Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $30.38

After 2 months, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

One of Oprah Magazine's 21 Romance Novels That Are Set to Be the Best of 2020

USA Today best-selling author Talia Hibbert returns with another charming romantic comedy about a young woman who agrees to fake date her friend after a video of him 'rescuing' her from their office building goes viral - perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory and Helen Hoang!

Danika Brown knows what she wants: professional success, academic renown and an occasional roll in the hay to relive all that career-driven tension. But romance? Been there, done that, burned the T-shirt. So Dani asks the universe for the perfect friend-with-benefits....

When brooding security guard Zafir Ansari rescues her from a workplace fire drill gone wrong, it's an obvious sign: PhD student Dani and ex-rugby player Zaf are destined to sleep together. But before she can explain that fact, a video of the heroic rescue goes viral. Now half the internet is shipping #DrRugbae - and Zaf is begging Dani to play along.

Dani's plan is simple: fake a relationship in public, seduce Zaf behind the scenes. But grumpy Zaf is secretly a romantic - and he's determined to corrupt Dani's stone-cold realism. With every fake date and midnight meeting, Dani's easy lay becomes more complex than her thesis. Has her wish backfired? 

Or is the universe waiting for her to take a hint?

©2020 Talia Hibbert (P)2020 Hachette Audio UK

Critic Reviews

"Talia Hibbert is a rockstar! Her writing is smart, funny, and sexy." (Meg Cabot)

What listeners say about Take a Hint, Dani Brown

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love Zafir!

Zafir was such a sweetheart with Dani! I loved how much he adored her, and this couple were just SO ADORABLE together. Take a Hint, Dani Brown was so sweet, funny and sexy, Dani & Zafir had some pretty intense chemistry happening.

I'm so glad I listened to the audio, the narrator was fabulous, and she made the story so enjoyable to listen to. I smiled so many times listening to this, especially when Zafir was so grumpy towards others, yet so sweet to his Dani.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. S.
  • M. S.
  • 23-11-2020

An super-cute, adult romance

I listened to this audiobook for the Goodreads 2020 choice awards and am usually not big on romance. However, to my surprise I loved this one.

...though at the beginning I didn’t. At the beginning Dani Brown felt like a walking stereotype of a feminist study major and I seriously didn’t like her. However, throughout the story she actually evolves into a multilayered, complex character, with flaws and growth. Being so annoying, actually made her growth at the end, even more satisfying.

The story is just cute and the fake dating trope didn’t become annoying at any point, because the characters and their interactions felt so real. There is some sex in this book, lots of references to sex and a fair amount of foul language, which I know bothered some readers. However, maybe I have been doing relationships wrong, but to me that particular aspect seemed fairly realistic (other than Zaph’s constant, surprise erections - come on, he is 32, not 16!) and it was never overwhelming to the point where you felt there was only sexual attraction and nothing else. Conversely, once they had had sex, the relationship didn’t become just emotional, which I have read in other romance stories and which always left me with the feeling the protagonists just needed to get it out of their system. Instead, the sex is part of their relationship without defining it, which is how it should be in my mind and part of the reason I really liked the book.

Another part was that there is no mothering! I really hate it when the female lead is promptly shoehorned into the role of replacement mother and the male lead morphs into a wounded little boy in need of constant mothering. Zaph does have emotional hang ups and a past he struggles with, but Dani manages to be supportive and caring without their power dynamic shifting or either being defined by those roles. It is delightful!

The reader was very good and I suspect her of being a fan of the genre herself, as often the delight and happiness at a scene oozed right out of her voice. You wanted to smile with her! (If she isn’t a fan, then she genuinely deserves an Oscar)

So yes, 10/10 from me. If you like romance and don’t mind some sex in the story, then definitely give this one a try!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 20-05-2021

Read it

I read this book last from the series and again was absolutely charmed by Talia Hibbert's style. It was absolutely amazing and although I didn't relate to it as much as the 3rd book in the series I still thoroughly enjoyed it. Zafir is national treasure and makes you want to protect him at all costs because of how adorable and amazing he is. I liked Dani as well and I definitely really enjoyed them as a couple. My top three characters from the series would have to be Red, Zaf and Eve tho. And again I wish Gigi had her own book because she is fabulous and fascinating and I was sad I didn't get to see more of her. I recommend these books to everyone they are light and easy to read but they all discuss heavy topics as well without making the story grim or just using them as plot devices as many other romances do. The books discusse childhood trauma, loss, autism, anxiety, disability and manage to handle the topics with care and without making it feel like just exploiting the issue at hand. I love how these books manage to be uplifting even with the topics it discusses and I'm glad that the characters are so diverse and uniquely themselves. So do yourself a favor and read it

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eurydice
  • Eurydice
  • 08-05-2021

Neurotic overrated female lead

I love Talia Hibberts writing. I started listening to the last novel in the Brown sisters trilogy, Eve & Jacob, and I really thought the characters were well-constructed and believable, and really very funny. They're described as what I'd call high-functionning autistic characters. Jacob's quirks are spot on. His low-self-esteem very believable. They were a cute pair. I found Eve very likeable.

Then I read the Chloe Brown novel. The characters came across as rather superficial. I just couldn't understand why Redford fancied Chloe and wondered if a real life person iike him would, and alas, it made even less sense. There really wasn't anything very likeable about her. And it bothered me that she didn't appear to take much action. Even the barter of website versus "bucket list", didn't take away my impression, that she was taking and taking and not giving much back to the guy. Her health issues didn't make me feel much sympathetic towards her. It worked against the sex scenes. I didn't buy the romance. It came across as unrealistic. I know people who have the health issues Dani has and I just didn't buy the dynamic between these two characters..

Now here's Dani and, hell, is she an overrated drama queen. Terrible. A single rejection and she turns completely neurotic. It didn't come across as real. The male lead however, Zaf, was very credible and likeable and I really found it hard to believe Dani's "kindness" in addition to her great looks, was enough to make him fall. There's a difficult to believe discrepancy between Zaf's deep emotional intelligence, his maturity, his caring and loving nature and Dani's supposed superior intellect (which really isn't much to write home to about when we're given insight into her thought processes regarding Zaf) and self-obsessed, rather egocentric and neurotic lack of maturity. It just doesn't compute. I ended the book wishing Zaf would find a better woman than Dani. Voilà!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ambia
  • Ambia
  • 24-04-2021

Robotic reading, Stories fine

I've realised romance novels aren't for me but it's good if you do like them.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A Reader
  • A Reader
  • 13-02-2021

Okay

The characters were likeable and I loved that it's two non-white characters with strong cultural backgrounds and that those differences weren't the focus of the relationship. No food descriptions for people (chocolate, mocha, etc) and no fetishizing of each other because those novels are exhausting and lazy. (you know yourselves). However, I found the last couple of chapters too angsty. Maybe it's just me but I thought the "conflict" would've been more believable from a YA novel. All in all, I would recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ramya Kirtisinghe
  • Ramya Kirtisinghe
  • 01-02-2021

Utterly adorable

A thoroughly adorable story and enjoyable liaten. I loved how this couple remained so different to the first story and yet shared the same pure connection found in the first book.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.