Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $19.75

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Fast paced and suspenseful, The Accident is perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep, Gone Girl, and Sophie Hannah.

A gripping psychological thriller about the deadly secrets your children can keep....

Sue Jackson has the perfect family, but when her teenage daughter, Charlotte, deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.

Retracing her daughter's steps, she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte's diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte's private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter, and she's forced to look further, into the depths of her own past.

Sue will do anything to protect her daughter. But what if she is the reason that Charlotte is in danger?

©2015 C.L. Taylor (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"An enjoyable rollercoaster of a suspense novel with multiple twists." (Daily Mail)
"This dark and creepy book is a must read." (The Sun)
"A thrilling crime debut." (Woman Magazine)
"An ominous atmosphere, a tense tale of past and present colliding, and a narrator whom no-one believes: this book is a delight." (Alex Marwood)
"Utterly compelling. I could not put this gripping, heart-stopping page-turner down." (Rowan Coleman)
"Twisty, dark and utterly compelling." (Lucy Diamond)
"I was gripped from start to finish. Everyone should read this book!" (Lucy Robinson)
"This fast, twisty psychological thriller has suspense on every page!" (Paula Daly)
"Gripping and terrifying." (Julie Cohen)

What listeners say about The Accident

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not the best from this author

Story line was drawn out and ultimately predictable. Hard to get into. Big fan of the author but this one is not great

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

woww

this was so heartbreakingly fantastic. it had me screaming for her to get up and fight..but also gave me an insight into domestic violence but also an understanding. thank you

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Terry
  • Terry
  • 11-05-2016

The yawn yawn accident

Very average , boring storyline . Don't bother downloading . I wish I could think of something nice about the book

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aninie R.
  • Aninie R.
  • 30-05-2015

Twists and turns to the very end

This is the first book I have listened to by C.L.Taylor and I will be going back for more. Very good story line, with twists and turns right to the very end. Very well narrated, with just the right amount of different accents and voices.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MR
  • MR
  • 03-05-2015

tense!!!

loved it, some moments were really frightening, am going read more of her books. great story, great narrator, scary and exciting.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dan
  • Dan
  • 25-04-2018

Thrilling to the very end!

Fantastic listen, edge of the seat stuff. C.L Taylor’s best work to date. Highly recommend.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 30-04-2018

Couldn't switch this off

Very clever and engaging. Listened to it all in one day. Quite a tense thriller

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pooella DeVille
  • Pooella DeVille
  • 14-07-2017

Realistic

Quite unsettling as it was like two of my past relationships rolled into one.
Very well written, powerful and uncomfortable in parts but that was so insightful.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janet
  • Janet
  • 16-05-2016

Amazing

Gripped from start to finish, fast paced thriller! Excellent narration, just bought the next of C L Taylor's books, can't wait to get listening!! One of the best audiobooks I have ever listened to! X

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sophie S
  • Sophie S
  • 29-02-2016

A good all-rounder

Well written and interesting. The plot and s quite predicable but no less enjoyable. Very good narration. I didn't feel bored at any point and always wanted to know more. Highly recommended.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms
  • Ms
  • 12-11-2015

Good read

Very gripping right to the end
A really good book
Can't wait to get into The Lie
Just about to start it now

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachel Redford
  • Rachel Redford
  • 29-07-2015

"Keeping this secret is killing me!"

Any additional comments?

'Keeping this secret is killing me!' - so 15 year-old Charlotte wrote in her diary before she walked in front of a bus, an entry her desperate mother Sue found in the hidden diary whilst Charlotte lies in hospital in a coma. 'The Accident' is in the genre of Gone-Girl-fast-paced psychological thrillers which keep you listening. The trick with these stories is to keep you listening so that you gloss over the ridiculous implausibilities as you hurtle along the Big Dipper of a plot. 'The Accident' succeeds, even if the final scene in hospital is absurd and Sue's past relationship with dream-lover James who turns into your worst nightmare is incredible. But don't stop to think - just go with the twists and turns, the lies and counter-lies, the convolutions of Sue's detective work, the revealed secrets and hidden terrors - and enjoy the tension along the way. Jenny Funnell's narration helps to keep the listener grounded - she gets right inside Sue which increases our sympathy for her and our belief in her. The book has been criticised for the writer's careless writing skills including over-long ill-punctuated sentences and some readers have understandably lost patience with it for this reason. Listening to a professional narration is clearly better than reading!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lucy
  • Lucy
  • 13-02-2016

OK

Any additional comments?

This was not the best book in the world but I'm pretty sure its also not the worst!
Probably more suited to teens than adults.
Nothing crazy special, a time filler.
The story was interesting but could have been better, some parts were captivating and action filled others boring and slow. Perhaps with further development could've been a great book!

I was intrigued enough to listen all the way through though.

4 people found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.