Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $27.79

Buy Now for $27.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Signs of Life 

Rogan Sneed...Portland’s worst nightmare. 

High school teacher Tyson Cooper is just dismissing his class when a student flashes his phone. "Another shooting, Mr. C."

And this one is too close to home. Tyson races to Pioneer Square...but he's too late. The light of his life has been snuffed out - and so has his faith.

Veteran Portland PD Investigator Wayne Deetz, two years shy of retirement, is charged with leading the interrogations. When he meets 19-year-old shooter Rogan Sneed face-to-face, his life is changed eternally.

Will Tyson settle for anything less than the death penalty in the case against Rogan Sneed? He's bent on justice and will do anything to make Rogan pay for the pain he inflicted on himself and the city of Portland that rainy, haunting May day. 

With tension in every scene, Amazon number-one best-selling author Creston Mapes demonstrates why he is a "top pick" among mystery, fiction, and thriller lovers. Fans of Frank Peretti, Terri Blackstock, Ted Dekker, Joel Rosenberg, Lynette Eason, Susan Sleeman, Colleen Coble, and Christy Barritt will love this thriller from award-winning and best-selling author Creston Mapes. 

Praise for Signs of Life

“Signs of Life by Creston Mapes plunges the reader into the middle of an all-too-familiar mass shooting scenario. What makes this novel different is the protagonist’s very real issue of a right or wrong response. The multi-layered characters and all too real situations made this a novel I couldn’t put down!” (Colleen Coble, USA Today best-selling author)

“Another tightly penned thrill-ride from a master storyteller!” (Award-winning author Carrie Stuart Parks)

“What a page-turner! Think Jodi Picoult with redemption. Mapes creatively deconstructs a tragic tale - one we’re all too familiar with - in a personal and relevant way, with a good dose of hope.” (Melody Carlson, author of Perfect Alibi and No One to Trust)

About the author   

Creston Mapes grew up in Northeast Ohio, where he has fond memories of living with his family of five in the upstairs' portion of his dad's early American furniture store - The Weathervane Shop. Creston was not a good student, but the one natural talent he possessed was writing.

He set type by hand and cranked out his own neighborhood newspaper as a kid, then went on to graduate with a degree in journalism from Bowling Green State University. Creston was a newspaper reporter and photographer in Ohio and Florida, then moved to Atlanta, Georgia, for a job as a creative copywriter for a printing firm/ad agency.

Creston served for a stint as a creative director, but quickly learned he was not cut out for management. He went out on his own as a freelance writer in 1991 and did work for Chick-fil-A, Coca-Cola, The Weather Channel, Oracle, ABC-TV, Johnson Controls, TNT Sports, colleges and universities, ad agencies, and more. He's ghost-written more than 10 nonfiction books.

Along the way, Creston has written 10 contemporary thrillers, achieved Amazon best seller status, and had one of his novels (Nobody) optioned as a major motion picture. He plans to continue writing fiction into the sunset.

Creston married his fourth grade sweetheart, Patty, and they have four amazing kids who range from 21 to 31 years old. Creston loves his part-time job as an usher at local venues were he gets to see all the latest-greatest concerts and sporting events. He enjoys reading, fishing, time with his family, and dates with his wife.

©2019 Creston Mapes Inc (P)2019 Creston Mapes Inc.

What listeners say about Signs of Life

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cy
  • cy
  • 05-10-2020

Another great one

I love Creston's books. They have depth, twists and turns and NO profanity. Christian fiction

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tamra Gillette
  • Tamra Gillette
  • 13-02-2020

Poignant and Thought-Provoking

This story takes a profound look at the impacts of an unexpected, unfair tragedy and provides an interesting commentary on grief and mourning as the main characters seek peace after a major event. The narration is presented in a though-provoking manner that enhances the book’s message. Not a “fun” book, but a meaningful one that is well worth the listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Smartshopper
  • Smartshopper
  • 31-07-2021

Breathing sounds bothersome

I started noticing a quick asthmatic sounding breath at intervals and I couldn’t quit noticing it. Tried not to but distracting for me. The story itself and the narrator was great.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bebe
  • Bebe
  • 28-06-2021

Avoid audible

Good story. Poor narration. Almost had to give it up and go to print version to finish. Suspenseful, clean, believable and relevant storyline but narration ruined it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 30-07-2020

Excellent Read

A great story that was narrated well. The author dealt with some tough issues and kept me wanting to read 'just one more chapter.' Thank you Creston Mapes for another terrific book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Virginia Jones
  • Virginia Jones
  • 17-12-2019

Time to beware

A story that is very familiar because it just seems to keep happening. Mass shootings are so tragic and really so senseless. I think this story was told with sensitivity and true to life. I recommend this book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trevor Crawford
  • Trevor Crawford
  • 12-09-2019

Into the depths of human emotion

Mapes once again digs deep into the substance of human emotions while masterfully weaving a story of hope and redemption in the aftermath of a mass shooting. On one side we see Tyson Cooper thrown to the depths of sorrow and despair when confronted with the senseless mass shooting and death of his wife. This sorrow quickly reverts to thoughts of revenge and retaliation. Then a coworker, who has the same reasons to equally be bitter and hateful, confronts Tyson’s emotions with joy, peace and hope. This hurdles Tyson headlong into a journey to find himself and see if he can restore his true joy in life. In a parallel timeline, investigator Wayne Dietz is coming to the end of his storied career.

While Dietz comes face to face with mass shooter Rogan Sneed, he also needs to come face to face with the realities of aging, failing health and whether or not he’s able to do the job he’s excelled at for years. He’ll be confronted with a newfound joy and hope in the unlikely character of his son. Both Dietz and Cooper have decisions to make.

Will they succumb to the feelings of helplessness, despair and anxiety or will they choose to fight those negative emotions and reach out to the hope each one of them is offered. Characters are well developed and relatable as the storyline lures you in to its frantic finish that has become one of Mapes’ signature. Don’t miss this one!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Scott W. Campbell
  • Scott W. Campbell
  • 27-08-2019

Great book about tracking down a mass shooter

Not a huge fan of audiobooks I would preferred to read them myself but this was a really good book and had a lot of suspense building up to the final manhunt.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cindy Gothier
  • Cindy Gothier
  • 26-08-2019

CRESTON MAYES GREAT BOOK

Creston Mapes was a great book and I'm not much of a book person, I couldn't put this book down. it was easy to listen to and to follow the narration by Drew Bott was crisp and clear exceptional narration. I gave this 5 stars because Creston Mapes is a must listen to book for anyone

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Harley
  • Harley
  • 18-08-2019

A great novel for today's times! Hits home.

Another great novel by Creston Mapes. Ever since Dark Star, he has been one of my go to authors for fiction. Its a story that hits home for a lot of people, myself included.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.