Try free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $25.82

Buy Now for $25.82

Pay using coupon balance (if available) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Nail-biting and atmospheric, the brilliant thriller for fans of Wimmera and The Dry.

One missing girl. No suspects. A town about to ignite.

Quala, a North Queensland sugar town, the 1970s.

Barbara McClymont walks the cane fields searching for Janet, her 16-year-old daughter, who has been missing for weeks. The police have no leads. The people of Quala are divided by dread and distrust. But the sugar crush is underway, and the cane must be burned.

Meanwhile, children dream of a malevolent presence, a schoolteacher yearns to escape and history keeps returning to remind Quala that the past is always present.

As the smoke rises and tensions come to a head, the dark heart of Quala will be revealed, affecting the lives of all those who dwell beyond the cane.

The Cane is an evocative and atmospheric thriller and announces an exciting new voice in Australian crime writing.

©2022 Maryrose Cuskelly (P)2022 Allen & Unwin Pty Ltd

Critic Reviews

"A fine, brave, perceptive writer." (Mark Dapin, journalist and author of Public Enemies)

"A stunning piece of Australian rural noir." (Mark Brandi, best-selling author of Wimmera and The Rip)

More from the same

What listeners say about The Cane

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

A must read for no anyone that is a fan of Jane Harper’s The Dry or Chris Hammer’s Scrublands.

The dual narrators are fantastic.

Throughly enjoyable

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

uninspiring

after reading the synopsis I was looking forward to listening to this book. i found it slow and boring.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Boring

I was waiting for this book to get going but it really didn’t go anywhere. That is, until the very end when everything happened at once. Don’t waste your time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, well narratored

The book brings to light some real and disturbing biases we all have. Thought provoking, informative and a really good story. Couldn't put this book down!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.