Regular price: $30.38

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

For years, two sisters have vied for the turf of their dead crime boss father. Across the streets of Guatemala City, bodies have piled up; the US Drug Enforcement Agency, operating far from its own borders, is powerless to stop the fighting. 

But now one sister has a weapon that could finally win the war - a cold, amoral hitman known, fittingly, as 'Victor'. 

Freed from previous employers the CIA and MI6, Victor is a killer for hire whose sense of self-preservation trumps all else. Yet as betrayal and counterbetrayal unspool in the vicious family feud, Victor finds himself at the centre of a storm even he could be powerless to stop.

Acclaimed best seller Tom Wood blows the competition away with his twisting, relentless new thriller, perfect for fans of Gregg Hurwitz (Orphan X, The Nowhere Man), James Swallow (Nomad, Exile) and Terry Hayes (I Am Pilgrim, Day of the Locust).

©2018 Tom Wood (P)2018 Little, Brown Book Group

Critic Reviews

"Terrifically fun and explosively propulsive." (Gregg Hurwitz, author of Orphan X)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Waterlily
  • 26-07-2018

New narrator sucks - Huge disappointment

I have bought all previous Victor audiobooks which were narrated by Daniel Philpott.
I do not know what happened, but it is a huge disappointment that he doesn't do it anymore.

The new narrator, Peter Noble, reads so very fast and in an unpleasant, nonstop aggressive way, that I had to turn it off.
And now I am really very frustrated.

I think, I have to give back the audiobook and buy instead the ebook. I was so excited about the release of "Kill for me" and when I had downloaded the audiobook this morning happily to my iPod and heard the first 30 minutes, I got in a bad, bad mood due to the very aggressive voice and super fast narration. If Daniel Philpott wasn't available anymore for the Victor books, one could certainly have found a better narrator than Peter Noble. Was Peter Noble in a hurry to getting somewhere, or was this a speed-reading contest, when he narrated the book? One could think that.

And what happened to Daniel Philpott btw? I do not understand why he's not narrating these series anymore. I am not English and maybe therefore the reading of Peter Noble's performance is too fast for me. However, I have listened to hundreds of English audiobooks and never had a problem with comprehension.The listener wants to transfer the information of the situation and the story into images in his brain. This is called VISUALISATION. The visualisation of read data cannot happen when every sentence is fired up like a machine gun. Too fast and much too aggressive.

As I am not able to listen to this audiobook, I give Tom Wood nevertheless the credit of 5 points for the story.
I'll buy the book today and read it myself.





  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Paul
  • 13-11-2018

Good!

Seems people are whining about the new narrator. I actually really liked Peter Noble's performance. Not at all 'rushing'. We all know it's quite hard to get used to a new performer when we are so accustomed to another, but I've leaned to give it a chance and it will re-grow. It was easy with Mr Noble. He conveyed Victor's essence quite convincing, interpreting the menacing gentleman quite effectively. Good story, culminating the spinning lines into an interesting and victorious ending. I'll definitely buy the next one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 28-07-2018

Buy the paperback<br />

So disappointed...the new narrator is Just NOT Victor...! Please can I have my credit back.?

11 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Christopher Millington
  • 30-07-2018

disappointed

waited for so long for this book and was shocked to hear some stranger narrating it, first thought, woah who's this random guy,
Daniel Philpot IS victor!!! why change narrators now? completely ruined the book for me :(

10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • BillyP
  • 04-08-2018

Narrator change, Why?

Why has the narrator changed? This made it difficult to enjoy as Victor, seemed to be different. please revert back to the original narrator. He wasn't bad but he wasn't Victor.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Dofeman
  • 26-07-2018

Peter Noble is not Victor Daniel Philpott is.

Peter Noble is not Victor Daniel Philpott is.

I have been waiting so long for this audible book to come out only to be let down
Why why why do they keep doing this Daniel Philpott is Victor not Peter Noble can't get my head round it completely ruind the book for me, Listened to 20 mins utter disappointment and returned the book,

It was the same with Mitch Rapp series George Guidall has always been Mitch they changed it to Scott Brick and completely ruined it.

In the Jack Reacher series by Lee child Jeff Harding is Jack Reacher, the earlier books were read by different people but now they have been reread by Jeff Harding Brilliant move Lee Child
So come on Tom Wood do the same make all your listeners happy

12 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Phaedo
  • 21-10-2018

Dont Worry - the narration is great!

Lots of people worried about the change of reader - me too! However, the reader us excellent, Victor sounds slightly tougher at first but this seems to be dialled back as the story progresses. I used to enjoy the irony of soft spoken civility combined with deadly lethality but the new guy does a great job. Good story as well!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 05-10-2018

enjoyable

enjoyed the new reader of the book. victor at his best and almost letting his guard down.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jill
  • 07-09-2018

Absolutely brilliant

Great narration. Great story
Can’t wait for the next one
Not sure how I can like an assassin this much!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs. J. A. Palfree
  • 04-09-2018

Stick With This and You Won't Regret It

It is always difficult when a reader changes in a series. We get used to a reader and associate their voice with the main character, so a different voice is initially a shock, but stick with Peter Noble. Once his voice had 'warmed up' he sounded very like Daniel Philpott.... and then Victor. The Victor we know and... is 'love' the right word?

Thrilling book, one of the best, so very worth the effort of acclimatising.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geoff Craig
  • 30-08-2018

Stick with it and you won’t be disappointed!

As with some of the reviews I was initially disappointed with the change of performer, it’s not the victor I know. However persevere and you won’t be disappointed. The story line is back to its best, and I soon got wrapped up in the new performers voice, which is less harsh and excellently delivers the characters on show. Great listen, again found myself looking for excuses and opportunities to listen to the next chapter - can’t wait for the next one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mark
  • 23-08-2018

Good to have Victor back in my world again.

Brutal and blunt.

Well performed. Great escapism. Good swinging story line coming together in a style only Tom Wood delivers with a perfect touch of nonchalance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful