Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $31.78

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Spiky, sharp, intriguingly dark and tender, full of pathos, fury and wit, Sorrow and Bliss by Meg Mason is a dazzling, distinctive novel from a boldly talented writer. For fans of Sally Rooney, Taffy Brodesser-Akner, and Fleabag.

"Such a good book and so richly warrants the Fleabag reference.... So funny, so devastating, it's really spiky and completely compelling, I absolutely loved it." (Annabel Crabb)

"A triumph. A brutal, hilarious, compassionate triumph." (Alison Bell, The Letdown)

This novel is about a woman called Martha. She knows there is something wrong with her but she doesn't know what it is. Her husband Patrick thinks she is fine. He says everyone has something, the thing is just to keep going.

Martha told Patrick before they got married that she didn't want to have children. He said he didn't mind either way because he has loved her since he was 14 and making her happy is all that matters, although he does not seem able to do it.

By the time Martha finds out what is wrong, it doesn't really matter anymore. It is too late to get the only thing she has ever wanted. Or maybe it will turn out that you can stop loving someone and start again from nothing - if you can find something else to want.

The book is set in London and Oxford. It is sad and funny.

"This is a romance, true, but a real one...as devastating and sharply witty as Phoebe Waller-Bridge's Fleabag." (Books+Publishing)

"Sorrow and Bliss is a book you'll want to devour in one sitting...an adult coming-of-age novel told with force, breathlessness and a confessional style that makes you feel as if you're sharing intimacies with an old friend.... Mason's writing has been compared to Phoebe Waller-Bridge's Fleabag for good reason...fresh and revelatory...sharp, racy and entertaining throughout." (The Saturday Paper)

"Sophisticated and often blackly funny." (Sydney Morning Herald)

"I just adored this book. It's timely and dark and poignant and funny. It was filled with such eviscerating compassion and rage; I couldn't get enough of it. I inhaled it in a single weekend, unable to put it down. Meg Mason is a searing talent." (Kate Leaver, The Friendship Cure

©2020 Meg Mason (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Sorrow and Bliss is a book you'll want to devour in one sitting...an adult coming-of-age novel told with force, breathlessness and a confessional style that makes you feel as if you're sharing intimacies with an old friend.... Mason's writing has been compared to Phoebe Waller-Bridge's Fleabag for good reason...fresh and revelatory...sharp, racy and entertaining throughout." (The Saturday Paper)

What listeners say about Sorrow and Bliss

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • MEW
  • 07-10-2020

Oh but this book does go on and on. Ad nauseam

I assume readers of these types of book will have some lingering attachment to mental health. Poor Martha. Poor Patrick. Was she ever taught any logic? How could be endure her behaviour? Picking up after her time after time. No. This would not occur in the normal world. And what would the purpose be of calling her diagnosis x? I simply skipped to the end and found basically I could have read the book in five minutes.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well narrated but a bit depressing

I enjoyed this audiobook, the narrator was especially good. Very well written but overall quite depressing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I was 100% consumed, involved and personally reflective and affected.

Just read Sorry and Bliss in 48hours. It's amazing. Dark, sad, super dry and witty. Incredible dysfunctional characters which are hilariously lovable and genuinely relatable. Written very sparingly, which is clever, observant and so very real. Bravo to Hannah Mason who portrays Martha perfectly. I was 100% consumed, involved and personally reflective and affected.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A gift of a book

I felt in very good hands the moment this story started. Such insight, honesty and rawness. I would listen again and I never do that. Now that I’m finished I am grieving the end of the book.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.