Get Your Free Audiobook

Moralia Volume 1

26 Ethical Essays
By: Plutarch
Narrated by: Matthew Lloyd Davies
Length: 15 hrs and 1 min
Categories: Classics, Greek & Roman

Non-member price: $32.35

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Though best known now for his collection of lively and vivid Parallel Lives from ancient Greece and Rome, Plutarch (c46 CD-120 CE) was, for centuries, more respected for his Moralia, a remarkable and wide-ranging collection of essays and speeches. No fewer than 78 in total, they range over a broad list of topics in which Plutarch observes, dispenses wisdom, admonishes, entertains and informs: covering social issues and politics, manners and religion - in short, life in general. 

In this collection, volume 1 of the Ukemi series, are 26 Ethical Essays, a fascinating compilation, again wide-ranging: 'On Education of Children', 'On Love to One’s Offspring', 'On Virtue and Vice', 'On Abundance of Friends', 'On Contentedness of Mind' and many more. It also includes the moving 'Consolatory Letter to His Wife'. Some of Plutarch’s views reflect the environment of a highly educated Greek living in the milieu of the first-century Roman Empire ­- his comments on conjugal precepts may raise eyebrows when viewed through a 21st-century prism. But much of what he proposes and concludes is as relevant today as in his own time, and in the time of Montaigne (1533-1592) (who regarded the Moralia very highly), and in succeeding centuries. 

Matthew Lloyd Davies presents Plutarch sympathetically, making these essays eminently absorbing. Selection and translation by Richard Shilleto.

Public Domain (P)2018 Ukemi Productions Ltd

What members say

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 17-01-2020


My favorite Ukemi recording. These essays are difficult to find. I hope they do the rest of the Moralia with this same narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mohadcheridi
  • mohadcheridi
  • 31-07-2019

It is plutarch, it is ukemi ...

So it is a high quality audiobook. Very satisfied. Waiting for Volume 2 of the moralia.