Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Half-buried in the muddy earth and surrounded by puddles of water lies the naked body of a beautiful young girl. Her pale skin looks like porcelain in the early morning light. Her fragile arms bent and crooked like a broken doll.  

When Detective Katie Scott is called to the discovery of a young girl buried on the grounds of a former children’s home in Pine Valley, California, she’s hopeful it’s the end to a devastating cold case she’s been working on. No one has seen Candace Harlan since she ran away from Elm Hill Manor five years ago. Her death will be a tragedy, but it will also bring peace to those who miss her most. But the girl in the ground is not Candace. 

The victim is almost identical to Candace in every way, but fear grips Katie as she takes in the black ink that decorates the girl’s back – a terrifying message tattooed on her skin after she drew her last breath. 

Forcing down traumatic memories of losing her own parents, Katie is certain someone mistook this poor soul for Candace, and that this crumbling home for lost girls is at the heart of this terrible crime. She sets to work digging into the tragic history of the owners who lost so many children of their own and tracking down the last six residents and the staff who cared for them – but no one wants to talk, let alone remember. 

The next day, as second girl’s body is found down by the creek at high water, the same words etched into her skin. Katie’s worst fear is confirmed: someone is picking off the last of the Elm Hill girls one by one. But what does the tattoo mean? And what monster would target these innocent girls who have already been through so much?  

Katie must dig deep to confront her own fears and protect the vulnerable – but as the body count rises further, will there be anyone left to save? 

An absolutely gripping, dark serial killer thriller. Fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine, and Melinda Leigh will listen in one sitting! 

What listeners are saying about Jennifer Chase:  

"Brilliant! Brilliant! Absolutely freaking brilliant!... Fantastic and so real." (Shalini’s Books & Reviews, 5 stars)

"I just couldn’t stop reading. I had to know how the story panned.... One hell of a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns along the way. On more than one occasion I almost had to read through my fingers as I feared what was going to happen next...got the adrenaline pumping, the blood pressure rising and sent my heart rate through the roof.... I was gripped by the story and on the edge of my seat throughout." (Ginger Book Geek, 5 stars)

©2020 Jennifer Chase (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Last Girls Alive

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for melissa r. green
  • melissa r. green
  • 21-10-2020

Good story but technical difficulties during it made it hard

I love the characters. I like the story line. But I am more invested in the characters see what happens after the story. The book had places throughout it, where were to be cut off of the narrator speaking. That brought distraction to the story in the book. I would recommend it to everyone though. This special series has grabbed me from black one.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.