Get Your Free Audiobook

Priest of Lies

Narrated by: David Morely Hale
Series: War for the Rose Throne, Book 2
Length: 12 hrs and 44 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
5 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

Non-member price: $33.43

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Mark Lawrence and Joe Abercrombie.  

'The poorer and more oppressed people are, the weaker they become - until they just refuse to take it any more. Then they will rise up, and the gods help their oppressors.' 

When Tomas Piety and his Pious Men returned from the war, he just wanted to rebuild his crime empire and look after his people. But the sinister Queen's Men had different ideas, and whether he likes it or not, he's now a spy as well.  

Now, half the city of Ellinburg lies in ashes, and the webs of political intrigue are stretching out from the Queen's capital to pull Tomas in. Dannsburg is calling.   

In Dannsburg the nobility fight with words, not blades, but the results are every bit as bloody. In this pit of beasts, Tomas must decide once and for all whether he is truly the people's champion...or just a priest of lies. And as Tomas' power grows, the nobility had better watch their backs.... 

©2019 Peter McLean (P)2019 Quercus Editions Limited

Critic Reviews

"Peaky Blinders with swords." (Barnes & Noble) 

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • daniel
  • Guildford, United Kingdom
  • 26-07-2019

Brilliant

Priest of Bones was one of my favourite fantasy novels of the last few years and I've been waiting impatiently for Priest of Lies to be released.I wasn't disappointed....its even better than the first book and that was a very high bar to pass.What really lifts this above other great audible offerings is the narration..absolutely brilliant job that fits the feel of the characters and world perfectly.I cant recommend these books highly enough.If you want a taste of Peaky Blinders in a low fantasy setting this is a must read.While its violent and bloody,full of action and intrigue its not strictly grimdark as the main character is a hard,brutal but ultimately moral man..do yourself a favour and read these