Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $22.47

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Robert Harris, David Peace, and Joseph Kanon - a taut, gripping, and darkly menacing novel set in wartime Berlin.

Berlin, 1943. August Schlegel lives in a world full of questions with no easy answers. Why is he being called out on a homicide case when he works in financial crimes? Why did the old Jewish soldier with an Iron Cross shoot the block warden in the eye, then put a bullet through his own head? Why does Schlegel persist with the case when no one cares because the Jews are all being shipped out anyway? And why should Eiko Morgen, wearing the dreaded black uniform of the SS, turn up and say he has been assigned to work with him?

Corpses dressed with fake money, bodies flayed beyond recognition: Are these routine murders committed out of rage, or is someone trying to tell them something?

©2016 Chris Petit (P)2016 Simon & Schuster

What listeners say about The Butchers of Berlin

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not for the Faint Hearted

If you suffer from a weak constitution avoid this book.

Berlin, 1943, is a city of shortages, corruption, witch hunts, air raids and general depravity, where order is at once kept and disrupted by the relentless application of extreme violence. This version of the city supplies the backdrop for a treatment of "noir" that honours the genre's dark, crumbling, uncertain surfaces, its characterisation of an all too flawed detective and its microscopic scrutiny of female morals.

The book is a veritable slaughterhouse of violence. The qualifications for attempting it are in the order of having read and enjoyed David Peace's "Red Riding Quartet". But those with the required constitution might be rewarded with the fascination of difficult detection and the salutary warning of the consequences of history gone wrong.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wilmacan
  • wilmacan
  • 28-05-2021

Very dark; complex

The storyline was both imaginative and horrific. But the book (and audiobook) were also complex and meandering - very little pace. This is a 'marmite' book. That said: the narration was first-class and I will try this author again - hoping that the next book I try, will be a bit lighter and better-paced.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for johnc
  • johnc
  • 29-03-2021

Sorry - Like Wading through Treacle

I managed to get to chapter 20 before stopping this is only the second audio book I have not managed to finish. The plot never really seems to get going and the characters failed to engage, narrator is good. Each to their own but definitely not for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ash
  • Ash
  • 09-01-2021

Problems..but I , dont know where they are

basically a great 14 hour listen but as the other guys have said, its very convoluted and many characters - plots, sub-plots

I like Mr Corduner very much and enjoy his reading, I think he is an excellent actor and hugely talented. Im not sure if this is helpful or not but I felt that AC had a favourite character and that that character was not our main hero. I also felt that it was rushed, there no pauses or breaks or change of pace. It was just a relentless plot driven story and I felt that AC never knew what was coming next - and I think a narrator needs to know, or else suspense cant be built

Its a great story, vicious and incredibly visceral dirty and horrible. It is written is such detail and with even more horror in this world we are in in the novel, that bears thinking about. The Persecution is written and and narrated in brutal honesty and that I think is brilliant from Mr P and Mr C.

I am looking forward to Saskia Reeves despite the terrible customer review

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. Milton
  • C. Milton
  • 20-11-2020

Doesn't hit the mark.

A very long winded and convoluted story, which others may well enjoy. I struggled with the overlong narrative and in places implausible characters and plot line.

This doesn't mean the book is bad it just didn't hit the mark for me.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Craig
  • Craig
  • 11-08-2020

Slightly beyond your imagination....

Story was okay, maybe slightly over the top... but you couldn't put it down.. (stop listening). I have now listened to almost 300 novels on Audible. This had only one error.... lol... See if you can find it, or more. I will be listening to the next instalment though😉

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janey
  • Janey
  • 04-04-2018

Hello, who are you again?

So many people. There’s only so many times you want to skip back to work out who’s who. Still a bit lost tbh. It’s not bad, but I like the basics in place.
Oh, and you know the line about “ I don’t care who dies as long as the dog lives”? Well, a variation on that. Multiple times. Glad to be vegan at times like this.

2 people found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.