Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $31.21

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesn't?

Nina's mum isn't so sure. But she's busy with her new husband and five-year-old Katie. Nina's almost an adult, after all. And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before, then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks.

Nina's drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend. But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can't help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her....

A dark, funny, sometimes shocking coming-of-age novel from one of the UK's leading comedians. Nina Is Not OK will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham.

©2016 Shappi Khorsandi (P)2016 Random House Audiobooks

More from the same

Narrator

What listeners say about Nina Is Not OK

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very True Story

I think a lot of teenagers would relate to this story, I know I did, a time of growing up and drinking too much and not understanding the line between having fun and having a problem, I think the assault and club scene were very true and I'm sure there are a lot of young girls who have gone through similar situations and not had the strength to do anything about it. Yes, it made me see my young adult life in a new light, I think every teenager should read this book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 14-11-2017

Amazing and harrowing

such a good book raw yet funny at times, it is narrated in such some parts would make me physically uneasy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melissa
  • Melissa
  • 09-08-2016

Fantastic!

Loved the book and the reader. Very engaging, listened even when I only had a few minutes time. Highly recommend!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Katherine
  • Katherine
  • 09-03-2017

laughed, cried, loved

loved the story, although simple it was put together really well. I really enjoyed the narration, it was as if it really was Nina telling us her story in her words. made it really relatable and a joy to listen to. really sad I have finished this book.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carly Jones
  • Carly Jones
  • 24-02-2017

nina is not okay is an importamt read

Nina is not okay is one of the most difficult books ive ever read (well listened to). It is an unapologetic well performed telling of a Ninas traumatic 18th year. Severe subjects include; sexual assult, family problems, alcoholism and cyber bullying, not to mention all the things every other average teen has to deal with. More than anything this book is hard to read because it is so true. The way author tackles rape is so very difficult to endure because it is so accurate. It therefore also happens to be a very triggering story. However, the performance is superb and the content almost educational in its telling, making this a great book to spread awareness about more sensitive topics. This book will not make you happy, but i could not recommend it more.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marina
  • Marina
  • 05-03-2017

Life changing

I won't lie, this is a difficult read when it cuts close to the bone. But it is also a comfort. Made me reevaluate a lot about my own life. A raw look at alcoholism, friendship, family, and modern culture. I loved it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Becky Greenhough
  • Becky Greenhough
  • 20-04-2017

Really great listen

Loved this book, really thought provoking, definitely recommend but couldn't stand the accents the narrator put on! Got through this on my commute in just a few days and couldn't wait to continue it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tony
  • Tony
  • 17-04-2017

Just loved it.

A story of pain of loss. Of hitting the bottom and climbing up. Of realising that to call someone boring is to in the end a compliment.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Adam
  • Adam
  • 09-04-2017

Not a bad story at all.

This book was really interesting. It Had some very likeable characters who were presented with quite a difficult set of circumstances in which they all rallied together for the better.

I would definitely say it is worth a read. However , I did listen to this via the audiobook and I would have to say that at some points Khorsandi's narration of certain characters became quite muddled and she had the unfortunate job of writing in a northern character when she could barely hang on to a northern accent at points. Also some of the characters who were clearly different sometimes didn't really sound that way and it felt a little unpolished.

Yet, Khorsandi held it this thing together by narrating Nina, the protagonist, with lots of conviction that made the rest of the narrative feel very real. She can be forgiven a dodgy accent from time to time.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 09-02-2017

fantastic book. a must read.

a brilliant breath of fresh air. Sadly ringing home, the story is beautiful and ruthless and told with superb authenticity by Shappi.
it's not an easy subject but I'd say it's essential reading.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for deborah-jane
  • deborah-jane
  • 20-09-2016

Comedy/tragedy

Excellent look at coming of age which rang true to my own youth. Amazing how the only difference over thirty years is social media....
Well written, well performed I couldn't put it down.
Some very difficult content which was beautifully tackled. Thank you

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vicky
  • Vicky
  • 10-09-2016

Good effort - overall enjoyable

Narration included lots of swallowing which was rather off-putting and unprofessional.

Book itself tried to deal with to many issues I felt, and only skimmed the surface, including some misinformation.

Character of Trisha hugely stereotypical of fat lazy boring person no one wants to be near. Same with fat barman who was used by Nina terribly. Ms Khorsandi obviously has some issues with overweight people that have spilled over into this book.

Good listen if you don't read too much into it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for furriephillips
  • furriephillips
  • 14-07-2020

Shappi is wonderful

She has captured life and Nina’s predicament, quite beautifully. The narration was so natural, and the accents & intonations just made this a joy.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.