Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $25.82

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Escape to the Cornish coast with a heartwarming Tremarnock novel, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Philippa Ashley.

The Cornish fishing village of Tremarnock seems to have it all. Charming houses cling to the hillside and cluster round the harbour where fishermen unload their catch each day. Everyone knows everyone and mostly they look out for each other.

But throw a stranger – a beautiful stranger – into the mix and all bets are off. Chabela Penhallow arrives for a holiday from Mexico to find out more about her Cornish ancestors. But no sooner has she arrived than rumours start to fly. Why has she really come? And what is she running from? Can the inhabitants of Tremarnock discover her secrets before their peaceful seaside village is thrown into turmoil?

©2019 Emma Burstall (P)2019 Head of Zeus

Critic Reviews

"A charming, warm-hearted read...Pure escapism." (Alice Peterson)

"The literary equivalent of a gin and tonic on a hot summer's day...A delicious, delightful and decadent tale." (Bookish Jottings)

What listeners say about The Girl Who Came Home to Cornwall

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cornish Maid
  • Cornish Maid
  • 21-02-2020

Tremarnock at it's best.

Loved it. The narration is excellent, with the Cornish accent at its best and the foreign accents amazing. Through this the characters in this story are truly brought to life.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for linda ross-bain
  • linda ross-bain
  • 30-10-2020

loved it so memorable will read again. after the c

after lockdown and the time spent alone this series of 4 books has been amazing love the narration and the storylines will be sad to see this series finished however on to the next love Emma Bristol

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Louise
  • Louise
  • 12-09-2020

Loved this whole series

Another thoroughly engaging and enjoyable read from Emma Burstall. I loved every story in this series Thank you!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paula Knapman
  • Paula Knapman
  • 27-07-2020

Brilliant!!

Another in the Tremarnock series, would thoroughly recommend, you become totally immersed in the characters band feel part of the story, great narration too, lovely easy feel good listen

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trevelyan
  • Trevelyan
  • 24-03-2020

Lovely distraction!

I listened to this in the middle of the 'lock down' phase of the current Corona Virus situation. Life is grim and worrying at the moment so disappearing off to a sunny Cornish coast to meet up again with familiar characters and being introduced to the colourful, dramatic new Mexican character of Chavela (?) was a complete delight. Escapism at it's best. I could hear the seagulls and feel the warm sand beneath my feet. I was a little worried about Liz and Robert......... (no spoilers here!). Thoroughly enjoyable and just the right book at the right time.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.