Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $31.78

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A young woman's quest to heal a family rift entangles her in one of Australia's greatest historical puzzles when an intricately illustrated map offers a clue to the fate of a long-lost girl. A mesmerising historical mystery set in the Hunter Valley from best-selling author Tea Cooper for readers of Natasha Lester and Kate Morton.

1880 The Hunter Valley

Evie Ludgrove loves to map the landscape around her home - hardly surprising since she grew up in the shadow of her father's obsession with the great Australian explorer Dr Ludwig Leichhardt. So when an advertisement appears in The Bulletin magazine offering a one thousand pound reward for proof of where Leichhardt met his fate, Evie is determined to figure it out - after all, there are clues in her father's papers and in the archives of The Royal Geographical Society. But when Evie sets out to prove her theory she vanishes without a trace, leaving behind a mystery that taints everyone's lives for thirty years.

1911

When Letitia Rawlings arrives at the family estate in her Model T Ford, her purpose is to inform her great aunt Olivia of a bereavement. But Letitia is also escaping her own problems - her brother's sudden death, her mother's scheming and her own dissatisfaction with the life planned out for her. So when Letitia discovers a beautifully illustrated map that might hold a clue to the fate of her missing aunt, Evie Ludgrove, her curiosity is aroused and she sets out to discover the truth of Evie's disappearance.

But all is not as it seems at Yellow Rock estate and as events unfold, Letitia begins to realise that solving the mystery of her family's past could offer as much peril as redemption.

©2020 Tea Cooper (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Cartographer's Secret

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Book & Amazing Narrator

Really enjoyed this book. The narrator does an amazing job of making each character stand apart and come alive! So happy to have found another great Australian author. Beautiful style of writing. Now I feel like a trip to Wollombi to walk in the footsteps of these characters.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely story!

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book. Very exciting and interesting story with lovely imagination intertwined with some factual characters. Romantic insights into the past..

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love the fictional history!

I absolutely love the reader of the tea cooper books, she is so good at being in character. unfortunately, I sometimes find that the story is a little too complex with multiple characters, but I always love the characters and love listening to a realistic feel-good ending.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommended.

This book and the narrator is brilliant.
Captivated me from the beginning and I couldn't stop listening.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Tea Cooper can write!

I have a friend in Sydney who is an English teacher. Occasionally I send him a book that I think is outstanding. This is one of those books!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mispronounced Town names

Towns' names pronounced incorrectly. Frustrating for book about cartography. Otherwise great story and narration.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paula Beavan
  • Paula Beavan
  • 03-11-2020

Another Triumph by Tea Cooper

I just love Tea’s books, the history is mixed perfectly with the fiction, and this is a tale that dragged me in so that I sat up late listening when I should have long been in bed. The only thing I found a bit off putting was the narrator pronouncing local town incorrectly. But it wasn’t so bad as to mess with my enjoyment of the story.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.