Get Your Free Audiobook

The Girl in the Letter

Narrated by: Jane McDowell
Length: 10 hrs and 4 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (29 ratings)
Non-member price: $30.38
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this gripping novel of long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved.

1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave.

Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret's. Before it is too late. 

Sam is pulled into the tragic story and discovers a spate of unexplained deaths surrounding the woman and her child. With St Margaret's set for demolition, Sam has only hours to piece together a 60-year-old mystery before the truth, which lies disturbingly close to home, is lost for ever....

Read her letter. Remember her story.... 

©2018 Emily Gunnis (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times - all hallmarks of a best seller." (Lesley Pearse)

"I was gripped by The Girl in the Letter. The story is compelling, twisty, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. A novel that stays with you." (Sophie Kinsella) 

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Confronting

I have never written a review before but felt compelled to after listening to the audio book .
It is one of the best books I have read and I have read hundreds

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastically True

I was a midwife in 70's this did happen, we had an unmarried mother's home near us . The stories I could tell you. The only difference was they had their babies in the hospital but they were made to sign their babies away by the church and government. We had 24 babies up for adoption at one time. the other cruelty was they kept all those young girls in with mother's that were keeping their babies . A well written and researchef book .I loved it

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 14-02-2019

Great twists and turns!

The only reason I marked the performance less than a five, was the echo talk to represent phone conversation. It was harder to hear those parts.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Awin
  • 03-02-2019

Great story but smacking and swallowing constantly narration.

Loved the story but it became nails on a chalkboard listening to the constant smacking and loud swallowing from the narrator.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CCL
  • 13-01-2019

The Girl in the Letter

Excellent. Listened in audio and could not put it down.

Looking forward to more books by the author.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TammyR
  • 11-01-2019

Engrossing and Heartbreaking Story

Captivating, intricately woven story performed beautifully by Jane McDowell. I didn't want to quit listening.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dina Capone
  • 24-03-2019

Great book !

Suspenseful the whole time I couldn’t put it down I listened to it in 4 days !

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Megan
  • 21-03-2019

WOW! A Must Read

I loved this book, and I did not want this one to end… I have always loved books with different timelines, and this was not a disappointment. I want more from this writer Emily Gunnis but, I can’t find any! Please, more from Emily!!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • nik
  • 20-03-2019

Meh

This is one of those books that had a lot of potential, but it just didn’t reach its potential. The writing was... pretty meh. The author explains and over explains as if she assumes the reader just isn’t quite bright enough to catch on. The epilogue is basically and entireretelking of everything. You know, just in case you didn’t quite catch it. There are several pages devoted to explaining and over explaining and re-explaining things. Ugh. A better writer wouldn’t have needed to do this. The story was pretty obvioud early on and the lead character was really needy, selfish and annoying. The parts about her messed up relationship had nothing at all to do with anything.
It was fine. Nothing compared to Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes. Haha. I’m not even sure how that comparison happened. This story really just was not for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JaneMcFaddenStephens
  • 13-03-2019

Save the children

A fictional story that needs to suggest to the world these things do happen I know I was switched at birth JaneMcFaddenStephens born to one family left with another

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Susan
  • 13-03-2019

Interesting

But hard to follow. The story is a heart wrenching one but I found it hard to keep up with where the author was in telling the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kelceyhartley
  • 12-03-2019

Incredible!

I have yet to write a review for a book but I had to for “The Girl in the Letter”.
The performance of this book was by far the best I have heard since using Audible!
The story line was gripping and a thrill. I could not wait to get back to this story until the very last word.
I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 17-12-2018

A fairly good read...

... but as another reader said, there were so many characters that it was easy to lose track of who was who. I thought the idea was good though and the story revealed the harsh realities for many young pregnant girls in the 1950s and 60s.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Christine
  • 23-11-2018

Narrated well

The story itself was ok but too many characters that I didn't form any investment with At times it was going too quickly yet the phone dialogue was authentic Fairly good overall

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 18-11-2018

brilliant haunting powerful

The more we uncover the depths of dark deeds done by so called religious caring humans dedicated to Christ? the more we see how toxic religions can be.. its more like the complete inversion to what Christ stood for... The worst being those who should be trusted .. This might be termed fiction but we know it's true and now hundreds of priests and cardinals world wide arrested.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • susan
  • 13-11-2018

Gripping Story

I found myself seething at the injustices and almost egging on the revengeful actions. Extremely hard to put down book
The story is so strong that it almost tells itself. An excellent read.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • J. F. Wrin
  • 09-09-2018

Good story

All good but for the stupid phone call recordings, which are very difficult to hear without adjusting the volume (is is frequently not possible). Quite why we have to hear it like a 30s phone call I don’t know, but it is irritating.


The story is well plotted, the characters well formed and it has a ‘traditional’ end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs
  • 09-09-2018

Loved it!!

Couldn't put this book down. I got a bit confused at the beginning and had to read the first couple of chapters again. When I understood all the characters I was hooked and really enjoyed the story and all the different characters.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ladyboots
  • 10-08-2018

great listen

Good read gripping in places . scary two in parts Enjoyed very much but so sad

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • D,E ARCHER
  • 15-03-2019

Great book

I really enjoyed this book. The twists and turns keep you hooked till the very end. I recommend this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mandy M.
  • 15-02-2019

excellent

a story spanning 4 generations. keep a you gripped from the beginning. recommend as a very good read

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Mr. Ronald Barkess
  • 08-02-2019

Too many characters

I stuck with this story to the end but it was such hard going. To be honest I didn’t have a clue who was who! So confusing and complicated. Disappointing.