Get Your Free Audiobook

The Confession

By: Jo Spain
Length: 10 hrs and 44 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (44 ratings)

Non-member price: $37.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

You find out who did it in the very first minute. In the last, you'll find out why.

Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear.

Just an hour later the attacker, JP Carney, has handed himself in to the police. He confesses to beating Harry to death, but JP claims that the assault was not premeditated and that he didn't know the identity of his victim. With a man as notorious as Harry McNamara, the detectives cannot help wondering, was this really a random act of violence or is it linked to one of Harry's many sins: corruption, greed, betrayal?

This gripping psychological thriller will have you questioning, who - of Harry, Julie and JP - is really the guilty one? And is Carney's surrender driven by a guilty conscience or is his confession a calculated move in a deadly game?

The most gripping psychological thriller of 2018. Perfect for fans of He Said, She Said and The Couple Next Door.

©2018 Jo Spain (P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Critic Reviews

"I can't praise The Confession enough. Brilliant writing, great story...a really cracking read." (BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown)
"Enthralling - Spain dissects her characters' secrets with razor-sharp precision." (JP Delaney, author of The Girl Before)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Long

It started well but I was worn out by the end. Listening to the main character whine for the length of the book would do that to you. I couldn't empathise with any of the main characters by half way through and forced myself to continue hoping it would improve. Disappointing.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Narcissistic Characters in Toxic Relationships.

I hated this book. I was unable to empathise with ANY of the characters involved.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sue
  • 27-01-2020

Her best story

I have read all Jo Spain’s stories and loved them all. But The Confession was simply the best- so clever and gripping to the very end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow! Just... wow!

This would have to be one of the most chilling complex thrilling stories I’ve come across. Narrated by the absolutely brilliant Michele Moran and Christopher Bonwell it is almost impossible to hit pause and get on with life‘s mundane necessities - because it is that compelling, that superb, that riveting! Twists you won’t see coming, shocking admissions and real heart wrenching conflict. Bravo Jo Spain. Bravo Michele Moran & Christopher Bonwell.
This is a cracker of both book and performance!!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CILLY STURMBERG
  • CILLY STURMBERG
  • 04-07-2018

GRIPPING

THIS BOOK KEPT ME INTEREST%ED THROUGHOUT.JO SPAIN ID A GREAT JOB AND I WILL BE LOOKING AT HER WORK TO READ MORE.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul FitzSimons
  • Paul FitzSimons
  • 23-04-2018

Possibly my novel of the year

What did you love best about The Confession?

...and I'm only saying that because the year ain't over.

Two characters and the people around them live their accidentally and totally-on-purpose tragic lives.

Julie wonders why her husband Harry, the once-love-of-life, is brutally attacked in their home by stranger JP Carney. But, over the course of this intriguingly ever-winding story, we find out how and why the attack happened and how Julie knew more about attacker's motives and the victim's sins than she first let on.

Quality storytelling of this calibre is rare. I got to the end and went right back and read it again.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Julie, her initial innocence slowly unfurls to reveal a damaged and damaging heroine, one we fear, pity and despise in equal measure.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deirdre More
  • Deirdre More
  • 18-02-2018

I cannot rate this book highly enough.

What made the experience of listening to The Confession the most enjoyable?

It seems that most books of this type now have to have a 'twist' to make them memorable. I wouldn't say that this book necessarily had a twist but it left the listener thinking and determining. The narration was first class and the Irish turns of phrase were enjoyable at the start, before we then got into the depth of the story. It was accurate in its depiction of the rise and fall in Ireland and there was a nod to all things that were corrupt at the time. I loved this book and came across it by accident. I will certainly be looking out for Jo Spain again.

Which character – as performed by Michele Moran and Christopher Bonwell – was your favourite?

Without a doubt, JP was the favourite character but as far as all the other characters were portrayed, it was easy to completely get to grips with them, likeable or not.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes, but time wouldn't allow. However, I think I managed it over three days.

Any additional comments?

I am going to investigate Jo Spain's other novels. I think I love her.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David M
  • David M
  • 09-07-2019

A Really Good Suspense Thriller

We hear in detail about the rather toxic marriage between an exceedingly rich Irish banker and his alcoholic wife, how he avoided going to prison after the 2007 banking crisis.

Then in 2012,apparently out of nowhere somebody breaks into their house and beats the husband 'to a pulp' with a golf club while the wife looks on. The intruder willingly gives himself up and confesses to the police.

What is really going on is what this book is about. We think we know, then that changes several times, particularly as we get close to the end of the book. All good suspense stuff and what we look for in a book like this. The reader needs to pay attention to avoid missing the good bits.

Thoroughly recommended.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sandy dean
  • sandy dean
  • 17-03-2019

Perfection

I was in reading heaven, gripping, guessing,from start to finish. I loved the characters, loved the narrator loved the Irish background. This was an absolute treat to read, not light reading by any stretch but bloomin brilliant. Added all books by the same author to my wish list. Highly recommended to anyone who enjoys a criminal drama with a domestic twist laced with intrigue.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lesley Paxman
  • Lesley Paxman
  • 16-12-2018

A bit muddy

Tries too hard to produce twists and denouements and ends up in a tangle of unconvincing knots. The author is a good story-teller, helped by a great performance by the female narrator, but tackles death and murder when a straightforward drama might be more successful.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michelle
  • Michelle
  • 29-06-2018

Great story, so many twists

Loved the depth of the characters, as a listener i was fully engaged. Would highly recommend this to all who enjoys a great crime/thriller story.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jo-dee sutton
  • jo-dee sutton
  • 08-02-2018

the confession.

I don't usually like these types of books but this one kept me thinking with lots of twists and turns.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Steve
  • Steve
  • 01-08-2019

exceptional

fully enjoyed this book, never a dull moment and the characters were so believable "GREAT"

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Luke
  • Luke
  • 25-07-2019

A good, steady thriller

This book kept me intrigued throughout. The writing is of a very high quality and the plot keeps you wanting more right to the satisfying end.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carol OShea
  • Carol OShea
  • 04-02-2018

Brilliant

Brilliantly read, and I couldn’t put it down from the first chapter to the last

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DaveD
  • DaveD
  • 28-11-2018

Confession - Good for the Soul & Great Read

Many books will tell you a tale, however, Jo Spain gives you a multilayered story of compelling characters, entangled lives and tense, compulsive and page turning excitement.
The opening will have you captured and will not let you go until the final page.
This is more than a crime story - the timelines and lead characters make sure of that.
Pick this book up - don’t miss it - you will not be sorry. The audio / narration is excellent too.

2 people found this helpful