Try free for 2 months

Listen with a 2 month free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45/mo after 2 months. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $31.78

Buy Now for $31.78

Pay using coupon balance (if available) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Spiky, sharp, intriguingly dark and tender, full of pathos, fury and wit, Sorrow and Bliss by Meg Mason is a dazzling, distinctive novel from a boldly talented writer. For fans of Sally Rooney, Taffy Brodesser-Akner and Fleabag.

This novel is about a woman called Martha. She knows there is something wrong with her, but she doesn't know what it is. Her husband Patrick thinks she is fine. He says everyone has something, the thing is just to keep going. 

Martha told Patrick before they got married that she didn't want to have children. He said he didn't mind either way because he has loved her since he was fourteen and making her happy is all that matters, although he does not seem able to do it.

By the time Martha finds out what is wrong, it doesn't really matter anymore. It is too late to get the only thing she has ever wanted. Or maybe it will turn out that you can stop loving someone and start again from nothing—if you can find something else to want. 

The book is set in London and Oxford. It is sad and funny.

©2020 Meg Mason (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

'Sorrow and Bliss is a book you'll want to devour in one sitting...an adult coming-of-age novel told with force, breathlessness and a confessional style that makes you feel as if you're sharing intimacies with an old friend.... Mason's writing has been compared to Phoebe Waller-Bridge's Fleabag for good reason...fresh and revelatory...sharp, racy and entertaining throughout.' (The Saturday Paper)

What listeners say about Sorrow and Bliss

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    408
  • 4 Stars
    117
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    360
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    330
  • 4 Stars
    100
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I was 100% consumed, involved and personally reflective and affected.

Just read Sorry and Bliss in 48hours. It's amazing. Dark, sad, super dry and witty. Incredible dysfunctional characters which are hilariously lovable and genuinely relatable. Written very sparingly, which is clever, observant and so very real. Bravo to Hannah Mason who portrays Martha perfectly. I was 100% consumed, involved and personally reflective and affected.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • MEW
  • 07-10-2020

Oh but this book does go on and on. Ad nauseam

I assume readers of these types of book will have some lingering attachment to mental health. Poor Martha. Poor Patrick. Was she ever taught any logic? How could be endure her behaviour? Picking up after her time after time. No. This would not occur in the normal world. And what would the purpose be of calling her diagnosis x? I simply skipped to the end and found basically I could have read the book in five minutes.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well narrated but a bit depressing

I enjoyed this audiobook, the narrator was especially good. Very well written but overall quite depressing.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Slow and depressing... couldn't finish it

Slow and depressing- couldn't even finish it....don't waste your money unless u like that kind of thing

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Difficult and beautiful

Heartwarming story of love and intergenerational mental health in an artistic British middle class family. Beautiful audio performance.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thought provoking and beautifully narrated.

Loved this book, beautifully narrated and engaging throughout.
Thought provoking and explores mental illness from different perspectives and points of view.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

wonderful

listened to this book at a very difficult time in my life and it hit very close to home. a truly heartbreakingly beautiful story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Rings true, as far as can be known by an outsider.

If you have ever lived with someone thus afflicted, you should "enjoy" it. It sheds a warm and loving light on the misery of mental illness, for those who suffer it, and for those around them who suffer.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Relatable and vulnerable characters

I loved the characters in this book. The writer has perfectly expressed the self reflective fears around love, relationships and families that come from living with mental illness. Beautifully and sensitively read by the narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A gift of a book

I felt in very good hands the moment this story started. Such insight, honesty and rawness. I would listen again and I never do that. Now that I’m finished I am grieving the end of the book.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J E Law
  • J E Law
  • 10-12-2021

Simply sublime

A funny, sad, wonderful story that fills your head and your heart. Despite everything, all I want to do is join this family for Christmas Day. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 14-09-2021

My favourite book ever

Do yourself a favour and buy this book it had me laughing and crying could not stop listening

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.