Regular price: $22.46

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

Martha is lost. She’s been lost since she was a baby, abandoned in a suitcase on the train from Paris. Ever since, she’s waited in the station's lost property for someone to claim her. It’s been 16 years, but she’s still hopeful.

In the meantime, there are mysteries to solve: secret tunnels under the station, a suitcase that may have belonged to the Beatles, the Roman soldier who appears at the same time every day with his packed lunch. Not to mention the stuffed monkey that someone keeps misplacing. But there is one mystery Martha cannot solve. And now the authorities have found out about the girl in lost property.

Time is running out - if Martha can’t discover who she really is, she will lose everything....

©2016 Caroline Wallace (P)2016 Audible, Ltd

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Quirky storytelling!

What did you like most about The Finding of Martha Lost?

The narration is excellent!

Who was your favorite character and why?

Mother. An interesting woman!

What about Katy Sobey’s performance did you like?

Katys performance is second to none! I don't know if its the story I liked or the reading! I could listen to Katy read the phone book!

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

What lurks beneath Lime St Station?

Any additional comments?

The book was captivating and the characters varied and interesting. Background stories on the main characters were so well written and intriguing. Even if towards the end you know where the story is heading you're still compelled to finish and the tie-up is satisfying. I cannot praise Katy Sobey's narration highly enough!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Margaret
  • 27-03-2016

Magic in Liverpool

This book is a charming fairy tale, but slow going. There isn't much of a sense of urgency though the story has a ticking clock (Martha may be evicted); the threat is just ignored most of the time. Instead, the author focuses exhaustively on the characters' quirks and there are a lot of them. Fans of Sarah Addison Allen or Julia Stuart will enjoy, I think.

Narration is top notch.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lynn Lipp
  • 26-03-2016

Wish they were all this good!

I grew up in London with an English mother and American father. I've been living in USA for 38 years. Although I've never been to Liverpool, I could relate to the characters and the story and enjoyed the unique mix of Beatles history, abandoned child looking for her mother and the tramp living in the train station.

Loved the narration and hope to read more from the author and listen to more by the narrator.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KateS
  • 22-03-2016

I got this to last a month; I didn't turn it off!

A beautiful fairytale of innocence, love, friendship and violence, wonderfully read in Martha's true voice.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-04-2016

A very moving story

A Beautifully narrated, wonderful story with amazing images. I think I may have even cried.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah
  • 11-07-2016

Relentlessly frustrating.

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

I stuck with this to the bitter end hoping it would end with the interest it initally started with. Sadly, I didn't find this as enjoyable as other readers seem to have done.

What was most disappointing about Caroline Wallace’s story?

The constant repetitive phrases really began to grate on my nerves...so much I found myself actually talking out loud, begging the reader to wander off-script. I'm afraid the sections detailing the life of Mal and The Beatles felt like a poor attempt to crowbar the author's research into the text. The end was entirely predictable.

What does Katy Sobey bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

I think she did fair job. She portrayed Martha very well. Not so well with Max - the Ozzie accent dipped in and out.

If this book were a film would you go see it?

No

Any additional comments?

It's rare I come across a book with such good reviews and then find myself disappointed but occasionally I don't get it and this is one of those times.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amanda Toguri
  • 25-06-2016

Loved it! Easy read from start to finish.

Great performance for a truly entertaining story. Darkly comedic with wonderful characters you really got to know and care about.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • newyorkhereicome
  • 19-04-2016

Loved Martha

This book is written from Matha's viewpoint and the author does it beautifully. The phrasing was lovely.
So as not to spoil the story I'll just say that I don't see the point of some elements as they don't really add anything but padding but not enough to be detrimental.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • barbara
  • 11-04-2016

Unusual & enjoyable .

A very enjoyable listen . A mystery with many turns ..

I would recommend this as a quirky mystery .

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • D. M. Dickson
  • 29-03-2017

A teeny bit annoying

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

We listen in order to relax at the end of the day and it was perfectly suited to that.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

I didn't find any scenes particularly outstanding, it wasn't that sort of book I didn't think.

Did The Finding of Martha Lost inspire you to do anything?

NO

Any additional comments?

This was a reasonably enjoyable listen. I found the repetitive speech tags annoying I truly did and perhaps when it was narrated they should have been adjusted for a spoken delivery. Apart from that the reveal at the end was apparent by the time we reached it but all in all it was pleasant enough. It is odd that a few weeks after we listened to this a part of Lime Street Station did collapse and both my husband and I said "Ah well, Martha must have gone out without her rock!!"

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CrisH
  • 09-01-2017

Heartwarming story

A quirky book, very well written and delivered. I say quirky in the nicest possible way, this story drew me in because from the first few pages till the last. Some great characters and a fascinating story, funny, inspiring in equal measure. It made me laugh and brought a tear to my eye.
I'm not going to give away any of the story but I'll just say it's about an orphan living in the lost property office on Lime Street Railway Station.
There are some lovely characters, well described, who come into the story and populate the life story of the innocent and naive orphan.
The narrator does a great job of making the characters come to life.
A lovely, heartwarming story that I will definitely listen to again at some point in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 27-10-2016

Charming narrative - lovely modern fairytale

I enjoyed every aspect of this book. Wonderful narrative and a story told in exquisite detail. The story of Martha, the innocent child and the world she inhabits is captivating and the narration first class.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jill Parker
  • 10-10-2016

Absolutely absorbing brilliant

Where does The Finding of Martha Lost rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I could not stop listening, I was totally transported to Martha's world character's are so believable, narrator is brilliant and brings everything to life

What did you like best about this story?

The characters and the unusual storyline

Have you listened to any of Katy Sobey’s other performances? How does this one compare?

No but will definitely be looking out for her

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Absolutely Absolutely Absolutely

Any additional comments?

Recommended listen but not when you're short of time as it will hook you in!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful