Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $47.68

Buy Now for $47.68

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Avatar: The Last Airbender meets Gladiator in the first book in this epic fantasy duology in which two warriors must decide where their loyalties lie as an ancient war between immortals threatens humanity - from Sara Raasch, the New York Times best-selling author of the Snow Like Ashes series, and Kristen Simmons, acclaimed author of Pacifica and The Deceivers. Perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes, And I Darken, and The Winner's Curse

Ash is descended from a long line of gladiators, and she knows the brutal nature of war firsthand. But after her mother dies in an arena, she vows to avenge her by overthrowing her fire god, whose temper has stripped her country of its resources. 

Madoc grew up fighting on the streets to pay his family's taxes. But he hides a dangerous secret: he doesn't have the earth god's powers like his opponents. His elemental gift is something else - something that hasn’t been seen in centuries. 

When an attempted revenge plot goes dangerously wrong, Ash inadvertently throws the fire and earth gods into a conflict that can only be settled by deadly, lavish gladiator games, throwing Madoc in Ash's path. She realizes that his powers are the weapon her rebellion needs - but Madoc won't jeopardize his family, regardless of how intrigued he is by the beautiful warrior. 

But when the gods force Madoc's hand, he and Ash uncover an ancient war that will threaten more than one immortal - it will unravel the world. 

©2020 Sara Raasch and Kristen Simmons (P)2020 Balzer + Bray

What listeners say about Set Fire to the Gods

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susi
  • Susi
  • 12-03-2021

two thumbs up

I love character driven stories. this one had you connecting with the characters, and I liked the work up to the romantic part. I hate books where theres no chemistry or they jump to I'll die without you after knowing them all of a week in a high stress situation. this is not one of those, and its totally acceptable for younger teen audience. I wish I could find more like it!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rina
  • Rina
  • 04-03-2021

like listening to a movie

The fights were so descriptive and the world so immersive! I loved the difference between the two MCs, especially the 'big guy with a big heart' trope. The romance was light but present, and the two MCs were cute together. The fight scenes and fantasy politics definitely was what kept my attention.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vanessa Toole
  • Vanessa Toole
  • 29-08-2021

very nice

had a slow start to it at first but now that I'm done, i want to know how it all ends

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lora C.
  • Lora C.
  • 15-08-2021

Wow!

This book was amazing! I heard about the second book, Rise Up, and it sounded good but I thought I should read the first before I started Rise Ip. Well, I am so glad I did! Take a listen, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-08-2021

Good listen

The description of "Avatar last air bender meets Gladiator" is very accurate. Will be listening to next book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Megan Dann
  • Megan Dann
  • 29-07-2021

Actually Pretty Good!

I didn't like the cliche dialogue at times or how the main character knows she's a main character. This happens often with "strong" and "resilient" and "flawless" female protagonists. I'd love to see main characters who are more realistic in their personalities instead of the cringey heroine. I liked the story though!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for bookishcharli
  • bookishcharli
  • 16-04-2021

Couldn’t get into it

I wanted to love this book, but I just couldn’t get into it and I had no interest in any part of the story at all.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 30-12-2020

Fantastic experience

Absolutely wonderfully read and fantastically written, I felt every blow in that arena and every spectacular display of power like I was right there in the thick of the action. I found these characters so believable and endearing that they hooked me from the very beginning and the relationships built between Madoc, Ash and the rest of the cast are so well fleshed out they feel real. The world building was immersive and rich and I honestly really loved this story, would recommend it in a heartbeat!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.