Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $12.91

Buy Now for $12.91

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

The first book in the most spellbinding new children’s fantasy series of 2019, perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell and Nevermoor

Willow Moss, the youngest and least powerful sister in a family of witches, has a magical ability for finding lost things - like keys, or socks, or wooden teeth. Useful, but not exactly exciting....

Then the most powerful witch in the world of Starfell turns up at Willow’s door and asks for her help. A whole day - last Tuesday to be precise - has gone missing. Completely. And, without it, the whole universe could unravel.

Now Willow holds the fate of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands. Can she save the day - by finding the lost one?

Step into Starfell, a world crackling with warmth, wit and magic.

©2019 Dominique Valente (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"A wonderful book! Packed with fun, inventive magic, and loveable characters." (Michelle Harrison, author of A Pinch of Magic)

"If you’re looking for smart, charming, imaginative fantasy, look no further than Starfell. It’s one of those books that immediately makes you feel right at home." (P. G. Bell, author of The Train to Impossible Places)

"I ADORE THIS BOOK!" (Laura Ellen Anderson, author of the Amelia Fang series)

What listeners say about Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Victoria
  • Victoria
  • 14-02-2020

Amazing and magically beautiful

Magic in the form of a book that taught me you don't have to be extra special to be amazing. There are some books that take you all the way back to the good times of your childhood, the laughter, the joy and the magic; this is one of those books. The writing is easy to follow and flows from page to page, mixed with the beautiful illustrations it brings the story truely to life with every page. Mix Alice in Wonderland and the Spiderwick Chronicles together and you still won't be able to describe how magical this story is, but it gives you an idea.

A good old fashioned villain you want to lose and heroes you cheer on to the very end. A grumpy kobold (not a cat) called Oswin who you love to bits and slightly laugh at with his grumpy moods throughout the adventure, A brilliant magical girl who is worth more than she or anyone else thinks she is called Willow, and or cause Sometimes....who you just want to hug and help. The illustrations of these characters just adds even more to the story, letting you see into the world you are reading.

Inventive, magical, fun, loveable, beautiful and has a dragon (just saying). If you are thinking of reading this beautiful story I would highly recommend you sit down with a good cup of tea and get ready to fall in love with this book.
🐈
Whether you are middle grade and looking for your first book to read be yourself or 25 (like me) and want to go on an adventure; you will throughly love this so much that you may be staring at your calendar waiting for Willow's next adventure to come alive on a bookshelve near you.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-09-2020

Lovely for the younger readers

I picked this up because I loved the books about Morrigan Crow and read the blurb comparing the two series. This is a lovely story, with a cliff hanger at the end of each chapter, perfect for reading aloud to younger children, but definitely not the same age bracket as the Crow books. With that said I still enjoyed the story, though the ending was somewhat abrupt.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 21-05-2020

Review by JB aged 8

This is a really good story because Willow Moss has lots of adventures and she finds lots of friends along the way. It is really mysterious and I hope will enjoy it as well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alice Harper
  • Alice Harper
  • 16-07-2021

Not well written or narrated

It’s an OK story but when there’s so much in the magic/fantasy genre that’s SO well written this just doesn’t come close. The plot is predictable, there is no subtlety in the writing, and the characters are one dimensional. The whole thing is not helped by poor narration with some sentences misunderstood and some words mispronounced.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs Kirsty Paterson
  • Mrs Kirsty Paterson
  • 01-06-2021

great for all ages 😊

I bought this for my 8 year old daughter & I also listened & we both loved it 😃

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for newmum
  • newmum
  • 28-05-2021

COOL COOL 😎

I love this book because of the cloud dragon 🐉 ⚔️⚔️⚔️I listen to this book when I go to sleep 💤

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Annah
  • Annah
  • 27-04-2021

Absolutely fantastic whether you're a kid or not!

A magical and fun adventure that takes you on a whirlwind of emotions! Well worth a read!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for 🌙Jessica🌙
  • 🌙Jessica🌙
  • 20-03-2021

Great!

I loved it! I thought that the narrator was brilliant. The story was brilliant too. 🙂

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.