Regular price: $31.21

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher will revel in this fiery tale of magic, mayhem and modern-day mythology.

Behind every myth there is a spark of truth....

There's nothing special about Ben Garston.

Or so he'd have you believe. He won't tell you, for instance, that he's also known as Red Ben. Or that the world of myth and legend is more real than you think.

Because it's his job to keep all that a secret.

But now a centuries-old rivalry has resurfaced, and the delicate balance between his world and ours is about to be shattered.

Something is hiding in the heart of the city - and it's about to be unleashed.

The Ben Garston novels:

Chasing Embers

Raising Fire

Burning Ashes (coming 2018)

©2016 James Bennett (P)2016 Little Brown

Critic Reviews

"A thrilling fusion of myth and modernity." (Kevin Hearne, author of the Iron Druid Chronicles)
"Blending together the best of action, adventure and urban fantasy.... Chasing Embers is one of my highlights!" ( The Eloquent Page)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well written, enjoyable story

This is a beautifully written story, with well developed, nuanced characters. I really enjoyed it.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Steelgator
  • 21-09-2016

Different take on Dragons.

I found this very enjoyable. This is an excellent listen. If you like tales of old gods and dragons in a modern setting then grab this one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • joan
  • 19-09-2016

Not just a Dragon

I knew nothing of this book or this author when I bought the audiobook. It appeared to be his very first novel, and there were no ratings and no reviews. Still, I liked the story description, the narrator's clip, and the cover art, so I took a chance. So glad I did!

What a nice surprise it was when I discovered that the novel was professional and polished in storyline and complexity, complete with several different countries, time periods, characters, points of view, and subjects, including loneliness, love, trust, revenge, hope, order and chaos, magic, and supernatural or magical creatures. I noticed when Bennett subtly peppered the story with descriptive language fit for a dragon: ash, flame, smoke, claw, etc.

I'm guessing (hoping?) that there will be more!

I'm American, but love my Audiobooks to have a little UK bite and humor, and my narrator too have a matching UK accent. Colin Mace generally did an amazing job with tone, pace, accents and genders. Bril!

I highly recommend. Enjoy!



1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • G. J. Krupa
  • 05-10-2016

Entertaining but maudlin

I enjoyed the premise of the story and the (very expansive) world created to contain it but can't help thinking the story could have been told in half the time. Having a certain level of introspection is one of the great things that sets books apart from films but this work takes it to extremes and, along with Gartston's overwhelmingly poetic, morose and morbid bent, makes the whole experience seem to just drag on (pun intended). It sort of reminds me of American Gods (which I'll admit I didn't enjoy) but trying too hard. I'd like to hear more from this series but only with a significant change of pace.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Verity
  • 03-11-2016

Disappointingly verbose

The ideas behind this book were really fun but it was nearly ruined by dragging description of EVERYTHING. You could cut half the words out of the book and you'd have a fun read/listen.

Unfortunately the narrator was also poor; it seemed as though hey were trying to make each sentence sound even more dramatic than the last which, frankly, got a bit wearing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Daniel
  • 05-10-2016

Good

Good story, nice reading all and all a decent way to spend a credit if you like urban fantasy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sue
  • 03-10-2016

Brilliant Fantasy

A wonderful fresh approach to the epic dragon genre! I look forward to James Bennett's next offering!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-11-2016

one too many danger safe for me

It isn't a convoluted plot but it is a bit danger safe danger safe. I played it a few times but I just didn't like it and can't really say why. I won't listen to it again unlike the john conroe. butcher. or faith hunter books so it's going back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful