Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $34.94

After 2 months, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Darwin, Summer, 1963. 

The humidity sat heavy and thick over the town as Senior Constable Ned Potter looked down at a body that had been dragged from the shallow marshland. He didn't need a coroner to tell him this was a bad death. He didn't know then that this was only the first. Or that he was about to risk everything looking for answers.  

Late one night, Charlotte Clark drove the long way home, thinking about how stuck she felt, a 23-year-old housewife, married to a cowboy who wasn't who she thought he was. The days ahead felt suffocating, living in a town where she was supposed to keep herself nice and wait for her husband to get home from the pub. Charlotte stopped the car, stepped out to breathe in the night air and looked out over the water to the tangled mangroves. She never heard a sound before the hand was around her mouth. 

Both Charlotte and Ned are about to learn that the world they live in is full of secrets and that it takes courage to fight for what is right. But there are people who will do anything to protect themselves, and sometimes courage is not enough to keep you safe. 

Still is an evocative, pause-resisting thriller from a brilliant Australian writer. If you loved The Dry and Scrublands, you will love Still.

©2021 Matt Nable (P)2021 Hachette Australia

More from the same

What listeners say about Still

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Slow

Not very enjoyable not a bad story . So slow it was hard to stay with it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating

Hard to get into for the first quarter of the book as the author develops the characters. However, if you persist it becomes a brilliant story that I couldn’t stop listening to as I needed to know how the story ends. Great narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Story

I enjoyed the story, a bit gritty but not over done. The ending was easy but the why was not easy to guess. Narrator was great, well suited to this style of story.
I will definitely be looking for others by this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listening!

I couldn't wait to get back to the book every day to see what had happened! Well done Matt and Johnny.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully written, realistic Australian crime.

Atmospheric and captivating, I enjoyed the pace and the character development and listened at every opportunity until I finished it! Further proof that Aussies write the best crime novels 😊

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms  Moomin
  • Ms Moomin
  • 02-06-2021

Slow-burn mystery

Still is a character-driven mystery in the vein of Jane Harper or Garry Disher, it’s slow and deliberate and the solution to the crime less interesting than the lives of the characters. The 60’s setting jarred a little as it wasn’t apparent apart from through some world events.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.