Get Your Free Audiobook

Sons of Blackbird Mountain

Narrated by: Amy Rubinate
Series: A Blackbird Mountain Novel, Book 1
Length: 10 hrs and 6 mins
5.0 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

Non-member price: $42.90

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Two handsome brothers. An age-old Appalachian feud. And a love that may tear the Norgaard family apart.

After the tragic death of her husband, Aven Norgaard is beckoned to give up her life in Norway to become a housekeeper in the rugged hills of 19th century Appalachia. Upon arrival, she finds herself in the home of her late husband’s cousins - three brothers who make a living by brewing hard cider on their 300-acre farm. Yet even as a stranger in a foreign land, Aven has hope to build a new life in this tight-knit family. 

But her unassuming beauty disrupts the bond between the brothers. The youngest two both desire her hand, and Aven is caught in the middle, unsure where - and whether - to offer her affection. While Haakon is bold and passionate, it is Thor who casts the greatest spell upon her. Though deaf, mute, and dependent on hard drink to cope with his silent pain, Thor possesses a sobering strength. 

As autumn ushers in the apple harvest, the rift between Thor and Haakon deepens and Aven faces a choice that risks hearts. Will two brothers’ longing for her quiet spirit tear apart a family? Can she find a tender belonging in this remote, rugged, and unfamiliar world? 

A haunting tale of struggle and redemption, Sons of Blackbird Mountain is a portrait of grace in a world where the broken may find new life through the healing mercy of love. 

“Beloved author Joanne Bischof doesn’t disappoint with her latest beautifully written, heartrending tale....a quick favorite for historical romance readers.” (Elizabeth Byler Younts, author of The Solace of Water)

"Bischof (The Lady and the Lionheart) transports readers to late 19th century Appalachian Virginia in this moving historical romance...With fine historical details and stark prose that fits the story, Bischof skillfully weaves a tale of love and redemption in rough Appalachia.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Christy and Carol Award-winning author Bischof (The Lady and the Lionheart) creates endearing characters and a heartwarming story line in this unforgettable novel about the power of family, love, and the true meaning of home. Fans of Kristy Cambron, Julie Klassen, and Susan Meissner will love this one.” (Library Journal

Sons of Blackbird Mountain is a quiet gem of a historical romance. Refreshingly real and honest in its depiction of flawed but lovable individuals, it introduces characters readers will want to meet again.” (CBA Market magazine)

©2018 Joanne Bischof (P)2018 Thomas Nelson Publishers

What listeners say about Sons of Blackbird Mountain

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A truly spellbinding novel !

As the title says, a spellbinding novel, that possesses a rare gift of fineness in its writing stylle! Beautifully spoken, a superb work in every way

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pandy
  • Pandy
  • 06-05-2019

Most eloquently written book ever!!!

I am so amazed with Joanne Bischof's books. Every time I read one, I cannot wait for the next one. You can tell Ms. Bischof does her research and you feel like you are there in the story as you read it. Definitely a page turner! I could not put it down until I was completely done. I am patiently waiting for book 2, "Daughters of Northern Shore" and I pray she doesn't stop with book 2! Such an amazing story and setting!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vicky
  • Vicky
  • 28-11-2018

Best Birthday Gift Ever!

I have to say Joanne does it again. I just love it when a book becomes an epic series. I can't wait for the next book. I just love that this book came out on my birthday.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Britt98
  • Britt98
  • 29-09-2018

Beautiful Narration for a Beautiful Novel!

I already knew that I loved this book, as I had read it before in its print edition. But, I am so glad that I also purchased the audiobook. The narrator did such a good job with the accents of these characters, from Aven's Irish brogue to the Virginia southern accents of the brothers. I also enjoyed her "narrator" voice as well. The entire feeling of the story was captured perfectly with this audiobook and it is definitely a favorite that I have listened to.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for andi
  • andi
  • 26-05-2019

Sons of Blackbird Mountain

This is the first story I've heard from this author, and I enjoyed the look at life in the post civil war south. Actually, several years post war. You have a young Irish woman, who'd been in the workhouse until a man proposes marriage to her to escape her fate. She spends her married life in Norway, her husband's homeland for four years until he is unable to escape the demons of drink and hangs himself. Now she is newly arrived at his family in America's farm to help his aunt raise the three lads. The three lads turn out to be grown men, the aunt has passed away and the farm is full of beautiful apple orchards used for manufacturing the best liquor around. They employ and house former slaves to work in the orchards to the annoyance of their staunchly southern neighbors that just happen to like white sheets for things other than covering their beds at night. This story takes and develops many of the relationships of these people. Brother to brother, brothers to widowed cousin, neighbors to employees, and neighbors to neighbors. You also get a peek at the world of the deaf and the ideas of treatments at the time. It is a story about second chances, forgiveness, hope and family relations, and a bit of romance to keep you interested.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patiotoole
  • Patiotoole
  • 11-07-2018

Beautiful & Resonating

What an incredible read. I don’t know how to describe the beauty of this book — the world, the characters, the joy and the sorrows, the struggles, challenges and triumphs. The bond of brothers even as each one is so unique from the other. The women who care for them and the women whom they love. Thor and Aven grabbed my heart and squeezed it tight and I am thrilled to find that there will be more from Blackbird Mountain yet to come. The audio narration was also wonderful.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for clairrr
  • clairrr
  • 15-12-2019

Enjoyed it

Very sweet story with all of the trappings of period romance I enjoy. Got weirdly religious at the end.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandy
  • Sandy
  • 05-10-2019

A bit boring

Sorry not really into all the biblical romance stuff. We get it, it’s a Christian romance but every other phrase? A bit over the top.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah
  • Sarah
  • 21-09-2019

Amazing!

This is one of my top ten favorite historical fiction novels. It rocked my world!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 24-07-2019

Sweet Life....

Wonderfully written, calming, enjoyable summer read. In the end a hopeful book about life during a time not so long ago. But long enough that hope seems unattainable in our present similar time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan P
  • Susan P
  • 18-06-2019

Oh.My.Word!!

Why did this stay on my TBR pile so long?? I loved this story about 3 brothers and their life on Blackbird Mountain. Then comes Aven, the wife of a cousin that died. And then there is Thor {sigh!}. The narrator does an excellent job with Aven's Irish accent. Just listen to the book! We have already started on the 2nd book!!