Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $22.78

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Phoebe. Tiffany. Melissa. They all made one little mistake....  

When 25-year-old Phoebe Stiles opens the door to her perfect apartment she doesn’t realise it’s the mistake that will kill her.... 

The body of the beautiful English girl is discovered months later - dumped behind the back of a department store. But who was the stranger she let into the safety of her home?  

As Detective Rachel Prince pieces together the mystery surrounding Phoebe’s death, another young, blonde girl is found brutally murdered and abandoned in the grounds of an old theatre. 

In the most dangerous case of her career, Rachel must track down the faceless individual to stop the body count rising. But to uncover the shocking truth, Rachel has to put herself at risk...can she catch the twisted killer before they catch her?  

A gripping thriller that will have you completely hooked until the utterly jaw-dropping twist. Fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Karin Slaughter will love this crime series, featuring unforgettable Detective Rachel Prince.

©2018 Alison James (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about Perfect Girls

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Cathey
  • J. Cathey
  • 11-04-2020

The American accents made me giggle.

I enjoyed the story. Love Jan Cramer, but her American accents were just weird (speaking as an American). Let’s keep Prince in the UK. Good story, good performance. Prince is one of my favorites.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer
  • Jennifer
  • 02-05-2021

Perfectly Imperfect

I really enjoyed this novel overall. I would call it the audio equivalent of a page turner. That said, there are some flaws (from this American’s point of view).

As for this series, the only reason I tried it out in the first place is because the reader is Jan Kramer who is one of my favorite readers. I have provided this feedback before to a variety of readers and I always start the same way, that is by acknowledging how many American movie stars have butchered any variety of British accents. With that said, Jan Kramer’s “American” accent fell into two categories: (1) Almost every character, including those in California, sounded as if they lived in one of the five Burroughs of New York City or (2) a handful of characters sounded like they were from Georgia or Southern Virginia with a hint of Mae West.

A few notes about other details and pronunciation:

(1) No American would refer to L.A. as LOWS Angeleeze. It’s either “L.A” or Loss An-gel-ess.
(2) It would be very rare for an American in this day and age to refer to an area as being “tony”.
(3) It’s not the 1405, it’s the I-405, or as it’s called in Southern California, “the 405”.
(4) An American would not say “I wasn’t good at sport.” In America, sport is, in this case plural, so she would say “I wasn’t good at sports”.
(5) There was one character in particular for part of the story who spoke to their perspective with a British access even though they were an American. That was odd.
(6) Last, but not least, there’s a discrepancy with a Swiss Army knife (not pronunciation related but a discrepancy nonetheless.)

It would probably be a good idea to have an American read a book that takes place in America before publishing. Just saying.

I still enjoyed it overall.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 18-06-2020

Good listen but mediocre mystery

I come back to these Alison James, Rachel Prince mysteries because of the banter between Brickel and Prince and that they are simple mysteries to follow. Nothing special though and not very intriguing. The narration is usually fantastic but the American narrations in this one were horrible. Completely “off” so it made parts of the book annoying. Either get an American to do American or a British narrator that can actually do them.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brianne J Butcher
  • Brianne J Butcher
  • 04-03-2020

Disaster narration

While I usually love Jan Cramer’s narrations, this book was largely set in the United States. The narrator’s American accent (of Mostly Californians) sounded like a cross between a silver screen transcontinental accent, New York old-time detective, and maybe Russian. It was so bad it was very distracting. Also, in terms of the story itself, there was a glaring mistake at the end where the story didn’t follow what happened previously (can’t go into too much detail without spoilers).

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah C
  • Sarah C
  • 03-03-2020

Terrible American accents!

The series is great, but please don't as Jan Kramer to do American accents. Her LA cops sound like new Yorkers, her Eastern Oregonians sound like "hillbillies",thebaltimore accent, oh lord just wretched. Also, Boston accent, oy. NY. The silliness of the accents detract Ed from.the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann E Osborn
  • Ann E Osborn
  • 29-02-2020

Loved This Series

I truly loved this series! The first book was a little bumpy but the second and third were great! I cannot wait for the next one!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for katlehmann
  • katlehmann
  • 14-02-2020

I would have given this story 5 stars

The story is great , but the Narrator should never do an American accent when they can’t pull it off.
Jan Cramer is an awesome narrator...
but not with the American accent is just horrible.
so sadly I could only give this book 4 stars.
I do have to say Allison James wrote a great story!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Zoe
  • Zoe
  • 13-02-2020

distracting narration

no one:

narrator: PAHriz, KayDAWNTS, Los AngeLEECE.

i wish someone had played for the narrator recordings of how these proper nouns would be pronounced by these characters.

instead, Cramer’s supposed California accent sounded more like an attempt to imitate a 1950s New York film cop.

but this was an enjoyable listen overall. really good storyline.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 10-01-2020

Great

Being an American I love British accents so all I listen to are British narrators...
Jan you’re my favorite! I search for and pick books solely because of you.
So please know I say this with love - no more American accents... please. 🥴😘

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 26-10-2019

Installment set in US

I didn't make it far into the book because, unfortunately, this installment is set in the US. I wish the summary would have mentioned this, because as much as I love Jan Cramer's narration usually, I couldn't get past her crazy American accents. As a US citizen, I find that British writers use colloquialisms that we don't use and when it's an audiobook, the narrators don't generally have an ear for regional distinctions. For example, in this book, the LA detective had an accent that was a growly mashup of New Jersey and Texas. Probably non-US listeners will find this less distracting. Looking forward to the James's next book and Cramer's next outing!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janalgarve
  • Janalgarve
  • 06-09-2020

Perfect Girls

I’m afraid I got bored with this book very quickly , it was long and drawn out and the narrator was like a runaway train- only the last few chapters were better and slower! Sorry

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah
  • Sarah
  • 13-06-2020

Great story pity about the narration

A good page turner but the narrator really spoils it - she doesn’t seem to understand the mind of the energetic determined heroine. All the emphasis is wrong and she makes Rachel Prince seem weary and bored when is completely the opposite

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for The Van G's
  • The Van G's
  • 25-04-2020

couldn't stop listening

I have fallen in love with the characters and can honestly not wait for the next book. thank you so much for the amazing story.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for hayley coombs
  • hayley coombs
  • 06-04-2020

Good storyline, awful narrator.

This was painful to listen to. The storyline was the only reason i carried on.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Oops 66
  • Oops 66
  • 06-02-2020

Always great love the series !

As are the others before this is an exciting story and looking forward to next in the series. Holds interest right through to an excellent ending. Jan Cramer always a great Narrator hard to stop and fall asleep 💤

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon Harris
  • Sharon Harris
  • 17-10-2019

Gripping Storyline.

Loved this book and love Alison James. Kept me gripped to the end and was disappointed when it had finished.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.