Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $34.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A terrifying diagnosis. An unbreakable bond. And two unforgettable journeys.

Cameron Powell has always struggled with goodbyes. On the day his marriage ends, he finds out his mother's cancer has returned, and this time, there may be no escape. Faced with the prospect of more chemo and surgery, his German-born mother, Inge, vows to conquer a 500-mile trek across Spain, and Cameron pushes aside his fears to walk by her side.

Joined by a misfit band of adventurers - a politically incorrect Spaniard, a theatrical Frenchwoman, a teenager who's never been far from home - Cameron and Inge write a fierce and funny travelogue about the rocky heights and hidden valleys of the Camino de Santiago. As a Camino memoir in the tradition of James Hitt or Bill Bryson, Ordinary Magic delivers.

But the hardest stretch comes three years later, when Inge's health declines, and Cameron, ready or not, must accept the challenge to remain as present to his mother as he can. Cameron begins to record, in still more chiseled prose, his real-time impressions of life's most difficult voyage. What he created has become one of literature's great love letters and a uniquely unflinching insight into how we all truly can create love and meaning in our lives, even amidst the fear and sadness we ll all face from time to time.

Propelled by the searing immediacy of Cameron's own fear and sadness, this deeply felt memoir opens up new insight into what it means to be a man, and takes us - with wisdom, humor, and an overflowing tenderness - into one of the most challenging journeys true friends can ever take. 

If you like candid mother-son relationships, humorous tales from the trail, and in-the-moment insights on living a life of resilience and purpose, then you'll love Cameron Powell's luminous, inspirational true story about pilgrimage, presence, and letting go.

Ordinary Magic is the love story, lifelong inspiration, and soulful laugh and cry you need in your life right now. You can also join our community celebrating the ordinary magic of love and resilience, and wake up your love for yourself and others.

"Studded with gems of spirited observation and wit. Is this black humor? If so, it's of the most fond and loving sort, and Inge, Powell's mother, emerges as an indelible heroine. Powell is a writer to watch." (Mary Dearborn, Hemingway: A Biography)

"An epic love letter. Stunning, unique, unlike anything I've read before." (Julia Scheeres, Jesus Land: A Memoir)

Powerful, inspiring and, amazingly, almost impossible to put down. (Mary Dearborn, The Happiest Man Alive: A Biography of Henry Miller

Author interview:

How did the story begin?

Mom and I blogged while on the Camino de Santiago. Readers loved the travel writing, and said our journey was inspiring and hilarious. But when the Camino ended, I stopped blogging. I started again when Mom's health began to decline because I just had to write. My decision to share my path with others, on the blog, was one of the best I've ever made. The love was overwhelming, a light in my darkness.

What surprised you most about readers reactions?

People saw the humor in it all. And they kept saying the posts were beautiful. I realized people have a real hunger for what really matters.

What makes this memoir different?

As a story of a mother through the eyes of her son, it's so rare as to be overdue. Readers have really responded to the sheer grit of my mom. And because I have a lifelong fascination with the human mind and heart, I saw a way to make my mom's psychological resilience something every reader can learn from.

©2011 Cameron Powell (P)2019 Cameron Powell

What listeners say about Ordinary Magic

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Thomas
  • Thomas
  • 02-12-2019

Riveting, gut wrenching, awe inspiring...

This is not your standard travelogue. It is not your standard tale. It is an intimate window into the deepest depths of pain and the highest peaks of adventure. Recommended for anybody considering hiking the El Camino, anybody who has dealt with or is dealing with cancer… And anybody wanting to savor every last moment of their life. This book encouraged me to start doing that right now!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-05-2020

two great books in one

This is a well written and powerful memoir that allows the reader to not only travel with the author and his mom but to travel with the author as he sees his mother as a woman of strength and courage. For those who have lost a love one, this book will tug really hard at those places that haven't healed (or may never). For those you have fortunately been spared the inevitable heartache, this book will remind you to hug those close to you a little tighter. This book is really two great books in one with excellent passages and descriptive words about the trials and triumphs of walking the Camino. Take the time to read and explore this work..it will be time well spent.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karina Contreras Gonzalez
  • Karina Contreras Gonzalez
  • 15-01-2020

Beautiful story

I'll be walking El camino de Santiago in June and I thought the story was going to be only related to it; however, the story is a beautiful story of love and kindness. Thanks Inge for being an inspiration. I wish we would have crossed our caminos.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 22-10-2020

Loved it!

One of the best “walking” stories! Based on the walk, but lessons about love. Share with all you love!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.