Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook free.
1 credit/month after trial—to buy any title you like, yours to keep.
Listen all you want to a selection of thousands of Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $34.09

Buy Now for $34.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

David Rivers is an elite-level assassin. He’s an expert in the art of violence. Honing his skill first as a Ranger, then as a mercenary, and now as a CIA contractor conducting covert action around the world.

But in his secluded mountain home in Virginia, David Rivers lives a double life. There, Rivers is known as a caring husband to his new wife and the doting father to his young daughter. Soft targets to his enemies.

Half a world away, on a mission to assassinate a foreign operative, Rivers uncovers his worst fear. An imminent attack on US soil will occur in four days. The target is in his hometown. And his wife and daughter are mentioned by name.

©2020 Regiment Publishing (P)2021 Severn River Publishing

What listeners say about The Enemies of My Country

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen

Really enjoyed this. A great author and read by one of the best narrators out there.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amanda K Chally
  • Amanda K Chally
  • 19-01-2021

David Rivers continues to draw me in

This is another story from Jason Kasper that has drawn me in with its non-stop action. It is filled with suspense and plot twists that keep me engaged. Fight scenes and gun battles that get my heart racing. Jason’s writing skill continues to grow with the first person experience that has me feeling like I’m in the story. Excellent, can’t wait for the next one.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alex
  • Alex
  • 01-06-2021

I wanted to like it...

But I just couldn't. This was not a tight thriller in the vein of Brad Thor or Vince Flynn. I felt like the author was all over the place with his writing and character point of view. The over all story was just OK. It was painful to finish. Rather than finding myself wanting more, it felt like a chore to complete. While I want to chalk it up to debut novel jitters, I can't see myself picking up future books in the series for fear of feeling that same dread I was experiencing listening to this one.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roger
  • Roger
  • 01-08-2021

Shallow

The dialogue was cringe worthy. A Buffett of cliches. The action wasn’t bad but the interludes were torture

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laura McDalton
  • Laura McDalton
  • 02-04-2021

Bring Adam Gold Back!

Not as good as the original DR Series, maybe the new narrator had some to do with it. He didn't come close to Adam Gold who I feel did a much better job portraying David and each individual in the gang. David isn't 30 yet so it didn't fit to have the voice sound so much older and without the inflective personality as prior series. Some of the main characters basic personalities seemed to be totally different and their new "bosses" were not believable. Something just seemed a miss with this story. Again, could be the narrator and personality differences but overall it was an ok listen.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chris L
  • Chris L
  • 24-07-2021

David Rivers Delivers…his new voice did not

For those of us that fell in love with David Rivers and the unique dramatic emotional rollercoaster that becomes the character and brought to life by the performance in the previous series will be disappointed with the new voice of this series.

That being said Kasper’s story is non-stop turns and clever plot lines. I am looking forward to the next book, but wish beyond wishes the narrator changes back to the previous performer or, my favorite, Ray Porter.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 22-07-2021

Good but...

loved the book but please go back to Adam Gold on the next book in the series! please

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Josh Williams
  • Josh Williams
  • 09-04-2021

Loved the story

Love David Rivers and love the story... but you can't have David Rivers without Adam Gold... please bring him back for voice actor. other than that I give it 5 stars

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrea Yvette
  • Andrea Yvette
  • 29-12-2021

Well Developed Story

I think this audiobook would be a good listen for military personnel and gun users. The details regarding the sweeps, the weapons and how they were used seemed thoroughly researched, and over all I found them interesting. I did find it a bit difficult to follow sometimes due to my limited knowledge of combat, but with a little Google search about the guns mentioned and the locations it was fine.
I do think there should have been more than one narrator. However, I feel that way about all audiobook that have more than 3 main characters. The narrator did the best he could (Cancer and the Texans accents were great) but a different voice for Eyan, David and the women involved would have made for a more enjoyable listen.
Overall I think it's a well written book and a decent performance.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bunnytjies
  • Bunnytjies
  • 20-11-2021

Disappointed

Not nearly as good as the previous 6 books that I
could not put down. I listened through them without stopping. This was rather boring in comparison and at times I took a break to listen to something else. After which I returned to the half listened book. Perhaps it was the change of narrator…. Not sure. But I doubt I will be continuing the series

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Garri
  • Garri
  • 21-10-2021

Thoughts...

To much discussion around the the very simple decision of killing terrorists. in any condition, under any circumstances, without exception, or hesitation and always....then move on to make breakfast. The only quotable moment...some people just deserve to be shot in the face. Cheers.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Churchill1940
  • Churchill1940
  • 12-08-2021

Great presentation though the story a little OTT.

A really good listen thrilling throughout and look forward to the next month book 2.
Listen and enjoy. Former Ranger.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark MaC
  • Mark MaC
  • 23-10-2021

Absolutely brilliant!

One of the best books I’ve read in a long time. Absolutely brilliant. Although, I do think it should have been called “some people just need to get shot in the fucking face “! LOL! Brilliant!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Adrian T.
  • Adrian T.
  • 16-09-2021

Detailism

I personally found the constant detailing of weaponry profoundly irritating. If i wanted to buy a gun I'd go to a shop.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for "supersapper"
  • "supersapper"
  • 12-09-2021

Great Action

I enjoyed this audio book from start to finish! The story is superb, with the action being very well described and not over the top! The narrator was fantastic!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul
  • Paul
  • 18-11-2021

great story

great insight into the black art of doing with terrorist. edge if the seat story. great line about if you can't go forward go back

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jen
  • Jen
  • 09-11-2021

My first listen of this author's tales

And I liked it, likeable characters and age-old plot framed from a different perspective - hope there's more to come from him.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for H. Claridge
  • H. Claridge
  • 18-10-2021

The book is better than its dull title…..

….which needs to be much more dynamic and pertinent to the story. Characters were realistically drawn, the detail was thorough and the tension built very satisfactorily…but I did find it difficult to get past the rather strange staccato delivery of the narrator, which irritated throughout! I’d read something more by Jason Kasperbut will look to avoid this narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MCTUCKETER
  • MCTUCKETER
  • 26-01-2022

Not my usual listen

I really enjoyed it, good narration, plenty of action, looking forward to hearing another by this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul Jones
  • Paul Jones
  • 15-12-2021

A must read

I found this book as one of the included titles and as I ran out of books I thought I would give it a go. I am glad I did well written by some Jonah’s servers like me the humour mixed with the suspense was excellent keep the good work going and write loads about these team members

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sermatt
  • Sermatt
  • 26-11-2021

Dreadful narration.

Story is tedious.. little plot. Too much detail to dull minutiae. The narrators pace varies too much and sounds almost like a machine at times. Poor characterisation. Great for falling asleep to!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.