Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $47.68

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

“Shveta Thakrar's prose is as beautiful as starlight.” (New York Times best-selling author Holly Black)

This gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy.

The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Pretending to be “normal.” But when an accidental flare of her starfire puts her human father in the hospital, Sheetal needs a full star’s help to heal him. A star like her mother, who returned to the sky long ago.

Sheetal’s quest to save her father will take her to a celestial court of shining wonders and dark shadows, where she must take the stage as her family’s champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens — and win, or risk never returning to Earth at all. Brimming with celestial intrigue, this sparkling YA debut is perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Laini Taylor. 

©2020 Shveta Thakrar (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What listeners say about Star Daughter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A wonderful Hindu mythology inspired starry story

I loved this! It had me hooked at the premise of a half human half star main character, the Hindu inspired astrology and beautiful 'stars' were definitely unique and I appreciated the diverse cast of South East Asian characters and a SEA myself. I throughly enjoyed the unique star mythology and lore. The pacing can be slow at times and there is a teen romance, although characters weren't memorable but still enjoyable to read/listen to. Do not expect high fantasy levels of detail into the world building, it's more of a YA contemporary with family dramas into a setting of a starry celestial court.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mat
  • mat
  • 14-08-2020

Everything that makes YA awful and so much more.

Whiney over dramatic main character who throws random tantrums...check. Ridiculous over the top flowery language that only serves to leave you more confused to what is going on..check. Adults who have unrealistic expectations of "normalcy" that they force on the "misunderstood" child...check. Gag inducing unrealistic love interests...check The main character believing that everyone else's needs, wants or desire's are so petty compared to their own and everyone is out to get her, but she doesn't REALLY care because they just don't understand.....check check CHECK. I didn't finish this book, didn't even make it to the 3rd chapter before i started skipping to see if this book ever improves. it doesn't. i will be getting my credit back as soon as i can. This book is worse than trash it is an utter insult to real teen girls everywhere.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kreads1
  • Kreads1
  • 04-09-2020

Brilliant magical coming of age book!

Sheetal is nearing her 17th birthday, this half-star, half-human, is trying to find her place among her peers. The story that unfolds is one of magic, music, and love. Thakrar weaves a beautiful storyline that reads like poetry throughout this lovely coming of age book. Sheetal’s destiny is unique and mesmerizing. Nankani’s narration flows so well with the writing that the story and characters really come to life. I highly recommend this book and recording. There isn’t a thing I feel needs criticism. I am hoping the story of the Star Duaghter May continue.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julia Rios
  • Julia Rios
  • 03-09-2020

Wondrous and uplifting

I was looking forward to this book for ages because I loved the concept of a girl who was a star, but the reality was even better than I had imagined. I loved Sheetal’s journey, her agency, her community, and the way that this story focused on empathy and hope. The starry court was so cool, too! If you want a book that leaves you feeling good, this is a great choice!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela
  • Angela
  • 01-01-2021

Magical and unique

I purchased Star Daughter on Audible and can only praise Soneela’s narration. For me this wonderful book was escapism of the best kind, introducing me to a whole new world of mythology and magic. I was transported to a starry realm, which was not only exquisitely rendered, but also made me think deeply about identity and the strength we sometimes need just to allow us to be ourselves. I highly recommend the audible version of Star Daughter to anyone whom is searching for a magical and unique read!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.