Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $34.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Two years after a family tragedy, and still consumed by her grief, Willa receives a strange letter from halfway across the globe. She has inherited a house in Australia, in a town she’s never heard of, from a woman she doesn’t know....

Following the mystery to the inviting shores of Sisters Cove, Willa is entranced by the dilapidated old Chapel House she now owns, perched high on a windy cliff within the grounds of Merrivale Estate. As Willa’s suspicions grow about her connection to the place, she begins to look among the dusty artwork and sealed boxes of papers left to her, and it becomes clear that the truth is not at all what she expected.

At Merrivale, social butterfly Annabelle is alarmed by Willa’s arrival. Why did her old friend and confidante Lillian leave her home to this stranger? As the two women’s lives intersect in the small, insular world of Sisters Cove, neither realizes the dark truth that connects them until it’s too late. And when that terrible secret is exposed, it could destroy the lives of everyone involved….

An emotional, powerful novel full of dark secrets and family drama. Fans of The Silent Wife, Liane Moriarty, and Kerry Lonsdale, listen to this next.

©2020 Sarah Clutton (P)2019 Bookouture

More from the same

What listeners say about The Daughter's Promise

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My favourite read/listen all year

Loved this book. It kept me guessing and just when I thought I had it worked out I realised I hadn't. The narrative was so beautifully written that I am missing the characters. It has made want to visit Tasmania, is Sister's Cove exists I need to find i!
This is the second book of Sarah's I have read and I have thoroughly enjoyed both. I can't wait for the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

There is a lot going on in this town and more to the stories characters than one might envisage in a small town. The twists and turns are beautifully narrated enabling a relationship between the listener and the reader as the story unfolds. You are left truly caring what will happen to the women you have come to know in this graphically woven tale.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Promise Delivered

Excellent read, filled with interesting, engaging and relatable characters, bringing a landscape to life. Makes you want to visit the village and walk through their lives.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for leebee 112
  • leebee 112
  • 07-09-2020

The Last quarter was Great !

The Narration was a bit difficult but after Speeding it up a bit It was much Improved,The Different Characters Sounded better,
The Males were Narcissistic down under or were Unwell and a seemed to need Nursing, The only one that seemed to have a Handle on things was Smelly Tippy the Man Child. I Guess really it was one big Web of Secrets and Lies.
I really thought there was going to be something Surprising in the Magazine That Annabel’s niece Gave her , I was convinced That the Fateful Fete Was going to get noticed by The Coach-load of Tourists ! definitely a slow Start !

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.