Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $34.34

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Random House presents the audiobook edition of Manchester Moll by Emma Hornby, read by Julia Franklin.

Moll thought she could keep her family safe....

Eighteen-year-old Moll Chambers works her fingers to the bone doing all she can to support her family. With an ailing father and a wayward mother, Moll is the only one who can look after her siblings, Bo and Sissy.

But Manchester is an increasingly dangerous place to live, overrun with a ferocious rivalry between gangs of so-called 'scuttlers': young men and women bent on a life of violence and crime. And they have her brother in their sights. Soon even Moll can't protect Bo from the lure of the criminal underworld.

Then the scuttlers look her way.

When she herself falls for the leader of a rival gang, Moll's choices place her and Bo firmly on opposite sides of the city's turf war.

With her loyalties now torn in two and tragedy lurking round every corner, will Moll be able to rise above the conflict and protect those she loves the most? Or will stepping out with a scuttler spell ruin for them all?

Manchester Moll is an absorbing saga that will tug at your heartstrings, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin and Maggie Hope.

©2017 Emma Hornby (P)2017 Random House AudioBooks

What listeners say about Manchester Moll

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon CustomerM .Cole-Elsholz
  • Amazon CustomerM .Cole-Elsholz
  • 09-11-2017

lannguage

Whilst well aware that bad language is normal in some communities. This was more than "Reflecting real life".

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for vos02
  • vos02
  • 03-05-2018

Good but not great.

A good enough story although I kept forgetting the book was set in 1860. Good narrative but I found some of the characters voices irritated me to a point where I just read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ceris
  • Ceris
  • 01-11-2017

Possibly a better read than listen

It became hard to listen to with a couple of character voices as they were so screechy and certain phrases and words were repeated so much it became a bit annoying. I think it would probably be better read as a book than listened to as the story was quite interesting and easy to follow, I just couldn't connect with it enough even during the darker, grittier parts.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wendy
  • wendy
  • 02-07-2020

great

another great book I couldn't put it down very enjoyable I'm looking forward to reading the next one

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue Power
  • Sue Power
  • 20-04-2019

Great story

Great book exciting. Didn't much care for the man Preston. Thought the redt of ot was great

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anne Callender
  • Anne Callender
  • 07-09-2018

Good read

It's a good book i enjoyed listening to it .it together the further in it was on

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.