Get Your Free Audiobook

New Kid

Length: 1 hr and 58 mins
Categories: Children, Ages 8-10
5 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

Non-member price: $22.24

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A 2020 Audie Awards finalist - middle grade

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature, and an Audie Award finalist!

An original full-cast audio adaptation of the graphic novel from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft, performed by the author with Jesus Del Orden, Nile Bullock, Robin Miles, Guy Lockard, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, Phoebe Strole, Marc Thompson, Miles Harvey, and Ron Butler.

Named an Audible Best Audiobook of the Year!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds - and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Filled with sound effects and original music, this audio adventure is one the whole family will enjoy.

©2019 Jerry Craft (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome audiobook!

Highly recommended! I've sent the author a tweet saying that it changed my university/academic life!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Citizen M
  • Citizen M
  • 20-03-2019

The best little story for your whole family

This is book is totally entertaining and engaging for all ages. You can have your kids listen in.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jodora
  • Jodora
  • 05-02-2019

Awesome, fun, funny

What a great experience listening to this audio book. Poignant and timeless. Jerry Craft is masterful.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dale
  • Dale
  • 28-04-2020

New Kid

It was a short little good book I like it a lot and how there are different voices

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for 26Kldray
  • 26Kldray
  • 26-04-2020

Brilliant 🥰

I really loved the narration of this graphic novel....I felt the story line was timeless

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Douglas
  • Douglas
  • 06-04-2020

killed by the performance

What could have been a very interesting story turned into a painful listening experience. I found the voice acting detractyred from the story and after while I gve up listening.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elina sanchez
  • elina sanchez
  • 26-03-2020

Cool

Amazing stuff. I love this app. This book was so nice i could read it again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 17-03-2020

New fav book

this audible book was amazing its hard believe it was a graphic novel this audible made it seem so alive I think people should really give this a try

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SKS
  • SKS
  • 09-09-2019

Suitable for the 8-10 crowd...

A quick, light listen with a solid full-cast of narrators: Jesus Del Orden, Nile Bullock, Robin Miles, Guy Lockard, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, Phoebe Strole, and Marc Thompson - Well done by Jerry Craft, and suitable for the 8-10 crowd. It was on the summer reading list for my middle graders and we all found it "too young" - a look into school, stereotypes and an overall lesson of things not always being as they may seem.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kelly
  • Kelly
  • 05-07-2019

Author needs to grow up

The good: Fun, lightweight listen, relatable.
The bad: Hypocrisy never addressed. Story feels like the author has some issues he never got over. Kids might walk away feeling that emotionally charged confrontation is the encouraged path.

1 person found this helpful