Try free for 30 days

1 credit a month to buy any audiobook in our entire collection.
Access to thousands of additional audiobooks and Originals from the Plus Catalogue.
Member-only deals & discounts.
Auto-renews at $16.45/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
One Second After cover art

One Second After

By: William R. Forstchen
Narrated by: Joe Barrett
Try Premium Plus free

$16.45 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

A post-apocalyptic thriller of the after effects in the United States after a terrifying terrorist attack using electromagnetic pulse weapons.

In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages.

Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a book all Americans should read, One Second After is the story of a war scenario that could become all too terrifyingly real. Based on a real weapon—the electromagnetic pulse (EMP)—which may already be in the hands of our enemies, it is a truly realistic look at the awesome power of a weapon that can destroy the entire United States, literally within one second.

In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future and our end.

©2009 William R. Forstchen (P)2009 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"[An] entertaining apocalyptic thriller....fans of such classics as Alas, Babylon and On the Beach will have a good time as Forstchen tackles the obvious and some not-so-obvious questions the apocalypse tends to raise." ( Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about One Second After

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    152
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    142
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    138
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hits hard, a more realistic apocalypse novel.

This book really deals with some darker topics but thankfully not in an over the top visceral way. I found myself questioning things I hadn’t even been aware of and researching more about some of these topics.

An engaging book with a strong hook. I found myself tearing up in some sections and in almost all circumstances could understand and relate to the characters experiences as events transpired. I felt loss as the characters felt it because their experiences were so well described.

Worth a listen for any parents who never though about stocking supplies for their kids in case they were without power in their house or shipments of vital food and medication stopped for more than a few weeks.
The 2020 panic buying of toilet paper was a small taste of what can happen with even an inconvenience, and yet this book details shortages of many common supplies we take for granted. Thankfully this book is an engaging read which doesn’t have an overly prepared protagonist. We struggle along with them and their experiences unsettle and inform us.
A surprise to enjoy this type of literature as thoroughly as I did.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Quite realistic book

Thought the lead into and whole storyline and realistic characters and the scenarios were believable. Best book I've listened to in past 100

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A Fair Warning

Well read drama though only an average piece of literature. The Author has a strong drive to bring his real concerns to his readership..

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Plan ahead

My husband and I both plan to prepare survival packs and start organising supplies and food in case of something like this happening. Its not If it will happen but When.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A frightning must read for everyone

This book should serve to warn, frighten and promped all who read it to prepair for this type of event. We all go about our luve blisfully unaware of how fragile out society is an event that simply turned the lights out for an extended period of time.
How much food do you have in your pantry right now? maybe 3 days worth... what happens them? ...think the govenment or your frends are goibg to feed you and your family until the light come back on?. when they are in the same boat.
start thinking about what you can do ti oreoair yourself for an extended period wuth no power and just see what it takes. only those that do this mught have a chance of riding it out or at least being in a more prepaired position to get through the furst few months until that vegy garden you alwats planed can start producing simething to eat at a minmum. 6-12 months if long range stirable food should be everyones goal in this age as well as a safe place to ride it out.
Think about it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Series.

Each book gets better.
Unfortunately the narration in first book let it down. But different Narrator in other 2.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

An executive report in the form of a story...

Though I wish not to undervalued the performance of the reader, I can not highly recommend this book.

My feeling is that the writer wished to showcase their extensive research and passion for war history, their patriotism and love for God and lost sight of the characters and story line.

I felt no connection to the characters, no loss and no pain. Questions were left unanswered.

This experience can only be akin to an executive report in the form of possible outcomes that may take place in the USA under such circumstances.

Though I'm happy for the education, I'm unhappy with the experience.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant - Shocking, heartfelt and compelling

A brilliant mix of factually based content woven seamlessly with authentic emotionally charged feelings. While I found the religiosity a bit cloying, none the less I know that is authentic too. A pity the Walking Dead was so successful, because a series based on One Second After could have been even more compelling.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A most vivid dream

A very well told story and well worth the listen. The author really brings home the emotional reality in the final act. Keen to start the sequel now to see what happens next

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

scary

I found some elements of this title implausible however the vast majority was simply frightening in its simplicity.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.