As the past and the present converge, Elizabeth's grip on reality loosens. Can Jane, with her logical brain and penchant for puzzles, unravel Elizabeth's story before it is too late? 

Ranging from the gritty reality of the Australian goldfields to the grand institutions of Sydney, the bucolic English countryside to the charm of Maitland Town, this compelling historical mystery in the company of an eccentric and original heroine is rich with atmosphere and detail.

©2019 Tea Cooper (P)2019 HarperAudio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful story

It was a wonderful story and you could see the scenes and really enjoy the characters and their developing journeys. I found l couldn’t stop listening and was sad when the story finished.
Thank you so much

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good use of history, easy reading

I agree with one of the reviews about the narrator’s breathing issues, when you become aware it’s annoying. Fairly predictable story. About genteel people, and Australian life, no great mystery but a well planned plot.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just loved this book

This is my first Tea Cooper book and I was hooked from the first sentence. Can’t wait to start another one. The narrator was truly Australian and it made listening so easy I will look for more books she has narrated.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

narrato

loved the story struggled with the narrator. She sounds like she's an O2 monitor or she has a breathing prob. Hard to listen to.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paula Beavan
  • Paula Beavan
  • 19-12-2019

Another winner

Tea Cooper’s books just keep getting better. The reader does a remarkable job and brings the voices just right. Love, love, loved this one.