Get Your Free Audiobook

Our Stop

Length: 8 hrs and 23 mins
4 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

Non-member price: $15.63

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

What if you almost missed the love of your life?

Nadia gets the 7.30 train every morning without fail. Well, except if she oversleeps or wakes up at her friend Emma’s after too much wine.

Daniel really does get the 7.30 train every morning, which is easy because he hasn’t been able to sleep properly since his dad died.

One morning, Nadia’s eye catches sight of a post in the daily paper:

To the cute girl with the coffee stains on her dress. I’m the guy who’s always standing near the doors.... Drink sometime?

So begins a not-quite-romance of near misses, true love and the power of the written word.

A fabulous feel-good romance for fans of Holly Bourne and Dolly Alderton.

©2019 Laura Jane Williams (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"LJ’s honesty and style are unique." (Stylist)  

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved It!!!

Loved the story, loved the narrorators, could of kept listening for hours!! Could totally see this book made into a movie too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Predictable, yet still very enjoyable and funny. Great characters, relatable, lots of LOL moments. Would recommend!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Really Quite Cheesy

I thought this would be warm and enjoyable...a bit like The Flat Share. However I found the story … cheesy. It was unexciting, frustrating at parts (spoiler: the couple genuinely do not meet until the very end) and I found that there were a lot of plot points that were glossed over, rather than being correctly digested. The fact that the main character has her friends completely isolate her and does not feel in the least annoyed? Or the fact that none of them feel the need to communicate this? It just rings a little false and made me believe in this story even less.
The male protagonist does not once have a fault pointed out. If anything, he is 'too sensitive' which I hardly think is considered a fault in 2019. He was very 'perfect' which in honestly was a bit of an eye roll.

I just found this novel to be 'another chick lit that you pick up at the airport and throw away at the other end'. It's not BAD, but I likely will never think of it again after this. It's not deeply meaningful, nor is it poignant in relatable way. It's just...fluffy. Lacking substance, perhaps. Even the epilogue (sue me for saying so, but it's the worst part of the whole novel...should have been left out) which trawls on and on about the main characters and their deep concern for humanity (because being good looking, witty, successful and popular is not enough) seemed completely shallow. It just wasn't believable. It was 'too perfect'. I felt that it was tacked on the end of a shallow story (nothing wrong with a shallow story, just don't expect a Pulitzer) in an attempt to remind the reader (again) of how wonderful and 'realistic' these characters are.

All in all; if you're looking for a quick and easy read while you're trying to ignore crying babies and a snoring passenger behind you while you embark on an eight hour flight, this is fine. Not the best; but it'll do. You won't die of boredom.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightful, funny and feminist.

This book is a delight and a wonderful roller coaster of missed chances and fate. Fantastically performed by the two narrators and expertly crafted by Laura Jane Williams. Loved it!!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lori
  • Lori
  • 19-08-2019

Prepare yourself for the biggest smile

Our Stop is a beautiful written heartwarming read. A will they / won’t they romance with the perfect blend of love, humour, heartbreak with girl/boy next door type characters at the core and a supporting brilliant supporting cast.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beth Chown
  • Beth Chown
  • 18-08-2019

Wow!

Ohmygosh! This book was perfection! Everyone should read it as soon as possible!! I was blown away by the storyline, which frustrated me at times (in the best way) and caused me to have verbal reactions and also the narration was spot on! This is the first audiobook I have listened to and honestly felt so immersed in the story!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 16-08-2019

You need to listen to this book

LJW has a knack of writing stories you've always wanted to read. Impeccable, adored it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ayeasha Mohamed
  • Ayeasha Mohamed
  • 13-08-2019

an absolute must read!

If anyone needs a new read, #OurStop is where it's at. I listened to it all in 4 days and didn't want it to end. It challenges toxic masculinity while being romantic, adorable and about the law of attraction! It made me smile so much and I'm obsessed 💛💖

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Toni
  • Toni
  • 10-09-2019

Rare that I finish a book!

Enjoyed listening to this, it was light and easy to follow, short chapters and uplifting. Rare that I actually finish a book so obviously a good sign.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms. Cl College
  • Ms. Cl College
  • 23-08-2019

Fun and nice story

Nice romantic, very modernlove story about two people almost meeting on the tube, writing to each other in the missed connections part of the paper. The story follows them as they try to make their connection happen in real life.

It took me a few chapters to settle in but I’m glad I stuck with it. I found Daniel a bit hard to believe and a bit of a sap but by the end of it, rooted for him, despite his flaws and missed chances. The Romeo character is Daniels confidant and friend. He was probably the most intriguing. I’d be interested in a spin off story about his background!

It was funny in parts and at the end it felt good that I’d stuck with it. I’d recommend it if you like easy love stories with mentions of current talking points or issues, and a London young professionals vibe you’ll recognise - eg flat sharing, drinking after work, going to whacky events.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KB2013
  • KB2013
  • 07-10-2019

You could play millennial single white female trope bingo with this book

The story was frustrating and unrealistic, the 2 characters are constantly almost but not quite meeting and after a while it gets irritating. The entire book is about the anticipation of them meeting. I forced myself to listen to the end as I’d paid for it, and the last hour or two I enjoyed. However the first half/ three quarters of the novel is a constant reference to how woke the characters are. You can write a novel where the lead character, and indeed the male love interest, is a feminist without them having to tell the reader their every thought to constantly spell it out. Wouldn’t recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-10-2019

a good read

really enjoyed this book! its funny and entertaining. I recommend it! love the voices too

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 15-09-2019

Tries too hard to be ‘woke’

I wanted a simple, uplifting story to put on in the background whilst I tidied or did other admin so settled on this since it had good reviews. I really wish I hadn’t listened to this... it’s not offensive in any way at all but it’s patronising and tries so hard to be feminist but while also reinforcing female stereotypes. The main characters are selfish and narcissistic but it’s portrayed as clever and ‘woke’. They’re meant to be seen as perfect (including their perfect flaws) but they’re annoying and they pat themselves on the back whenever they do anything good. It was meant to be cheesy and predictable - that’s what I was looking for but this book just annoyed me. The performances are done well and the colloquial style of writing is done well but the plot and characters leave a lot to be desired.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful