Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $34.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Just because you feel ordinary doesn’t mean you aren’t extraordinary to someone else. 

Sixty-two-year-old Elsie knows what she likes. Custard creams at four o’clock, jigsaw puzzles with a thousand pieces, her ivy-covered, lavender-scented garden. 

Ten-year-old Billy would rather spend his Saturdays kicking a ball, or watching TV, or anything really, other than being babysat by his grumpy neighbour Elsie and being force-fed custard creams. 

If it was up to them, they’d have nothing to do with each other. Unfortunately, you can’t choose who you live next door to. 

But there is always more to people than meets the eye….

Elsie doesn’t know that Billy’s afraid to go to school now, or why his mother woke him up in the middle of the night with an urgent shake, bags already packed, ready to flee their home. 

Billy doesn’t know that the rusting red tin he finds buried in Elsie’s treasured garden is a ticking time bomb waiting to explode her carefully organised life. And that when he digs it up, he is unearthing a secret that has lain dormant for 28 years….

This moving tale is for anyone who has ever felt the pang of loneliness, or worried that their broken heart might never be the same again. Fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, The Keeper of Lost Things and The Library of Lost and Found will fall head over heels for this life-affirming novel that shows us that if you’re willing to take a risk, happiness is only ever a heartbeat away. 

©2020 Ruby Hummingbird (P)2020 Bookouture

Critic Reviews

"I absolutely loved this…. I couldn’t put it down, grabbing every opportunity to continue…. Heart-wrenchingly sad but also one of the most uplifting and heartwarming books.… It had me crying (and I mean big heaving sobs!!)…. I finished this book last night, and yet here I am 24 hours later still thinking about it!…. Fabulous, amazing, wonderful!!" (Stardust Book Reviews) 

"What a wonderful story this is…. Really touched my heart and brought tears to my eyes…. A real feel-good-factor read that made me glow inside.… A super book. Couldn't have asked for more from this lovely story." (Books from Dusk Till Dawn)  

"What a beautiful book!.… Managed to make me cry with emotion without depressing me at all, then lifted me up with hope and happiness…. I was glad I was all on my own reading this as it made me cry on more than one occasion." (Sandie’s Book Shelves)

What listeners say about The Garden of Lost Memories

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.