Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook free.
1 credit/month after trial—to buy any title you like, yours to keep.
Listen all you want to a selection of thousands of Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $16.44

Buy Now for $16.44

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Separated at birth by a desperate nurse who loses a millionaire's son to cot death, twin boys grow up without any knowledge of the other.

Nat Cartwright lives with his middle-class birth parents and grows up to becomes a war hero in the Vietnam War before returning home to run for office in the Republican party.

Fletcher Davenport becomes the only son of the millionaire couple. After graduating from Yale, he builds a reputation as a prolific criminal defence lawyer before he too delves into politics as a Democrat.

Though their lives are entwined, and perfectly mirrored with tragedy and betrayal, neither men meet until one must defend the other for murder. A family saga of fate, political rivalry and extended lost family, perfect for fans of Jeffrey Archer’s other suspense filled thrillers.

Sons of Fortune is narrated by Michael Brandon, most famous for playing James Dempsey in the 1980’s television crime drama, "Dempsey and Makepeace". His extensive theatre career spans Broadway and the West End, where he played Jerry Springer in "Jerry Springer: the Opera" for the National Theatre.

Jeffrey Archer is a bestselling British author and former politician. He was educated at Oxford and went on to become a Member of Parliament, a Member of the House of Lords as well as the deputy chair of the Conservative Party. His political career ended in scandal and he turned to writing, where he has been published in over 250 countries.

He is perhaps most famous for the Clifton Chronicles and his blockbuster Kane and Abel which was number one on the New York Time's Bestseller list and inspired a popular miniseries starring Peter Strauss and Sam Neill.

After he was imprisoned for perjury in 2001, he wrote his highly acclaimed non-fiction series, Prison Diaries - Hell, Purgatory and Heaven - which were inspired by his experiences and loosely structured around Dante's Inferno.

©2021 SAGA Egmont (P)2021 SAGA Egmont

What listeners say about Sons of Fortune

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    95
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Most enjoyable listening

Thoroughly enjoyed this novel. Some parts were predictable but plots were good, well spaced to keep the interest & intrigue. Some surprising emotional segments.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Anticlimactic

I've enjoyed several books by this author. This one is difficult to follow as an audiobook because of its pair of heros. Several times I missed the perspective change from one to the other. I'd have appreciated a greater effort to indicate which character's head I was inhabiting.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

can't believe I continued to listen .

Boring drivel. Archers lost his touch. The dull narration didn't help either. Don't bother. no wonder it was free.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story - brilliantly told.

Starts slowly. Builds into a complex plot. Intriguing and very satisfying to the end. loved it

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Dull and repeatative

A book for men and Americans - hard graft to get through this book, stereotypical in the extreme.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can recommend!!

Really well written, fiction but very real. Listened to this in only a few days. The characters are smart and witty, reads easy but is informative ( as life lessons and politics are involved). The voice of the narrator works perfect for this book.


Thanks audible for including this book in my membership!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An excellent story

I loved this book. Archer weaves another compelling story. I loved how the main characters interacted. The narrator was really difficult to listen to.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

predicable

predictable Jeff Archer book. with twists and turns. flows well. well read not as captivating bad I expect Archer to be.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kevin
  • Kevin
  • 06-01-2022

not sure about this book

this was the first time in all the 30 Archer books I have read where I almost gave up after the first 3 chapters. I found it very hard to understand the different characters. I thought it was his worst book, however in the end I did enjoy it.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Derek Walsh
  • Derek Walsh
  • 04-01-2022

Boring To listen to

As a fan of Jeffery Archer I looked forward to the book… but I had to stop after forcing myself to listen to over 4 hours .., I is a rubbish story from the very start..,
Would not recommend this book….

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracey Hart
  • Tracey Hart
  • 17-12-2021

Terrible Voice

I have read all of Jeffrey’s books and always enjoy them but using audible the voice can make or break a book. I am sure the story teller is a nice man but he really doesn’t have a voice for audible. There needs to be a sharpness to the voice and to build some drama. All very monotone and clearly done to attract the US market. Such a shame.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.