Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $50.78

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation among teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and, strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey's new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls - she's even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it's so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don't invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn't exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly Broken Falls doesn't seem so welcoming after all - especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you're the new girl, you shouldn't trust anyone.

©2017 Kara Thomas (P)2017 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"A twisted story of obsession and manipulation, Little Monsters captivated me right up to its surprising conclusion - and left me wondering how well I really know my friends." (Chelsea Sedoti, author of The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett)

What listeners say about Little Monsters

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well executed. Good build up.

Reminded me of Lauren Oliver's writing, particularly Panic or Broken Things. Well narrated and interesting plot. The ending felt a little rushed but not predictable. A book I will definitely return to.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bunks
  • Bunks
  • 11-09-2018

Just...wow

A brilliant performance by Phoebe Strole. Brittany Pressley's chapters added a great dynamic and really brought Bailey to life. There were so many twists and turns that every the I thought I had it figured out, it went totally off in a different direction. Loved it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs J E Donegan
  • Mrs J E Donegan
  • 31-07-2018

Loved it

Very gripping the ending was a complete twist I was not expecting amazing loved it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jordaneisbjerg
  • Jordaneisbjerg
  • 09-07-2020

insanely good 😁

absolutely loved this book. haven't been into reading ever and this is pretty little liars realness. thankyou

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Noelle Kelly
  • Noelle Kelly
  • 19-01-2020

Compulsive listening to this chilling teen drama

Little Monsters had me hooked from the first chapter. The narrator was compelling and a great choice to convey the story of the teenagers embroiled in this story. Kacy is a damaged teenager, but in Broken Falls, she has made two friends and starts to feel part of her father's family. This is completely new for her and she is willing to go along with any plans her new friends, Jade and Bailey make. Stepsister Lauren is just as keen to impress Jade and Bailey. When Bailey disappears, Kacy's life falls apart. There is a sense of tension throughout the story and told in the first person, we find out the facts and twists of Bailey's disappearance as she does. This is compelling listening and the narrator makes us feel we are right in the story. The story is twisty and chilling in parts and I want to read more from this writer.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 13-01-2020

Little monsters, gripping story with unexpected end

Little monsters was a really intriguing, gripping story I felt it was easy to listen to and you didn’t have to focus on it too hard when trying to figure out what happened although I felt like there could of been more hints to who had done it throughout the story, I still felt it was a interesting unexpected ending although I had my suspicions early on. I really liked the way it was written and the plot idea so will definitely be reading more of the authors work.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.