Get Your Free Audiobook

Pendulum

Narrated by: Luke Thompson
Series: John Wallace, Book 1
Length: 14 hrs and 9 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

Non-member price: $29.96

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

An everyman is targeted for death by a serial killer in this searing high-concept novel that looks at the way that we now live. A twisting, dangerous journey through a digital underworld, it heralds Adam Hamdy as an outstanding new talent. For fans of I Am Pilgrim and John Grisham.

You wake. Confused. Disorientated. A noose is round your neck. You are bound, standing on a chair. All you can focus on is the man in the mask tightening the rope. You are about to die.

John Wallace has no idea why he has been targeted. No idea who his attacker is. No idea how he will prevent the inevitable. Then the pendulum of fate swings in his favour. He has one chance to escape, find the truth and halt his destruction. The momentum is in his favour for now. But with a killer on his tail, everything can change with one swing of this deadly pendulum....

Targeted for death. Then fate intervenes. You have one chance. Run.

©2016 Adam Hamdy (P)2016 Headline Digital

Critic Reviews

"I read Pendulum in one gloriously suspenseful weekend. Definitely one of the best thrillers of the year." (James Patterson)

What listeners say about Pendulum

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW!!

What a ride. Am just waiting for the next one to download so I can start straight away.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. Jennifer Petrie
  • Mrs. Jennifer Petrie
  • 22-10-2017

Brilliant

Probably one of the best thriller I've listened to. Great storyline, and clear precise narration

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for samantha
  • samantha
  • 12-09-2017

Brilliant!

Edge of your seat gripping! So incredibly well written and a great twist! An absolute must read... can't wait for the next one!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bettsy
  • Bettsy
  • 30-05-2017

Great until the end

This is an excellent story but I felt the end let it down massively. promised much more. I still enjoyed most of it.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary
  • Mary
  • 01-12-2017

For the listener or the viewer?

I suspect Adam Hamdy has already made sure that some of the big studios have a copy of this book - and what an easy transition to film it would be as it barely needs any conversion to a screenplay.

Actually it would be quite exciting on the big screen, probably more so than through my litte earphones. All a bit ridiculous. I have listened to a few other books of the same genre but have usually found them more exciting. The explanation was annoying as we had no way to guess.

I think this could have been improved using a different narrator. This one seemed to be doing an audition for the film! For every single part! Too much acting in the delivery of the dialogue - the text makes it very clear that someone is sobbing - so we don't need all the speech to be full of heart-felt sobs. Took away from the listen.

I would like to know why the author chooses to call some people by their surnames, and others by their first name. For the first half of the book it's very clearcut: women are only known by their first names, the men, even the central character, are masculine enough to be surname only...unless they're northern! Then it's just a random choice, very annoying though, we're not all army or male public school types!

One further comment: I suspect the knowledge the author has of the 'North' is nil! It seems that only empty fields and spaces exist. The 'northern' man he goes to see is so typecast, it's like something from the 50s. And he's even - wait for it - building a bloody dry stone wall!

Advice to author: travel around your country; remember and use the first names of your friends, relatives and contacts; either write a book OR a screenplay.

Advice to myself (having just re-read this review): try and be more positive about books you have chosen to continue listening to!!

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anna
  • Anna
  • 06-04-2020

Unbelievable (in both senses) drivel.

All of the characters were unpleasant and not a single one is believable.

If policemen were as stupid as this fella seems to be, no crime would ever be solved and there would be sexual harassment accusations chucked about, willy-nilly (no pun intended).

The doctors seem equally dim and have the additional unappealing handicap of being exquisitely patronising.

* SPOILER ALERT*

Not in any far-fetched fantasy would somebody’s attempted murder and subsequent escape (through a plate glass window, only finding blissful sanctuary in a London bus), be assumed by ‘the law’ or anybody else with an IQ above 80, to be a fluffed suicide attempt.

Although I am not a doctor and probably have an IQ not far above 80, I feel quite sure that when a hitherto, intelligent, productive and seemingly well-balanced member of society is thought to have attempted suicide, they aren’t routinely sectioned and plied with mind altering pharmaceuticals.

Additionally, I also find it impossible to believe that the aforementioned “productive and seemingly well-balanced” individual, when faced with a little paper cup containing a daily dose of some alarming and clearly unnecessary antipsychotics, would throw caution to the wind and say “hey ho, down the hatch”.

There is a certain merit in writing a book, which I sadly, absolutely, lack the talent, tenacity or imagination to accomplish, however, I am a voracious reader, albeit with fairly low standards; all I need to be entertained are believable characters - with depth and ideally more than one dimension - well researched supporting characters and a clear understanding of the environment those characters inhabit.

Making easy clichéd suppositions about professionals such as doctors and policemen (and their arenas) is lazy and artless.

Incidentally, I am neither a quack nor a rozzer.

If you have an unbelievably imaginative plot, great! However wildly conceived the plan is, please populate it with a background story that has gravitas.

Generally speaking I can’t be bothered to write reviews, they are a bit self-satisfied and smug and who the hell cares anyway? I am not arrogant enough to think that my opinion counts a damn. The only reason I’m writing this is because I’ve just listened to 1 hour and 19 minutes of this irksome stuff and I could have been making Rice Krispie cake instead.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ian Ranford-Marshall
  • Ian Ranford-Marshall
  • 19-09-2018

Just great

Considering the length of the book I can say that it kept me on the edge of my seat for at least 90% of the time. Good story line, lots of twists and turns. Very enjoyable.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rob Clark
  • Rob Clark
  • 07-02-2018

What a story!

Man, I enjoyed this. I usually listen to audiobooks on the walk to work, and get through one a month. I just binged through this, listening to hours of it at a time.
Would definitely recommend

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gregg
  • Gregg
  • 04-12-2017

Gripping

This was a great listen which kept me up many nights. I’d recommend. Well written and read.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Colette
  • Colette
  • 25-10-2017

Another good one

This is a book in two distinct parts, the first set in the UK and the second in the USA. I didn’t see the second half coming and was a bit discombobulated when it suddenly switched from the London police to the FBI. The pace is relentless and it’s a rollercoaster of a plot which swept me along until about the last 45 mins when it seemed to lose its way a bit. Despite that, it’s a great listen and the narration is excellent.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for anne
  • anne
  • 12-08-2017

What a cracker of a book!

Well. That was an experience of a listen. It was sixty chapters long but by the time I git to chapter nineteen I thought it was reaching a climax and should end soon! I couldn't believe it could go on any longer..... but boy was I wrong! The story turned in another direction and powered its way through another whole set of amazing adventures. It ended with a twist that was difficult to see coming and with a question mark over the two main characters that leave an opening for a follow on book. I must look out for it.

4 people found this helpful