Get Your Free Audiobook

River of Souls

Narrated by: Charlotte Strevens
Series: Alice Quentin, Book 4
Length: 9 hrs and 34 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (22 ratings)

Non-member price: $28.09

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Getting inside the mind of a killer isn't for the faint of heart....

A cold case and a series of drownings present forensic psychologist Alice Quentin with a terrifying mystery in an audiobook perfect for fans of Nicci French.

Jude Shelley, the daughter of a prominent cabinet minister, was assaulted and left for dead in the river Thames. Her attacker was never caught. A year later forensic psychologist Alice Quentin is asked to reexamine the case.

Then another body is found: an elderly priest, washed up at Westminster Pier. An ancient glass bead is tied to his wrist. Alice is certain that the Shelleys are hiding something - and that there will be more victims unless she can persuade them to share what they know.

The Thames has always been a site of violent sacrifice. And Alice is about to learn that some people still believe in its power.

©2015 Kate Rhodes (P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for anne edwards
  • anne edwards
  • 22-09-2017

Must listen

Very good to listen to . Keeps your attention all the time. Make you want to listen to more

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Viv H
  • Viv H
  • 06-03-2017

Gripping story, intriguing characters.

really great story, intriguing characters, am definitely planning to get more of the Alice Quentin series. interested to hear more about the relationship between Psychologist Alice & Detective Burns. A great combination of a thrilling, somewhat gruesome plot, with a dash of romance thrown in too. this story kept me enthralled right til the end. well narrated too.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for a white
  • a white
  • 07-12-2016

Interesting plot

I have just discovered this author and read all of the previous titles up to this one. I thoroughly enjoyed this story, but I just found Alice to be a little bit annoying in this book. Some of her escapades are a little far-fetched ( I won't say anymore as I don't want to spoil it for anyone else). I do really like these novel though and have pre- ordered the next in the series which is due for release in 2017.
The narrator does a super job with these stories ( same one throughout). Great range of characters and pitch - tone etc.
Thoroughly recommend. 👍

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan Random
  • Susan Random
  • 10-11-2019

River of Souls

This is book #4 of Kate Rhodes' excellent Dr Alice Quentin Forensic Psychology series. Asked to bring her professional expertise to assist with the re-opening of the attempted murder and brutal disfigurement of a Cabinet Minister's daughter, Alice is reunited with DCI Burns.

I loved Rhodes' writing; considering her career is a poet, she writes about a serial killer's obsession with feeding the River Thames with the souls of his victims is both macabre and forbidding. The characters were all well-crafted and believable.

The narrator conveyed a range of characters, dialects and accents with consummate ease.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for PAM MISSENDEN
  • PAM MISSENDEN
  • 06-05-2018

Kept me guessing till the very end

Great novel. The main characters developed nicely with humour in the mix too. A real whodunnit which kept me guessing till the very end.