Regular price: $34.34

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

William de Worde is the accidental editor of Discworld's first newspaper. Now he must cope with the traditional perils of a journalist's life - people who want him dead, a recovering vampire with a suicidal fascination for flash photography, some more people who want him dead in a different way and, worst of all, the man who keeps begging him to publish pictures of his humorously shaped potatoes.William just wants to get to the truth. Unfortunately, everyone else wants to get at William. And it's only the third edition...

This is the 25th volume in the Discworld series.

©2000 Terry and Lyn Pratchett (P)2000 Isis Publishing Ltd.

Critic Reviews

"Pratchett's brand of humor has intelligence and satiric relevance...he has much to say about the world." (Publishers Weekly)
"Unadulterated fun...Witty, frequently hilarious." (San Francisco Chronicle)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You want the Truth? I will give you the Truth.

I liked this book in all it's glory. I had alot of fun listening to this, passing the time while travelling around the country for work. I found that I was well submersed in the story and saved me from falling asleep at the wheel.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story

Great idea about what is true in the newspapers. As always, Pratchett makes you think! Fantastic narrator too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Meg
  • 24-09-2016

The perfect rendition

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I would definitely recommend this audiobook to a friend! Firstly, Terry Pratchett is amazing & I'd recommend any of his Discworld series to a friend as it was. This book in particular, though, covers themes we can all relate to - integrity in media & high society privilege gone wrong (a theme which I think must have been close to Pratchett's heart, since he covered it in a lot of other installments of his Discworld series - in particular, those featuring the Night Watch). Secondly, the characters are beautifully rendered, with Stephen Brigg's tone pairing beautifully with the tone of Pratchett's narration. Thirdly, it's just a wonderful ride of a novel - it hits all the right notes with the plot, with characteristic Pratchett humour & witticisms and a cast of characters to enchant, amuse & beguile you throughout the novel. I've listened to it at least 3 times through already.

What did you like best about this story?

This is Terry Pratchett at his best - the witticisms were right on point, the humour wonderfully paced, the tender moments were handled with care & a sense of captivating drama was woven so well throughout the performance that it was difficulty itself to turn it off. The renditions of Mr. Tulip, Mr. Pin, Otto & Death were perfect (endearingly so - these are some of my favourite characters in the whole canon & it was a joy to hear them voiced so well).

What about Stephen Briggs’s performance did you like?

He has a beautiful breadth of range, which both lends tenderness to poignant moments without dropping the listener & highlights the humour of Pratchett's work wonderfully, matching him phrase for phrase in tone. His renditions of the characters are brilliant & a joy to listen to. In short, he's just what a voice actor ought to be for an audiobook - he brings the book to life without the hindrance that can come from a more amateur performer's touch.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

The truth shall make ye frep!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rob van Geloven
  • 04-01-2018

Good story, bad audio quality

Bad audio quality puts a bit of a damper on it all. Stephen Briggs is a good voice actor, but the low audio quality combined with varying levels of volume makes it hard to understand sometimes when driving

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Martin
  • 19-04-2008

Pratchett in top form

I am a fan of Terry Pratchett novels and am amazed at how prolific he is while maintaining the quality of his output. This is one of his better recent efforts. Pratchett's books always have one or two inspired comic ideas and this one is no exception. It is worth reading for the vampire photographer with flash-photography issues alone. Well worth a listen if you like quirky humour in the vein of Douglas Adams and Robert Rankin.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • nicole
  • 26-08-2013

In the unlikely event you've never read Pratchett

I wasn't going to review Terry Pratchett's Discworld books, simply because he is such a well known author that everyone already knows that this book, like all the Discworld books, will be funny, imaginative and have everything you want in it to keep you coming back and re-reading year after year. Most Audible listeners also know that all the main narrators that read Pratchett's books (Stephen Briggs, Nigel Planer and Tony Robinson) are all amazing, bringing the book and it's characters to life in a way that earns their five star reviews.

If you are actually a new listener on the other-hand this might really help.

Firstly despite the order they were written in my suggestion would be to start with the guards series. Pratchett has developed a complicated world with several in jokes and this is an easy way to enter it, as the books introduce the reader to the main city from which much of the action takes place. The guards series is arguably one of the most popular and after the first book has a strong cast of both male and female characters. I should warn that some of the other series' books are set before the events in the Watch novels but I still found this the most accessible way, into this vast fictional world.

The order of the guards books are Guards Guards, Men at Arms, Feet Of Clay, Jingo, The Fifth Elephant, Night watch, Thud and Snuff (there are also spin off books that are mentioned in the series). From there you can either start reading the witches novels if you prefer female leads, Rincewind if you prefer male or stay in the city with some of what are often refer to as the `industrial' novels like The Truth, Going Postal and Making Money. Guides to reading order can easily be found on the net if you don't want to go by publication date.

I would also think twice before buying the abridged versions. Tony Robinson as a narrator is brilliant but so are the other narrators and a lot of the plot and humor is cut to fit so much into such a short time. I've listened to most of them and I'd personally go with unabridged every time.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kerry J
  • 07-04-2013

Great Discworld story

Another great story of the discworld. I've read them all, and am working through the audio books during long journeys. Love Pratchett's work and after the older Tony Robinson ones this is my favourite narrator.



The Guards stories are my preference and this is a great one. Would recommend the story to those new to or totally familiar with the Discworld

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Michael
  • 07-04-2011

***ing brilliant

Mt Tulip and Mr Pin, The New Firm, Millenium Hand and Shrimp I told 'em! Now my favouite Discworld book.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Michael. R
  • 19-04-2010

the truth

one of the best books from sir terry pratchett colection of the disk world stories

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Natalia
  • 21-03-2013

Great read

Good story, read well as always. Besides its criminal detective element, content is also educational about news making in a funny and lighthearted way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rhiannon
  • 12-04-2013

Terry at his best!

I love this novel! Terry introduces William Deworda, and the start of the press in . the usual mix of lord vetinary, the watch and the wizards, trolls and Dwarfs. I love the use of the vampire as an iconographer. it is like coming home to your family, to be able keep up with the chacters as they grow throughout the series. this one of my favorites and I own them all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Darthenia
  • 27-05-2018

poor editing again

old cassette tapes converted to audible-book need to be edited properly!! too many bad cuts!!
pratchett is as ever a God in his work, the story flawless, briggs' narration 9/10 for some erroneous pronunciation but great voices and atmosphere.
audible / amazon is really letting down these wonderful books with fuzzy voices, clipped off words, half removed "end of cassette 6" messages.
please please release better quality pratchett books! !!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Andrew
  • 26-03-2018

the truth will make you fret.

First got this book as an abridged audio CD set, but after I started using audible got the full version.

Terry Pratchett's discworld series is on the best group of books I own. Though normally, I am of the stance that "if it isn't vimes, then I won't bother", this changed my mind and opened up the whole series for me.

Loved this book, was a fun ride from start to finish.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-03-2018

Definitely a must listen

Still an outstanding story, it takes on new meaning in 2018's world of fake news