Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A dark sci-fi thriller in the vein of Alien or John Carpenter's The Thing....

She wakes up drowning, escapes from a watery canister into a deathtrap of fiery corridors and exploding machinery. 

Somehow, she’s in space. 

She can’t remember her name or why she’s here. 

Her mind is a mixed-up Rubik’s cube of fuzzy memories. 

But she knows that spaceships don’t exist, and if they did ordinary girls like her don’t belong on them. 

And there’s something else. She’s not alone. 

Someone or something lurks in the shadows. 

And it wants her dead....

Nomad is the tale of an ordinary 1980s girl who wakes up in the middle of space opera. 

Jamie Nash, the writer of horror films like V/H/S/2, Lovely Molly, Exists and Altered brings this science-fiction horror that's part space-opera slasher and part mind-bending mystery and part MTV Generation (Stranger Things/Ready Player One) nostalgia-fest.

©2019 Jamie Nash (P)2020 Jamie Nash

What listeners say about Nomad

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christopher Williams
  • Christopher Williams
  • 16-04-2020

Great Scifi horror, good mystery, wanting more.

Great scifi horror story mysterious, terrifying, wanted to read more. Wish they would write some more of this genre.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BT
  • BT
  • 08-07-2020

SCI FI Horror. Not for young readers

I received a free review copy of this audio book, at my request, and am voluntarily leaving this unbiased review.

This book was not what I expected. I was expecting a Sci Fi mystery, about following clues and discovery. However, what this book is, is more sci fi horror, in the line of movies like Event Horizon or Pandorum.

From the moment the story starts, it is danger and more danger. This only let's up, here and there, to develop the characters in a small way. None of the characters are actually developed, because of the details of the story, but they are developed enough for a 5 hour "run and Gun" style book.

Similarly, the setting (the ship) is not developed or explored well. The story takes place in mostly 3 or 4 rooms of the ship, and while certain aspects of the room are explored, the rooms and ship in general are not.

None of this is a flaw, however, as the narrative and style of writing necessitate a limited perspective. The Pov of the book matches this premise, as it is First Person Present Tense. This means the amnesiac main character is only discovering the ship and people as we do. No time to think back on what things were or meant on reflection, no finding out others motives. I initially thought that it was chosen because it would leave doubt as to whether the main character survives or not, but I realized later it was to contain the experience of the ship and situation to only what the main character knows at the time. This was a smart idea.

The not as smart idea is the amount of pop culture and tech references. The main characters are from the mid to late 80's, so everything they say, reference and technology they use is all from that time period. Growing up in the 80's myself, this was not an issue. However, it means the book will be unreadable in a few years. My kids won't know what a Commodore 64 is, or VHS tapes, or President Ragan, etc. At some point it felt less about nostalgia, and more about being beaten over the head with the fact the characters were from the 80's. I think it was a mistake to lean so heavily into the references.

The voice narration, by Christy Davis, was excellent. She perfectly captured the sprit of the main character. She has good voice range and her male voices sound believable, if a little high pitched. Still a first rate performance.

All in all this was a fast paced, sci fi horror. It didn't bog it down in too many details and kept the action going at all costs. It was a really good story. But definitely not for young readers.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tiffany
  • Tiffany
  • 19-06-2020

Nomad

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I liked the protagonist sense of humor and determination. The action starts quickly and doesn't let up. I do wish the protagonist put the pieces together more quickly. I wanted more of the monster. The narrator did a pretty good job. I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacob Dorn
  • Jacob Dorn
  • 06-05-2020

Awesome Sci Fi Thriller!

A bit of Alien, a dash of The Thing, a light smattering of Event Horizon, this novel feels like it should be on a Blockbuster shelf between those titles. The authors notes say this story began as a screenplay, and you can certainly feel that in the relentless pace. The inner dialog of the main character is reminiscent of Ready Player One in its cultural awareness, putting you squarely in her shoes. A must read for fans of the genre!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SAM
  • SAM
  • 25-04-2020

Fun, creepy and witty

This story is a blast from beginning to end. It's full of mystery, wit, action and creepy aliens. The main character is the type of chick I would love to hang out with and the narration absolutely rocks.
I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for xenduro
  • xenduro
  • 21-04-2020

boy this starts instantly and never stops

from the first few lines it gets going. does not stop. keeps u going as the details slowly fill in. good book.
i got a free copy of this book

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chuck H.
  • Chuck H.
  • 15-04-2020

Fun book!

The author notes at the end tell us that this story began life as a screenplay, but they were never able to get the production off the ground. While I do think this would make an excellent film, and I'd love to see it, I'm thrilled that he decided to turn this story into a novel. Fun, exciting, scary in parts, with a great narrator. Definitely check this one out.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lomeraniel
  • Lomeraniel
  • 15-04-2020

Dark, intriguing, and addicting

She woke up inside a vat full of liquid and with a tube inserted in her throat. She does not know where she is or who she is. More people are inside other crypods, and they seem to be in space. Are they an exploration team? In her heart, she knows this cannot be true. She gathers a small group rescued from other cryopods to investigate their surroundings, but there is something or someone trying to kill them behind every corner.

This psychological horror sci-fi novel is cooler than it sounds. Nothing is what it seems, and no one has their survival granted. The intrigue is successfully built from the start and kept almost until the end. The characters are flawed and relatable, and they know as little about themselves as we do. Each one evolves in unsuspected ways, while they fight for their lives without knowing what they are up against. There is gore and also terrible horrors, but sometimes the darkest things could be inside oneself.

The story is quite original and it goes great lengths in suggesting the unimaginable. I was afraid that the truth was going to be so crazy that the plot would suffer and lose credibility but, amazingly, Nash was able to pull it off and deliver a satisfying ending.

I think Christy Davis did a good job bringing the main character to life. Her male voices were good too, but there were a couple of times that she Davis got the voices mixed up and that made following a couple of dialogs difficult. Technically there were a couple of small issues, like volume changes, a buzzing sound on the background, and some noticeable audio edits. Her accents needed more work though. Just a personal note: I am not used to hearing Canadian accents, and her way of pronouncing “out” got me every time.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and it kept me on the edge of my seat from beginning to end. Absolutely recommended!

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Adam Bogovich
  • Adam Bogovich
  • 14-04-2020

interesting story at a breakneck pace

Story is centered around a character with amnesia and the story is written in a way where you're as confused as she is as she explores and learns things. She even makes mistakes that seem plausible. It's pretty gory though, so just be warned. The pace of the book is pretty frantic, but that pretty well aligns to the story as a whole.

It's mentioned at the end, that they attempted to make this into a movie, and I could see that. Little bit of Alien, mixed with The Maze Runner.

free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rayc
  • Rayc
  • 04-04-2020

An intriguing tale

Nomad. .
An intriguing storyline that is a good read .
Recommend this audiobook. Absolutely. .
Should be made into a movie. It would probably be a blockbuster.
I received a free copy of this audio book at my own request and voluntarily leave this honest review. .

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Neil Armstrong
  • Neil Armstrong
  • 11-03-2020

Enjoyable Sci-Fi

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review

A fun Sci-Fi romp with an interesting mystery peppered with 80's references

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.