Get Your Free Audiobook

  • Mark Steel’s in Town: Series 9 & 10

  • The BBC Radio 4 Comedy Series
  • By: Mark Steel
  • Narrated by: Mark Steel
  • Length: 4 hrs and 12 mins
  • Highlights Audiobook
  • Categories: History

Non-member price: $27.33

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The complete 9th and 10th series of Mark Steel's comedy travelogue.

In these two series of the award-winning BBC Radio 4 show, comedian Mark Steel is on the road again, visiting places that have nothing in common but their uniqueness. Along the way, he delves into the history, heritage and culture of each town, before going on to write and perform a bespoke evening of comedy for the local residents.

His first stop is Hastings, where he finds that a lot's happened since 1066 - including an annual Pirates' Day. Other destinations on his road trip include King's Lynn (where he's thrilled to find a traffic island full of rabbits), Carlisle (notable for its cursing stone and pervasive smell of biscuits) and Aberystwyth (the 'Athens of Wales' and home to the Holy Grail).

Plus, he ventures into the Forest of Dean - but manages to make it out alive, and heads across the Med to Malta, where he samples some pastizzi and gets caught up in a parade. He also performs two COVID-friendly outdoor shows, on Brighton Beach and from a tree stump in The Dell Gardens, Stratford-upon-Avon, and finishes with a special online episode, in which he talks to a virtual audience about the many places he's visited over the course of 10 series of Mark Steel's In Town.

Winner of numerous accolades including the 2010 Silver and 2012 Gold Awards for Best Comedy at the Sony Radio Academy Awards and the 2018 BBC Radio Awards Best Comedy Show, this quirky, engaging series is - in the words of the Sony judges - 'stand-up comedy at its very best'.

Cast and credits:

Written and performed by Mark Steel.

Additional material by Pete Sinclair.

Produced by Carl Cooper.

Production co-ordinators: Hayley Sterling and Beverly Tagg.

Sound Manager: Jerry Peal.

First broadcast on BBC Radio 4, 17th January - 21st February 2019 (Series 9), 12th - 26th November 2020 (Series 10).

©2020 Mark Steel (P)2020 Random House Audiobooks

What listeners say about Mark Steel’s in Town: Series 9 & 10

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.