Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $34.76

Buy Now for $34.76

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Music and loud voices echo through the woods surrounding her. Wiping her tears, she hears the rustle of leaves close by. Footsteps. She has no time to scream before a hand covers her mouth and her entire world goes black.  

In a patch of forest on the outskirts of a small town, five teenage school friends prepare to spend a night away from home. Carrying their tents and sleeping bags, they laugh and joke as they make their way into the darkest part of the woods, away from prying eyes. But as the sun rises the following morning, only four are left alive. 

Devastated, Leah’s friends all swear they didn’t see or hear anything. Her best friend sobs as she recounts what she remembers from that night - dancing, roasting marshmallows, sipping warm cans of beer by the fire - but is it grief, or is she hiding something? What happened to Naomi in the hour that no one can account for? And what troubled past lies behind the perfect manners of the boy who organised the trip, and who is prepared to lie to keep it buried? 

As the cracks in their stories grow, it’s clear one of them is lying, and one of them is next....

Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Cara Hunter, and Clare Mackintosh, One Left Behind is a thrilling crime novel that will have you hooked! 

©2021 Carla Kovach (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic Reviews

"Nope, nope, nope! I did not see that coming!... Can’t-put-down thrill ride that you’ll keep reading all night long." (Unrepentantbibliovores) 

"Great book! Wow, so many twists and turns! This book had intrigue, suspense action and lots of crazy plot twists!" (sassysouthernbook/Ana’s guest reviewer) 

What listeners say about One Left Behind

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

An OK basic murder mystery

I'd listened to all of Carla Kovach's books, had really enjoyed them, but have listened to a couple of well known authors' series after that. To be brutally honest, they had a lot more substance and the thought I was listening to a Famous Five novel with this book crossed my mind! Too much rambling on from one of the main female characters, and I really hope Gina has put her worries to rest about her past...nothing can be proven, come to terms with it please! She was justified in her actions...sorry if I sound like a snob and even though the murderer was a surprise it fell a bit flat in my opinion 😒

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maine Knitter
  • Maine Knitter
  • 20-07-2021

Kept me up late

This was hard to put down. A great story and a great narrator. The ending surprised me and saddened me. Actually, there were a few times I felt like crying.

Teens hold parties in the local woods and teens are murdered. There are a lot of possibilities for Gina and her team to work out before any more kids are in danger.

The threat of what her daughter had to tell Gina looms over the story as well as the threats from anonymous texts she and Briggs are receiving. This will make more sense if the series has been read from the beginning.

I like this series and this new book is just as good as the previous ones.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janice l. Wagner
  • Janice l. Wagner
  • 19-07-2021

Love the series

I love the books and can’t wait for the next book to come out. I always add the next book release date to my calendar so I won’t miss any. Can’t wait for the next book. Please keep them coming Carla Kovach!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs C
  • Mrs C
  • 14-08-2021

ANTHER GRIPPING GINA HARTE CRIME THRILLER

The Gina Harte crime thriller series just gets better and better with each book that is released. Carla Kovach immaculately plots these novels and writes characters that you get invested in and can believe are real. This book sees Gina on the hunt for a serial killer who is preying on vulnerable teenagers who party and camp out in the local woods. It is full of characters you will love to hate and twists and turns that keep you on your toes throughout! The narration is superb too. The reader has the perfect tone and pace to keep the story flowing nicely and her accents and voices are spot on. She really brings the characters to life. Highly recommended and I look forward to the next Gina Harte book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KERRY
  • KERRY
  • 02-08-2021

The dream team are back!

Well done Carla Kovach on another instalment of Gina Harte, absolutely addictive as usual. Nice to see Gina finding some hope for her future.
Alison Campbell you are such an amazing narrator, you always bring Gina and the whole book to life, it doesn’t sound like you’re just reading words, thank you!
Carla and Alison you’re my dream team.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen S.
  • Karen S.
  • 28-07-2021

When you think books cannot get any better

Carla comes out with what is a truly amazing book
Outstanding storyline
Alison Campbell , once again is totally outstanding

Wow wow wow

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for chucks
  • chucks
  • 18-07-2021

one left behind

Yet another gripping novel from Carla Kovach. Teenagers getting drunk to several murders. Also the on going saga of DI Gina Harte. Absolutely brilliant writing from Carla time after time.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.