Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $33.37

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies.

I am a dark spirit, the ghost announced grandly. I am your inheritance, your grandmother's legacy. I am yours to command. 

Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit. She names her ghostly companion Pink, and the two quickly become inseparable. 

But Suraya doesn't know that pelesits have a dark side - and when Pink's shadows threaten to consume them both, they must find enough light to survive...before they are both lost to the darkness. 

Fans of Holly Black's Doll Bones and Tahereh Mafi's Furthermore will love this ghostly middle grade debut that explores jealousy, love, and the extraordinary power of friendship.

©2020 Hanna Alkaf (P)2020 HarperAudio

More from the same

What listeners say about The Girl and the Ghost

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

5 stars

Alkaf writes about loneliness, friendship, and grief with such care, such empathy. A fantastically crafted novel, with the air of a supernatural leaning Ghibli film.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sasha K
  • Sasha K
  • 26-12-2020

a new take on middle grade ghost stories

I really liked this book the Muslim backdrop was just that, not a main focus. The pawang was not as developed as I wanted and I had questions about his powers and how he did things. I also had a problem with the random mention of Pinocchio, as foreshadowing.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.