Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $30.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A hugely compulsive, dark, stylish and intense novel, simmering with Hitchcockian undertones - for readers of Lullaby, Eileen or The Lemon Grove.

Have you ever wanted to steal someone else's life? The Professor lives in Brooklyn; her partner Nathan has left her; she can't have a baby. All she's left with is Nathan's old moggy, Cat. Who she doesn't even like.  

Then a celebrity actress moves into the area. She's beautiful, with long auburn hair, perfect skin, a lovely smile. She's got children - a baby, even. And a husband who seems to adore her. She leaves discarded household items and toys outside for thrift collection. She leaves her windows open, even at night.  

There's no harm, the Professor thinks, in recycling those items. Or looking in through the illuminated glass at that shiny, happy family. Is there? 

©2019 Laura Sims (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"This intense, gripping first novel from Laura Sims shoehorns us into a gathering disquiet and sense of dread, heightened at every turn by our sympathetic understanding of her relentlessly unraveling protagonist. The precise, observant writing slips through the skin without ever calling attention to itself." (Peter Straub, author of A Dark Matter and Interior Darkness)  

What listeners say about Looker

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs Sophie H Osmond
  • Mrs Sophie H Osmond
  • 04-02-2021

Suspenseful and addictive!

I demolished this in 2 days! So much suspense. Loved the writing and the character formation.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Natallie
  • Natallie
  • 11-02-2020

Good but not great

I stayed with this book till the end but felt like I was waiting for something to happen for most of it and was disappointed when things did happen. You could really feel the hurt, turmoil and bitterness of the main character but after a while it grated on me. I listen to my audiobooks at night so every night for a week I had this bitter women moaning about her crap life into my ear. I have fertility issues myself and I didnt feel this was handled well in this book..it was overplayed as one of the reasons for the character's very strange actions.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hannah
  • Hannah
  • 14-07-2019

Intense and Claustrophobic

An intense, claustrophobic, and unsettling novel that leaves you wanting to intervene to present the inevitable outcome.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.