Try free for 2 months

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
The Confession cover art

The Confession

By: Jo Spain
Narrated by: Michele Moran,Christopher Bonwell
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

You find out who did it in the very first minute. In the last, you'll find out why.

Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear.

Just an hour later the attacker, JP Carney, has handed himself in to the police. He confesses to beating Harry to death, but JP claims that the assault was not premeditated and that he didn't know the identity of his victim. With a man as notorious as Harry McNamara, the detectives cannot help wondering, was this really a random act of violence or is it linked to one of Harry's many sins: corruption, greed, betrayal?

This gripping psychological thriller will have you questioning, who - of Harry, Julie and JP - is really the guilty one? And is Carney's surrender driven by a guilty conscience or is his confession a calculated move in a deadly game?

The most gripping psychological thriller of 2018. Perfect for fans of He Said, She Said and The Couple Next Door.

©2018 Jo Spain (P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Critic Reviews

"I can't praise The Confession enough. Brilliant writing, great story...a really cracking read." (BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown)
"Enthralling - Spain dissects her characters' secrets with razor-sharp precision." (JP Delaney, author of The Girl Before)

What listeners say about The Confession

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    184
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    209
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    168
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow! Just... wow!

This would have to be one of the most chilling complex thrilling stories I’ve come across. Narrated by the absolutely brilliant Michele Moran and Christopher Bonwell it is almost impossible to hit pause and get on with life‘s mundane necessities - because it is that compelling, that superb, that riveting! Twists you won’t see coming, shocking admissions and real heart wrenching conflict. Bravo Jo Spain. Bravo Michele Moran & Christopher Bonwell.
This is a cracker of both book and performance!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Long

It started well but I was worn out by the end. Listening to the main character whine for the length of the book would do that to you. I couldn't empathise with any of the main characters by half way through and forced myself to continue hoping it would improve. Disappointing.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I got half way through chapter 5 & couldn't stand

I got half way through chapter 5 and couldn't stand one more minute of the casual, hateful misogynist, body shaming and fat shaming...

there's enough if this in real life, I don't need it when I'm trying to escape from real life.

Shame on this author (and publisher) for this shite. It is not necessary to the plot or the narrative. It is just nasty, predictable and lazy.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Completely gripping, couldn’t put it down

Great story, complete roller coaster of emotions. Lots of twists and we were kept guessing until the end. This is the first of Jo Spain’s novels I have read, I will definitely be reading more. Highly recommend!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good read

Really liked this book. Good story line which builds the characters slowly but with meticulous detail.
Good ending

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An enjoyable read

Another great read from Jo Spain. I found the author via her 'Tom Reynolds' series and picked this one up after enjoying them all. With a unique premise, The Confession moved at a good pace and was suitably twisty-turny. I particularly enjoyed the multiple perspective reveal. This was an engaging and enjoyable read with a wonderfully written (if unlikable) cast of characters. I highly recommend the narrators - Michele Moran and Christopher Bronwell.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible

Unlike her other work, the plot is unconvincing and the characters shallow and inconsistent. The motivations of all three main characters are illogical and just not believable. It’s over written with endless back and forth … she loves him, she hates him, she loves him again. Don’t waste your time.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read...

Love when a story gets into it from the start! The narrator nailed it 😊

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant twisty tale

I’ve enjoyed all of Jo Spains books but really loved the twists and turns in this book - highly recommend it!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The twist in the tail

I liked the soft Irish accent.
It made the story more plausible and the characters more likeable.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.