Get Your Free Audiobook

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

Six Tudor Queens, Book 2
Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
Series: Six Tudor Queens, Book 2
Length: 21 hrs and 15 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
5 out of 5 stars (50 ratings)

Non-member price: $39.02

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by best-selling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential listening for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

The young woman who changed the course of history.

Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love.

But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game.

Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown - and the crown is what she seeks. At any price.

Anne Boleyn. The second of Henry's Queens. Her story.

History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived.

Six Tudor Queens. Six novels. Six years.

©2017 Alison Weir (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life." The Guardian)

What listeners say about Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great account of history

Really enjoyed this audio book would definitely recommend. Lovely to hear history put into a story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Anne Boleyn - what a life !

I have read many accounts of Anne Boleyn’s life and this one is the absolute best.
Alison Weir has woven a fabulous mosaic, wonderfully narrated by the very talented Anna Bentinck.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Loved the book and thought The narrator was amazing love to voices for the actors

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Horrible

Badly read badly written

I could bet to listen - wish I hadn’t bought it

In a word it was trite

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mari gordon
  • mari gordon
  • 15-05-2018

Well written, terribly read.

If you're familiar with Weir you'll know what to expext: the writing's ok, especially if you're into Tudor tales anyway.
However, the reading is awful, with pantomime-style voices and no interpretation of the writing at all.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 30-09-2017

Wonderful fresh telling

Very interesting to to have Anne approached in a way that contrasts the many other novels of her life.
Alison Weir has long been my favourite author of historical fiction, and I have enjoyed the first two books in the 6 wives series almost as much as innocent traitor, which I still believe to be her finest work.
I enjoyed the performance of Anna Bentinck, but the version I listened to needs editing, there are several mistakes and even a double take of the same initially mispronounced sentence.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-08-2020

Amazing

An amazing book. From start to end it gripped me into hearing more. The ending of book is something that will stick with you for a while so bare that in mind.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lee
  • Lee
  • 23-05-2020

Anne Boleyn much maligned ..,

Well written and well read.

Poor Anne Boleyn falsely accused of adultery and incest.

Alison Weir mixes fact and fiction together into a tale which kept me entertained while I did mundane tasks during lock down.

Did Anne deserve her fate? Or was she just an insecure pawn? Personally I think she was a pawn used by both her family and the king. A sad ending.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Student of Japanese
  • Student of Japanese
  • 19-05-2020

Brilliant

Brilliant telling where Anne is humanised, and the listener can empathise, but she not always likeable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laura
  • Laura
  • 04-03-2020

a piece of history brought to life

This book gives a nice insight to Tudor life at court. I liked how Anne Boleyn is portrayed. Beautifully read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jeanette l.
  • jeanette l.
  • 12-01-2020

What a interesting read (listen)

Never been into reading books but listening like this has been a real treat. Alison weir beautiful written and was never bored. Anna bentinck who narrated wonderful job.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-01-2020

An easy read

It’s a good enough book to pass the time but I was not overly impressed. While it’s as historically accurate as possible the book lacks the drama someone might look in a book like this.

The characters are very one dimensional and most of the time there’s no purpose behind what they do. We barely see any of the Boleyn family, Katherine’s story is also passed through very quickly and there’s no build behind Anne’s reasoning in why she wants to become a queen.

In regards to the way the audiobook was acted, I’m sure the actress reading it did her best but Anne was well in her thirties but her voice sounded like she was 12. That threw me off quite a bit.

Again, a good read to pass the time but nothing too impressive.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mike Seabourne
  • Mike Seabourne
  • 07-01-2020

Narration even worse than last..

Really enjoyed the first book which was only let down by the narrator, this time the narrator was even worse and I would have given up very early on if I hadn’t been so very interested to meet Alison Weir’s version of Anne is it is like Katherine very different to mine and indeed anybody else’s I have ever read.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kerry
  • kerry
  • 07-12-2019

Good story

Interesting take on the typical story of Anne Boleyn. Has some issues with referring to women as him and vis versa which is annoying and ruins the flow of the narration. Looking forward to what the rest of the series has to offer.