Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $27.79

Buy Now for $27.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

A fire-ravaged cathedral. An ungodly murder.

Easter, 1177. Canterbury Cathedral, home to the tomb of martyr Saint Thomas Becket, bears the wounds of a terrible fire. Benedict, prior of the great church, leads its rebuilding. But horror interrupts the work. One of the stonemasons is found viciously murdered, the dead man’s face disfigured by a shocking wound.

When the king’s clerk Aelred Barling and his assistant Hugo Stanton arrive on pilgrimage to the tomb, the prior orders them to investigate the unholy crime.

But the killer soon claims another victim - and another. As turmoil embroils the congregation, the pair of sleuths face urgent pressure to find a connection between the killings.

With panic on the rise, can Barling and Stanton catch the culprit before evil prevails again - and stop it before it comes for them?

The Canterbury Murders is the third book in E.M. Powell’s Stanton and Barling medieval murder mystery series. Combining intricate plots, shocking twists, and a winning - if unlikely - pair of investigators, this series is perfect for fans of Ellis Peters’ Brother Cadfael or C.J. Sansom’s Shardlake.

©2020 E.M. Powell (P)2020 E.M. Powell

What listeners say about The Canterbury Murders

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anne Secher
  • Anne Secher
  • 23-02-2021

A thrilling Medieval murder mystery

*I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.*

The Canterbury Murders is a Medieval murder mystery/thriller in which Barling and Stanton investigate a series or murders that seem to have no connection.

These two main characters need to solve a mystery that keeps the reader hanging until the last couple of chapters. The writing style made it easy to go through, although I'd have loved a bit more intrigue; especially, regarding the Church.

I feel most characters were quite well developed and would find it surprising if a future reader was not able to relate to any of them. With different personalities, each of them has some likeable and other unlikeable features, which makes them real.

The narrator made the listening experience quite enjoyable and gave each character a distinct voice and personality.

I feel I should have read the first two volumes in order to understand the main characters fully.

For fans of Ken Follet (The Pillars of the Earth) and The Name of the Rose by Umberto Ecco.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CuteAsADaisy
  • CuteAsADaisy
  • 21-04-2021

Murder Mystery set in 12th Century

I should start out that I have not read the first two books. This was a good mystery and had a lot of potential, but I do feel it is geared more specifically for an adult male audience and I personally had a hard time connecting to the characters. I think given the right audience this would be a great book. It has a very Orthodox Catholic perspective with the main character needing to save his sole, work through his penance, mentioning homosexual sin - which felt very unnecessary to the mystery and story. The overall plot for the mystery was great and plodded along at a good pace. The narrator does great job with the voices, acting and was engaging. I did turn the pace up to 1.5x speed but that may just be my preference.

—I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for The Curator
  • The Curator
  • 16-01-2021

Series gets better

I love these two! Honestly, while the crimes in all these books are interesting and well plotted, it’s the relationship between Barling and Stanton that really makes them. Each reveals more of themselves in each book while remaining true to the personalities the author has given them. Sometimes it’s funny and then the author blind-sides you with something really quite touching. Can’t wait for more. If you haven’t read the 5th Knight trilogy that introduced Stanton , I’d heartily recommend it.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 10-06-2021

the Canterbury m Murders

The Canterbury Murders by E M Powell good storyline a well read can't wait to get around to his next book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kim Moore
  • Kim Moore
  • 30-04-2021

Really Good

This is a great series of books they have all been engaging and we'll narrated. If you enjoy historical fiction you will love these books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul
  • Paul
  • 27-03-2021

Excellent Book 3

This series is showing legs. The plots and characters have depth and intrigue and the bond between the two leads is growing

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chrissie Ann
  • Chrissie Ann
  • 19-03-2021

Great book

This is my favourite book so far in the series. The interaction between them is getting more real and enhances the story so much. The narrator also adds a great deal to the feel of the book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Campesque
  • Campesque
  • 05-03-2021

A third outing for Barling and Stanton.

This is the third book in this enjoyable series and, for me, the best so far. Being set in Canterbury, the book allowed the author to give us more characters than her previous books in the series, set in a rural village and remote monastery respectively. I was gripped and interested all the way through and eagerly await Barling and Stanton's next adventure. If I'm nitpicking, there are some glaring errors in accuracy. In twelve century Canterbury pilgrims and others would certainly not be lodged in private rooms, and inns would certainly not contain corridors on the upper floors. This came CENTURIES later. Some of the dialogue was also decidedly 21st century. However if you can overlook this it's a cracking good story, very well performed by the narrator.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.