Try free for 2 months

  • Prisoner

  • By: S. R. White
  • Narrated by: Helen Walsh
  • Length: 14 hrs and 21 mins
  • 3.0 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
Prisoner cover art

Prisoner

By: S. R. White
Narrated by: Helen Walsh
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Twenty-four hours after leaving his cell, he was dead. Can she find out why?

When a man is found savagely 'crucified' amidst a murky swamp in northern Australia, Detective Dana Russo and her team are called to a shocking scene. The victim is a convicted rapist, just released from prison, who years earlier committed an atrocious crime yards from where he was killed. 

Who murdered him - and why? With several potential leads, the investigation quickly becomes more complex and sinister than anyone imagined. And Dana realises she'll have to confront her own troubled past to understand the true motives of the killer....

A twisting, compelling and utterly haunting new novel from the international best selling author, perfect for fans of Jane Harper's The Dry and Chris Hammer's Scrublands.

©2021 S. R. White (P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Limited

More from the same

What listeners say about Prisoner

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Okkkkk

The writing isn’t great and the narration was pretty awful (emphasis, pronunciation, weird pausing) but a decent story line. I will keep going in the series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Unrealistic story line

The accents the narrator used for various characters was hard to listen to, people don't talk the way Lucy or Mikie were portrayed. The book lost its credibility through those exaggerated voices and lost me too, the reader!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.