Get Your Free Audiobook

Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen

Six Tudor Queens, Book 3
Narrated by: Rose Akroyd
Length: 18 hrs and 29 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (24 ratings)
Non-member price: $39.02
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Alison Weir, historian and author of the Sunday Times best sellers Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen and Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession, draws a finely detailed and enthralling portrait of Jane Seymour, Henry VIII's third queen. Essential listening for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick. 

The woman haunted by the fate of her predecessor. Eleven days after the death of Anne Boleyn, Jane is dressing for her wedding to the King. She has witnessed at firsthand how courtly play can quickly turn to danger and knows she must bear a son...or face ruin. This new Queen must therefore step out from the shadows cast by Katherine and Anne - in doing so, can she expose a gentler side to the brutal King? 

Acclaimed, best-selling historian Alison Weir draws on new research for her captivating novel, which paints a compelling portrait of Jane and casts fresh light on both traditional and modern perceptions of her. Jane was driven by the strength of her faith and a belief that she might do some good in a wicked world. History tells us how she died. This spellbinding novel explores the life she lived. 

©2018 Alison Weir (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Limited

Critic Reviews

Praise for the Six Tudor Queens series: "Alison Weir's wonderfully detailed novel offers a spellbinding solution to the mystery of Anne's true nature.... Enthralling." (Sarah Gristwood)
"A triumph of fine detail and research and offers a complex depiction of an endlessly fascinating woman." (Elizabeth Fremantle)

"Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life." (The Guardian)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

This was a great story but I wasn’t expecting that end. Sad really
Can’t wait for the next one

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Like listening to the previous two rolled into one

A bit boring if you've listened to the first two volumes about Katherine of Aragon and Anne Boleyn.
Very repetitive.
In all the books but especially this one, the characters are a bit two dimensional. This isn't helped by the narration which is especially poor for the male characters.
One could skip this book in the series and not miss anything.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars

Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour. ..

Very good. An interesting take on Jane, there was a rel logic to her character. Narration was also very good.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the insights

A very engaging story that brings Jane Seymour, her personality, and the vibrant politics of her time to life.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carissa
  • 03-01-2019

Great

Alison Weir does the fiction based on fact extremely well. Rose Akroyd did a great job. Looking forward to listening to the other books in the series

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ama
  • 01-06-2018

The silent queen speaks!!

It’s easy to think we know all these is to know about the 3rd queen Jane Seymour, that she was the pale quiet antidote to the firey passionate intoxicating Anne Boleyn, but in this lovely story we see the character emerge from that characterisation.

We see a principled, kind and loyal person, one who didn’t just exist as a foil for more dramatic people.

I came to adore the character and the end... oh my dear by the end I felt genuine sorrow.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Julia E. Hallmann
  • 21-06-2018

Brilliant and moving.

You feel close to Jane, will her to succeed. The end is very emotional. Beautiful.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Caroline Barnes
  • 20-06-2018

An enjoyable listen.

Really enjoyed listening to this book. Well written the narrator was easy to listen too. Was relieved that there had been a change of narrator (the narrator of the book about Anne Boleyn by the same author grated on me for some reason )
Definitely recommend.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-06-2018

another gripping story

Another triumph . The story of Jane Seymour is tragic but told brilliantly. Can't wait for the next book

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • hmt62
  • 04-06-2018

Interesting perspective - strange narration

This novel was a different and interesting perspective on Jane Seymour who often is portrayed as a rather spineless character. Given what is known about her brothers, it’s very plausible that she had ambition and opinions of her own!
The narrative was spoiled for me by inconsistent sound levels for different characters in the story. Every time Anne Boleyn spoke, her voice was louder than the main narrative. On the whole, I prefer narrators not to attempt too many different voice tones. They are seldom wonderful. These are books, not radio dramas!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Erin P.
  • 15-05-2018

Rich and emotional

I absolutely loved this book. The story tells the story of a rather unknown Queen. Although Jane did give Henry his much desired Prince, her early death usually means we do not hear much about her. Alison Weir gives a rich and detailed account of what life in Tudor court could have been and really makes you feel connected to Jane. You also see a softer side of Henry between his foul and contradictory moods.
I disagree with the previous reviews about the narration, I quite liked Rose Akroyd and felt she really shone as Jane. She has a sweet and simple voice, which I think reflected very well with the tone of this book.
I really look forward to the next book as I have always been fascinated with Anne of Cleves and I know Alison Weir will do her justice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kathryn Knight
  • 06-05-2018

brilliant

Very good book. loved every minute. Very sad ending for Jane as we know. Good performance from narrator.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anon
  • 14-11-2018

Bewitching!

I cannot wait for the next 3, so that we have all the six queens. Brings history to life. I know its based on fact and of course, there will be fiction attached to make it work, but my god it works! I absolutely love these and feel transported to the Tudor Court and the struggles of each Queen to survive the tormented and power driven King. This is my current favourite (as we still have 3 to go) Jane Seymour; no longer a door mat! Highly recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Andrew
  • 21-10-2018

What a read!!!

How different England would have been if Queen Jane would have lived longer. The end made me feel extremely sad. Great writing and a great Queen. God save the Queen.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Maryb
  • 23-09-2018

Different

I am so used to Jane Seymour depicted as a mousy biddable character. She wasn't! This story gives a new angle showing she was just as ambitious as Ann Boleyn. In fact she played a huge part in Ann's downfall. i enjoyed the story but didn't like the narrator's different accents. It actually spoiled the book for me.