Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $31.21

After 2 months, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A chilling debut for fans of Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton, The Binding Song takes you on a trip to Halvergate Prison. If you're lucky, you'll get to leave....

Dr Janet Palmer is the new lead psychologist at HMP Halvergate in a remote, bleak area of Norfolk. At first she was excited by the promotion. Then she starts to see how many secrets are hiding behind the high walls.

A string of inmates have committed suicide, leaving no reasons why, and her predecessor has disappeared - along with his notes. The staff are hostile, the threat of violence is ever present, and there are rumours of an eyeless woman stalking the corridors, punishing the inmates for their sins. Janet is determined to find out what is really going on. But the longer she stays and the deeper she digs, the more uncertain she feels. Halvergate is haunted by something. But it may be a terror worse than ghosts....

©2017 Elodie Harper (P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What listeners say about The Binding Song

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms. Bookworm
  • Ms. Bookworm
  • 12-07-2017

Great story.

Really enjoyed this audio. Excellent narration.
Reminded me of the great Hitchcock stories.
10/10

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andromeda's Twin
  • Andromeda's Twin
  • 09-12-2018

Eerie, eerie, eerie

''The Binding Song'' is extraordinarily astmospheric and hauntingly eerie. It starts off slowly and builds steadily to a screaming crescendo (literally) .

I loved it.

The narrator is quite a good choice for this book, she has a slow and steady way of reading, although her characterisation is not perfect, she does a pretty good job nonetheless.

I would certainly recommend this.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mhairi C.
  • Mhairi C.
  • 03-10-2018

The binding song

Found it hard to get into at the beginning but after the first few pages you will be gripped and you Will not be able to put the book down.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lee
  • Lee
  • 05-01-2018

Okay

Not nail biting, edge of seat stuff but a decent listen with a good narrator.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.