Regular price: $22.46

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Editorial Reviews

"Not since Hannibal Lecter had a friend for dinner has a serial killer been so skillfully rendered on the page." (Taylor Elmore, writer/producer of Justified and Limitless)

Publisher's Summary

Two days to save her....

They've found the killer. The killer that Detective Sam Porter has been hunting for five years. But it's too late to put him behind bars. He's already dead.

One day to save her....

But even death can't stop this murderer. His last victim is still alive, struggling to escape and the police have no idea who or where she is.

Zero....

Now Sam Porter must race against time, as her chances of survival slip away, to stop this serial killer from claiming his final victim...

This stunning thriller is perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Jo Nesbo and Helen Fields.

©2017 J. D. Barker (P)2017 Recorded Books

Critic Reviews

"A talented writer with a delightfully devious mind." (Jeffery Deaver)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carol
  • Mid North Coast - NSW
  • 24-08-2018

Great listen and an original plot

It took a few chapters to fall into the rhythm of the story but when I found it, boy did the story take off.

An original plot with unusual depth. Where the author found these characters and their stories is anyone’s guess and don’t expect Barker to hold back on graphic details victims endure at the hands of a truely twisted protagonist. It was not until I listened to Barkers follow up work The Fifth To Die that I fully realised the brilliance of character Anson Bishop and in particular his diary - the fact that Barker pulled this off and made it so believable has me in awe.

This Audible title has been my most liked to date (can you tell?), and the follow up didn’t disappoint either. Well written, and edited (if you read my other reviews you will see poor editing is a bug bare of mine), it set a reasonable pace, the characters were believable and Barker left enough for the listener to hypothesise about characters for themselves.

It was a pleasure to listen to The Fourth Monkey, and to soak in every detail/hint/clue the author provided, instead ‘binge listening’ in an effort to end the suspense.

My hope is that Barker continues to write for grown ups and that he does not choose the path of least resistance and begin dumbing down his cracking tales.

If done right, this would be an awesome movie.

Shout out to the narrator who made the childhood diary of Anson Bishop sooo believable, and who never got in the way of a good story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Story

Great story. Beautifully read. Main characters are well developed. Enough humour to counterbalance the violence.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!!

Loved this book! Once finished, I promptly started it all over again. Didn’t want it to be over.
Looking forward to the sequel being available on Audible.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Vinodhan
  • 10-06-2018

The birth of a potentially great new villain

Loved the villain-both in concept and in execution. Loved the device of two time-separated storylines, implemented far better than the seen-it-before norm. And loved the use of two narrators to distinguish these two timelines. I look forward to the next installment with no small amount of relish; we may have a truly significant character here. Here's hoping.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-01-2018

Timeless Thriller

What a great read. Thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish. Loved the suspense and concurrent storylines.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 28-08-2017

Great book!

Gripping narrative. Dark and twisting. I was hooked from the start and with each turn of the page became more and more obsessed. I could NOT put this down!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • antonio
  • 26-08-2018

A scary tale....

Fasten your seat belt as this book is a very bumpy ride. Goes back and forth between eras and characters as the plot develops on two parallel paths : on one (the present) the focus is on the police collecting clues and hunting a serial killer and on the other (the past) you've the killer's diary that gives the insight on how he turned into a monster.
If you're a fan of the serial killer genre you're going to love this book.. Barker's writing style is a bit particular and dark, but suits the general atmosphere of the story.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 18-11-2017

Excellent story well read.

Loved it. It kept me guessing throughout. The description makes you feel like you are there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Wras
  • 05-01-2018

Two stories lines collide.


Interesting noir detective story, that has enough twist and dark humour to keep the interest going without being too exploitative.
Good entertainment that was smart and well developed within its kind.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lisa Crowe
  • 09-03-2018

Gruesome but cleverly crafted

Very well written and excellently narrated. A pretty gruesome twist on the world of serial killers, psychopaths and sadists. The interaction between characters, especially within the “family” unit is at times comical and at other times shocking. Its a very clever story that has a number of twists that surprise. Definitely worth a credit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SBud
  • 01-03-2018

Brilliant!

Spine chillingly good! I loved every minute of this book, great characters and plot. Bravo!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jools
  • 14-09-2018

Excellent

Now I am eagerly downloading book 3, a brilliant triology, loved the books, well worth 5 stars. 😈

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lindsey
  • 06-07-2018

Disturbing

I came to the end of this book not sure how I felt about it. there is no question that it's disturbing throughout, so a little draining. the performances are good and there is variety to the story. .. but if you are squeamish I would give this one a miss.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • TAG
  • 28-06-2018

Predictable

I don’t like violent serial killer books so I would have avoided this but for the many favourable reviews. I did find this too much like torture porn for my tastes. The only original slant was to make the killer the most well rounded character unlike the stereotypical detectives with their obligatory quirks and flaws.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Philip Passmore
  • 24-06-2018

Great story, well performed

Plenty of twists and turns, though a couple of them could be spotted a mile off. Performance was good, and kept me engaged right to the end.