Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $30.38

Buy Now for $30.38

Pay using coupon balance (if available) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

An electrifying debut thriller for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

One dead body.
Twelve suspects.
Twenty-four-hour darkness.

In the most inhospitable environment - cut off from the rest of the world - there's a killer on the loose.

A&E doctor Kate North has been knocked out of her orbit by a personal tragedy. So when she's offered the chance to be an emergency replacement at the UN research station in Antarctica, she jumps at the chance. The previous doctor, Jean-Luc, died in a tragic accident while out on the ice.

The move seems an ideal solution for Kate: no one knows about her past; no one is checking up on her. But as total darkness descends for the winter, she begins to suspect that Jean-Luc's death wasn't accidental at all. And the more questions she asks, the more dangerous it becomes for them all....

©2021 Emma Haughton (P)2021 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critic Reviews

"The kind of heart-pounding, sleep-stealing read that you want to recommend to everyone you meet. An absolutely thrilling book." (Cass Green)  

"Tense, thrilling and unpredictable, with one of the most unique and dangerous settings imaginable." (Allie Reynolds) 

"Tense, twisted and quite literally chilling - a locked room mystery in a unique setting where no one can be trusted." (Susi Holliday) 

"Set against the dangerous sub-zero temperatures end endless night of the Antarctic.... Brilliantly atmospheric and terrifying." (Catherine Cooper)

What listeners say about The Dark

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

What a shame

I really didn’t enjoy this book. Very disappointing and I couldn’t finish it. Pity. Perhaps it was me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely intriguing!

Loved it! Most professional and articulate narration. Reasonably well-impersonated accents. Great driving companion. Must listen!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alice
  • Alice
  • 02-10-2021

Started off liking this and then lost patience

The reviews were solid, for the most part, so I had high hopes. Apologies to Kristin Atherton, but I struggled to relate to the reading, as Kate's character sounded so high-pitched and desperate all the time -- she stayed at one emotional register. Granted the character was in an impossible situation, but dramatically speaking it was hard for me to care about her because every moment was so elevated. I wonder if that would be the same if I were reading on the page -- doubt it. After about two-thirds into the book, I fast-forwarded to the final chapters because, well, enough was enough. I don't recommend this audible book.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SarahC1985
  • SarahC1985
  • 24-08-2021

Brilliant

This was one of the best thrillers I've read in a long time. I have to say I wasn't that keen on Kate all the way through and I was glad when I felt she got justice and what she deserved, but the story as a whole was really good, I had to force myself to stop at 1AM as I had work the next day! But I finished it in two days, couldn't put it down. It's the kind of book I could read again. Kristin Atherton does a really good job of narrating it as well, bringing the characters their own unique voices and accents. The whole novel is told from Kate's POV. There were times I could almost feel the cold. If you love isolation, locked room mysteries and tention, sprinkled with a little romance too, this is the novel you have to read next!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kate bluffield
  • kate bluffield
  • 14-11-2021

Agatha Christie it Ain’t…

Kate, the main character, has got to be the most dramatic, needy, self absorbed, drug addicted patronising and hypocritical mess that you’re ever likely to meet. I think this isn’t helped by the narrator’s overly dramatic delivery. The book descends into farce when Kate carries out a major life saving operation on a colleague, in the dark (of course) with only a scalpel and her experience as an ER doctor to save the day…the dialogue at this point was reminiscent of Joey Tribbiani in ‘Friends’, playing Dr. Drake Ramore.
The recipient of the surgery (an emergency C-section) has to move from her hospital bed to a safer location, so, regardless of six layers of stomach muscle and tissue layers having just been sliced and stitched up, manages to dress in artic gear, jump on a skidoo and travel across the arctic ice in total darkness and minus 30 degrees. A medical marvel.
To compare this to Agatha Christie is sacrilege.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Absodoodlelutely
  • Absodoodlelutely
  • 12-10-2021

Agatha in Antarctica

Murder on ice is the premise with an Antarctic winter substituted for an Agatha Christie country house mystery setting.
A broken and needy doctor joins 12 ice-station veterans and starts to suspect her predecessor was murdered. Tense situations, many of which you can guess, ensue as the killer is eventually unmasked.
Good stuff: unrelenting use of the unique backdrop and a strong vocal performance, which has to deal with a mass of international accents, make the story work.
Not so good: modern readers are not easily fooled and the killer's identity doesn't come as a shock.
Conclusion: a story Agatha would be proud of.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for U. bruton
  • U. bruton
  • 09-10-2021

Chilling

A great mystery in a chilling (in more than one way!) setting, reminiscent of Agatha Christie. A modern whodunnit that will make you suspect everyone.
Recommended!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachel Redford
  • Rachel Redford
  • 08-09-2021

Tips into absurdity

This has got definite strengths: an excellent recreation of a station in the Antarctic with the claustrophobic community of, initially, just 13 people confined through the dark months; atmospheric descriptions of the ice, the cold and the landscape and skyscape;. suspense maintained throughout.

But for me, it was ruined by just too many suspicious deaths enabling Kate, the medical doctor who tells the story, to switch her suspicions, and as the tensions were jacked up so was the absurdity of the plot. Would a drug-dependent young doctor really be sent on this mission? Can anyone really perform a life- saving operation in the dark without essential equipment or a working generator? Can anyone really bounce back after the severe physical trauma of a deathly attack as Kate does? I would have liked fewer thriller ingredients and more of the serious background to these people. Kate's backstory is explored effectively, but not that of the others. I think the author has some great ideas but spoiled it all by lurching into the ridiculous and losing touch with plausibility.

Kristin Atherton made a valiant effort to reproduce the drama and tensions - sometimes too exaggerated as the words themselves were sufficient. I found her accents of the group (this was an international group) too strong and loud, particularly the men's.

The book has been well reviewed so perhaps it's just me!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 22-03-2022

A wildly irritating heroine

so much promise from the blurb and such a let down I guess with a likeable heroine it might have been a good story, although I am becoming jaded with this type of story, all too predictable.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alex
  • Alex
  • 21-02-2022

Good book, terrible main character

Agree with the other reviewers that Kate is infuriating! Stupid decision after stupid decision, she is patronising and plain moronic in times of contemplation (omg what could he have meant by that? Well if we know so do you Kate, maybe lay off the opiates for 5 minutes and use the brain that got you through medical school) but the story keeps you interested. Be careful reading the reviews as some absolute knob has put the name of the killer in theirs trying to show us how clever they are.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hes
  • Hes
  • 07-02-2022

Really enjoyed this

I know the reviews are mixed but I found this totally addictive. Finished it in a day. Loved the narrator’s different accents.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John Peters
  • John Peters
  • 22-01-2022

enjoyable wide ranging story

The narrator was 90% for me. too shouty during some moments of tension. Thanks Emma.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Books_from_the_shed
  • Books_from_the_shed
  • 27-09-2021

outstanding!

Really great story and the narration was excellent! Kristin did a brilliant job with all the various accents 👏

1 person found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.