Get Your Free Audiobook

Outside Looking In

DCI Matilda Darke, Book 2
Narrated by: Stephanie Beattie
Series: DCI Matilda Darke, Book 2
Length: 10 hrs and 56 mins

Non-member price: $19.75

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The second book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling new crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

When elderly George Rainsford goes to investigate a suspicious noise one night, the last thing he expects to find is a bloodbath. A man has been killed and a woman brutally beaten, left for dead.

The victims are Lois Craven and Kevin Hardaker - both married, but not to each other. Their spouses swear they knew nothing of the affair, and, besides, they both have alibis for the attack. With nothing else to link the victims, the investigation hits a dead end.

The pressure is on for investigating officer, DCI Matilda Darke: there’s a violent killer on the loose, and it looks like her team members are the new targets. With no leads and no suspects, it’s going to take all Matilda’s wits to catch him before he strikes again.

©2019 Michael Wood (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"At one point in this tense thriller, the endearing protagonist reflects that the investigation is like having 'all the pieces of the jigsaw but…from different boxes'. Matilda Darke is right - and only in the final pages is the full picture revealed…" (Chris Simms)

"Crackling dialogue, dark wit and an exciting ending. Recommended if you liked Happy Valley." (Mark Edwards)

"DCI Matilda Darke is going places." (James Oswald)

What listeners say about Outside Looking In

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karenique
  • Karenique
  • 02-08-2019

Another Matilda Darke winner!

Happy I found this series. Both author and narrator work well together. I would recommend this one and look forward to more.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sires
  • Sires
  • 16-07-2019

DCI Matilde Darke Still Has a Lot of Problems

In the first book in the series DCI Darke is just back to work after a disastrous kidnapping case and the death of her husband from lung cancer. Her job is hanging by a thread and she is given a cold case to solve. Now lack of financial support for major cases is causing her to worry about her professional future again and she has lost the support that she needs to solve major crimes such as the two death of a man who was parked in a lay by with an attractive woman who had managed to draw attention to their plight by using the horn of the car to signal SOS. The woman has been shot and severely assaulted. Neither were married to each other. Also the DCI is having paranoid thoughts which some of her friends and co-employees wonder if they are the result of her psychological problems or actual threats to herself and her team. There's some gaps in the plot and the climax left me banging my head on my keyboard, but it's not terrible. The performance doesn't really make things better, but it also is tolerable and doesn't make things worse.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 06-07-2019

4

Another good mystery, part of a series but stands alone just fine. There are many story lines that might take off and run with the plot, but the author keeps excellent control of each until the end. I so enjoy the narrator and the unique pronunciations she gives many words like skeleton and adversary. I check slang words with a quick search - "manky" was this book's contribution to my vocab.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wbc
  • wbc
  • 28-01-2020

Great story

I am enjoying this series immensely. Excellent narration. My reviews are typically a yes I like it or no I don’t. Same with this one. I don’t want to give anything away. Enjoy...

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lynnegrant
  • lynnegrant
  • 20-11-2019

Enjoying this series

Love the narrator's voice and expressions, also loving the plot twists and turns. Looking forward to the next book in this series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andromeda's Twin
  • Andromeda's Twin
  • 16-07-2019

Damned good book

Book one was good, (read on the kindle) book three was superb, book two, this one, is still a damned good story, hugely entertaining, the narration is great (I am British so I do love a great British narrator especially when it's a book based in Britain), the story is rather convoluted, but that basically translates into 'twists and turns', so that should be a good thing, I certainly thought so, it's a great story and I was gobsmacked by the ending, yes, I said gobsmacked, anyone who claims to 'know who the killer is by page 5'' is lying or just made a very good guess. This is a great second book in the series which is shaping up to be one of my new favourites.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs CJ
  • Mrs CJ
  • 29-09-2020

My, but she’s irritating

I sort of enjoyed the second story in this series. Most of the characters are well rounded and the plot is complicated. But Matilda as a police officer is verging on incompetent, and as such would surely never be given the leeway she’s received so far. I found the subplot with the journalist was unbelievable. Matilda’s grief is very well drawn. However, the narration is excellent, and makes this a decent listen.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stewart Webb
  • Stewart Webb
  • 23-09-2020

Enjoyable and Easy

This is book two. I would advise you listen to part book one first to get the most out of this. A good book. not quite so many twists as the first but still a good easy listen. The story does veer of at some pretty unbelievable angles. But I'll forgive the author that. I think he pulls it off. Very well read by the narrator. Not much, if any gore. which makes a nice change. some violence, but not too graphic. A good book. But not a great one. Mind I'm off to download book 3. So it must be doing something right!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Liga K.
  • Liga K.
  • 18-09-2020

filled with stories all in one

I really had many suspicions about who did what but up till it was revealed i had no clue. i mean, some tiny clues were dropped but then smoothly covered with convincing counterparts so it was gripping and i enjoyed it! will read thr next ons!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for julie albrighton
  • julie albrighton
  • 10-07-2020

good read

starting to get to know the characters now and with it being at Sheffield it feels local. familiar.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gail J Elverd
  • Gail J Elverd
  • 09-03-2020

Very disappointing!

IMO. Too many exclamations! too much over reaction. Personally too much graphic details. No believable characters. Only redeeming point was an interesting plot, but so badly written.